Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest To The Very Last
I read this last year and it is highly entertaining, particularly his thoughts on his brief tenure with Leeds, and the venom with which he attacks Don Revie on TV and elsewhere.

What shines through for me are two key aspects.

One his love for his family and absolute respect for his mother, hence the mangle quite rightly takes pride of place in his...
Published on 11 May 2010 by J.D. Chaplin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok
Apparently a legend but just comes across as cocky, it's hard to get his sense of humour without knowing the man
Published 15 months ago by Jb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest To The Very Last, 11 May 2010
By 
J.D. Chaplin (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clough The Autobiography (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this last year and it is highly entertaining, particularly his thoughts on his brief tenure with Leeds, and the venom with which he attacks Don Revie on TV and elsewhere.

What shines through for me are two key aspects.

One his love for his family and absolute respect for his mother, hence the mangle quite rightly takes pride of place in his front room. I assume he liked being reminded of his roots and where he came from everyday, who knows.

Two his unyielding hatred for cheating and dishonesty.

I was also concerned that he mentions someone threw a cup of scalding hot tea over his son Nigel. What sort of idiot would do that - boiling water can blind as well as burn. I hope the individual concerned reflected on his actions and apologised, theres no room for jealousy of any sort in a successful football team.

I can remember as a boy watching both the Nottingham Forest European Cup wins on the telly with my Dad in West Yorkshire. The full achievements of Brian Clough prior to this were therefore interesting to read as I didn't really start following football until this point.

I'd be keen to see the like again, but I doubt we will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BCIAFG, 12 Aug 2002
This review is from: Clough The Autobiography (Mass Market Paperback)
If you expect a Clough autobiography to be opinionated you will not be disappointed. Clough sums up his career and philosophy well and with humour. As a player and a manager he always had supreme belief in himself and that attitude comes across well in this book. He pulls no punches when he talks about the "cheats" at Leeds, his assessment of John Robertson is spot-on, he describes his parting with Peter Taylor honestly and takes you on up to relegation and his retiring.
I'm a Forest supporter so whilst I never expected not to enjoy this book I still found it hard to put down. Brian Clough IS a football genius. Forest and Derby fans know it. Once you've read this you'll be in no doubt that Brian Clough knows it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Respect to the man., 20 Mar 2014
By 
Bobby Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clough The Autobiography (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed this book, even though I am a Wolves fan. Mr Clough led a colourful and vibrant life, all of which is reflected in this entertaining read. The stories of how he built up both Derby and Forest were illuminating and funny, especially the Peter Taylor tales that litter the book - ensuring that their split later on comes over as sad and unnecessary. Funnily enough this book has dated a lot - especially regarding gay players, managerial power and, most of all, where player contracts are concerned. I had to laugh when Mr Clough complained about Stuart Pearce wanting a pay rise to £4,000 per week! How on earth would Mr Clough have coped with the sums the players earn today? Lastly this book was a great reminder of how it was once possible for a relatively small club to mix it with the big boys, sadly a time that has gone forever, due to the concept of the Premier league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST AUTOBIOGRAPHY I HAVE EVER READ., 3 Feb 2010
i have read a few football autobiographies and am getting a small collection of some of the game's great characters and this is by far the best book and greatest character i have come across to date .the man is so entertaining and full of himself but he is so right in his methods and madness ,there will never be another like him , his family must be so proud of his quest's and miss him so very much . thanks for the brilliant read old big head you were footballs greatest character without doubt and close to being the greatest manager also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not To Be Missed., 9 July 2004
This review is from: Clough The Autobiography (Mass Market Paperback)
Quite simply this is the best book I have ever read. How anyone can slate this book (as a previous reviewer has) is beyond me. Whatever your opinion of Cloughie, you can't deny he's a character.
Anyone who has the slightest interest in football or comedy, because I feel this is a very funny book, cannot afford not to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with the greats, the man and the book- that is., 5 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Clough The Autobiography (Mass Market Paperback)
As a younger reader I was interseted to find out how good Cloughie was as a player, and he doesn't mind telling you. Ol' big 'ead lives up to his name but there is no way you can argue the facts.
Nobody can and probably never will be able to say that they were as good at what they did in football as this man. Classic stories of the partnership he had with Peter Taylor, his initial summary of John Robertson, and his descriptions of 'hairy arsed' defenders and alike create brilliant humour mixed up with his strong views toward directors and the way in which clubs should be run contrive to make a book of excellent reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clough The Autobiography (Mass Market Paperback)
Good Read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional read, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed reading this book. I only started following football in 1984 at the age of nine so remember a very good Forest side from the late eighties and early nineties, but was to young to have witnessed his unbelievable times at Derby and the major honours at Forest.

Watched the Damned United when it came out which got me more interested in the story and this book completes the story, told in Cloughs no holds barred way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insight into an amazing manager, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clough The Autobiography (Mass Market Paperback)
I would recommend this book to any football fan. Easy to read, and a real insight into the mind of one of football's greatest characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maverick genius, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the way Clough is so fond of his own opinions. He could afford to be and was clearly superb at getting mediocre footballers to play well above their normal level. So refreshing to see such unbridled ego given full rein. If you want to see how football was before the surreal world of the Premier League, buy this book, even though it's dated now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clough The Autobiography
Clough The Autobiography by Brian Clough (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Nov 1995)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews