Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars218
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2012
I bought this book after watching some of the television series and I absoloutley loved it. I am really into crime programmes and had thoroughly enjoyed A Touch of Frost on television. I think the books are even better that the televison series and are so exciting and full of twists and turns.I have two more books to read and wish there was more. I am only 16 so i can recommend it to readers of all ages and I really look forward to reading the next two books.You should buy this book if you want a really good read it's an amazing series.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
I really enjoyed this book. I have always been a fan of the TV programme but Frost at Christmas has prompted me to purchase the remaining books in the series. My only regret is that there are so few!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
Having watched all the tv series with David Jason I was a bit sceptical of reading the books as however well R D Wingfield described the characters I would have the TV vision of them. Need not have worried - fell straight into the book and could visualise all the individuals (except the smoking, or which there is lots).

The multi layered story flows effortlessly, the faults of Frost are described brilliantly. This is such an easy relaxing book to read the pages just fly past.

I enjoyed this so much I bought the rest of the series - just a shame so few books were wriiten.

If you want to relive the TV series buy this book and enjoy David Jason all over again!

Hope you enjoy
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 1999
As soon as I starting reading I was encaptured in Detective Frosts' world. You are there everywhere he goes pleading for him to have good luck or for someone to recognize that without him Denton (his Police District) would be full of criminals, weilding knives. The story is full twists of and turns and has times of great spirit and comedy together with utter dispair. There's something humanistic about Frost. Even though his so scruffy and crude you have to admired his honesty and love his character. These words can't explain how much I enjoyed reading all of the Frost books. I can honestly say that this is one of the best books I've read. Frost is a modern Socratic figure with the power and character to find the truth under the mess of everyday life. Thank you Mr Wingfield. I wish I could give it six crowns.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
My wife's review:

Normally I try and read books in the order they are published as I like to see the characters grow and develop in their own back-story as each novel progresses. Unfortunately I was unable to do that with these novels, so this is my third Frost novel I have read and to be honest it made absolutely no difference on my enjoyment of the story.

If you are a fan of the TV show then these books will certainly be enjoyed by you, they are a scruffier and more foul-mouthed Frost than the TV version and the jokes Wingfield makes throughout these novels are excellent. He was obviously a very talented writer and it's a shame that he only wrote six.

As always a great read with witty comments that will make you chuckle whilst reading!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
I didn’t approach R.D. Wingfield’s DI Jack Frost series with any great enthusiasm. I’d seen enough of ITV’s Sunday night schedule-filler, with David Jason in the title role, to assume it would be lightweight, middlebrow, plodding fare, with signposted comic interludes.

I was utterly wrong. I gorged all six books in the series — Frost at Christmas, A Touch of Frost, Night Frost, Hard Frost, Winter Frost and A Killing Frost — within a couple of months.

There’s little point writing an individual review of each, as they all follow the same formula… There are usually three cases on the go in each book: a child/prostitute serial murderer, something rapey, and a robbery. Frost, of course, solves all three, each time accompanied by a different sidekick sergeant he’s been mis-matched with (female / posh / ambitious). On the way, he always succeeds in getting one over on his boss, Superintendent Mullett.

Described like that, it sounds typically banale and padded ITV fare. Yet R.D. Wingfield’s writing is anything but. The books are weighty, typically around 500 pages, but they crack along. Frost is multi-dimensional and scatalogically funny, the dialogue believably terse and crude, the narrative pacy, the plot-twists surprising. In short, they are (cue the reviewer’s standby cliche) page-turners, genuinely excellent detective novels.

There are flaws. In particular, the books’ casual sexism will jar with the modern reader. There are recurring motifs of Frost “jokingly” sexually assaulting Mullett’s secretary; there’s lots of sexual leering masquerading as banter; prostitutes are rhyming slanged as “toms”; child pornography is regarded as a minor offence; under-age girls are portrayed as knowing Lolitas; and a frumpy, middle-aged lady notorious for ‘crying rape’ is a stand-by comedy caricature.

Some readers may find it hard to get past these. For what it’s worth, I find them more fascinatingly revealing of the times (the series was published between 1984 and 2008) than I do irredeemably offensive.

My advice: get stuck in, judge for yourself.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
The DI Frost in this novel is nothing like the TV series. He's more un-'PC' and occasionally sexist by today's standards, but even so he's more human and actually funnier and more likeable.
Even though he's got his faults, anyone that criticises him unnecessarily gets the appropriate look from the other officers because they know he doesn't mean anything maliciously but more importantly, he's a good copper with a heart of gold, in spite of those faults.
The ongoing issues with divisional Commander Mullett and the friendly banter with colleagues makes Frost a far more likeable and realistic character.
I fully intend to go through the entire novel series and wish there were more in the series.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
Ventured into these bacause i've been watching episodes of the TV series recently. I was suprised to find out that that there were so few books written in the series considering the number of TV episodes.

Anyway, as to the book. I loved it. I love the way other crimes, some minor, some not, are intertwined with the main plot. I also think that Wingfield is a master of well drawn, realistic charactersisation. It is after all the interaction between the characters which elevates this above your average detective novel. The humour provides a release valve for the darkness that pervades the world they inhabit. The actions of the character are human and believeable as the hero(s) are often as flawed as the criminals, case in point, Frost's actions when he discovers the pornography in the book and his rather off colour sense of humour.

Just going back to the TV series, i have to say they have done a remarkable job of translating this to the screen. Although the main character in the novels exibits more self doubt and is much harsher about his qualities as a policeman outside of 'nose' or intuition. He's also cruder and less cuddly and more petulant than the David Jason portrayal. I'm now looking forward to the other books and the new prequal about to hit the shops.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
I've seen the TV series and enjoyed it - David Jason is excellent. The books have an even grubbier "Frost" who always comes up trumps! Well plotted, strong characters and highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
I enjoyed the book. The story is condensed and involved me. I liked the build up and the way Frost's character is portrayed, with all his flaws and weaknesses. It makes a refreshing change to have a detective who falls short of expectations of his nearest and dearest and admits to unhappy family life.

After a brilliant start and engaging first few chapters the story was dilluted and the suspense lost only to recover in the later chapters.

I did not like that the decisions that Frost took were based mostly on his intuition (no powers of deduction, alas). I did not enjoy the erotic scenes between the characters either and did find that these do not fit within the story, hence the 4 star rating.

Overall, this is a good book to curl up with at Christmas.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.