Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, very well told
I enjoyed the book. The story is condensed and involved me. I liked the build up and the way Frost's character is portrayed, with all his flaws and weaknesses. It makes a refreshing change to have a detective who falls short of expectations of his nearest and dearest and admits to unhappy family life.

After a brilliant start and engaging first few chapters the...
Published on 24 Dec 2009 by Dona Rendell

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
this item has not shown on my kindle
Published 1 month ago by BASEFAN


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, very well told, 24 Dec 2009
This review is from: Frost At Christmas: (DI Jack Frost Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed the book. The story is condensed and involved me. I liked the build up and the way Frost's character is portrayed, with all his flaws and weaknesses. It makes a refreshing change to have a detective who falls short of expectations of his nearest and dearest and admits to unhappy family life.

After a brilliant start and engaging first few chapters the story was dilluted and the suspense lost only to recover in the later chapters.

I did not like that the decisions that Frost took were based mostly on his intuition (no powers of deduction, alas). I did not enjoy the erotic scenes between the characters either and did find that these do not fit within the story, hence the 4 star rating.

Overall, this is a good book to curl up with at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a absolutely fantastic, compulsive, fasinating book, 29 Nov 1999
This review is from: Frost At Christmas: (DI Jack Frost Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
As soon as I starting reading I was encaptured in Detective Frosts' world. You are there everywhere he goes pleading for him to have good luck or for someone to recognize that without him Denton (his Police District) would be full of criminals, weilding knives. The story is full twists of and turns and has times of great spirit and comedy together with utter dispair. There's something humanistic about Frost. Even though his so scruffy and crude you have to admired his honesty and love his character. These words can't explain how much I enjoyed reading all of the Frost books. I can honestly say that this is one of the best books I've read. Frost is a modern Socratic figure with the power and character to find the truth under the mess of everyday life. Thank you Mr Wingfield. I wish I could give it six crowns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancestor Hunter, 27 Jan 2011
By 
Alan G. Freer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frost At Christmas: (DI Jack Frost Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. I have always been a fan of the TV programme but Frost at Christmas has prompted me to purchase the remaining books in the series. My only regret is that there are so few!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Lowther (Carlisle uk) - See all my reviews
I bought this book after watching some of the television series and I absoloutley loved it. I am really into crime programmes and had thoroughly enjoyed A Touch of Frost on television. I think the books are even better that the televison series and are so exciting and full of twists and turns.I have two more books to read and wish there was more. I am only 16 so i can recommend it to readers of all ages and I really look forward to reading the next two books.You should buy this book if you want a really good read it's an amazing series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 21 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've seen the TV series and enjoyed it - David Jason is excellent. The books have an even grubbier "Frost" who always comes up trumps! Well plotted, strong characters and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent characterization, writing is light and comic and story races along, 9 Aug 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frost At Christmas: (DI Jack Frost Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Frost at Christmas is the first book in this delightful six book series. Frost is introduced as a befuddled, conniving, sarcastic, and insolent cop, promoted beyond his capabilities, who tackles crimes seemingly without rhyme or reason. Every one of his actions seem designed to be as inefficient as possible and annoy those around him, yet Frost receives loyalty from most of his colleagues as, at heart, he's a lovable rogue whose two commitments are to catch the bad guys and to share any plaudits. Wingfield's characterization is excellent, with every character well penned. The writing is light and comic, the story racing along at a cracking pace. My only gripe was the improbability of the interconnections between the plotlines, which were really not needed as what ties the strands together is Frost, not spurious sub-plots. Frost at Christmas was an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frost at christmas / audio, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frost At Christmas (Audio CD)
I recently purchased this audiobook, because I love listening when I knit. It 100% lived up to my expectations, mainly because of the reading by David Jason. In fact, he IS Frost isn't he.. I allready knew the "plot" from tv of course, and Mr Jasons reading makes it a nice and relaxing experience, with the specific mood that's surrounds the image of "his" town Denton.

I can truly recommend this audiobook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frost at Christmas, 18 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. P. J. Brown (Brighton England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frost At Christmas: (DI Jack Frost Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having watched all the tv series with David Jason I was a bit sceptical of reading the books as however well R D Wingfield described the characters I would have the TV vision of them. Need not have worried - fell straight into the book and could visualise all the individuals (except the smoking, or which there is lots).

The multi layered story flows effortlessly, the faults of Frost are described brilliantly. This is such an easy relaxing book to read the pages just fly past.

I enjoyed this so much I bought the rest of the series - just a shame so few books were wriiten.

If you want to relive the TV series buy this book and enjoy David Jason all over again!

Hope you enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Frost At Christmas: (DI Jack Frost Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
My wife's review:

Normally I try and read books in the order they are published as I like to see the characters grow and develop in their own back-story as each novel progresses. Unfortunately I was unable to do that with these novels, so this is my third Frost novel I have read and to be honest it made absolutely no difference on my enjoyment of the story.

If you are a fan of the TV show then these books will certainly be enjoyed by you, they are a scruffier and more foul-mouthed Frost than the TV version and the jokes Wingfield makes throughout these novels are excellent. He was obviously a very talented writer and it's a shame that he only wrote six.

As always a great read with witty comments that will make you chuckle whilst reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frost, almost as you know him..., 23 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frost At Christmas: (DI Jack Frost Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ventured into these bacause i've been watching episodes of the TV series recently. I was suprised to find out that that there were so few books written in the series considering the number of TV episodes.

Anyway, as to the book. I loved it. I love the way other crimes, some minor, some not, are intertwined with the main plot. I also think that Wingfield is a master of well drawn, realistic charactersisation. It is after all the interaction between the characters which elevates this above your average detective novel. The humour provides a release valve for the darkness that pervades the world they inhabit. The actions of the character are human and believeable as the hero(s) are often as flawed as the criminals, case in point, Frost's actions when he discovers the pornography in the book and his rather off colour sense of humour.

Just going back to the TV series, i have to say they have done a remarkable job of translating this to the screen. Although the main character in the novels exibits more self doubt and is much harsher about his qualities as a policeman outside of 'nose' or intuition. He's also cruder and less cuddly and more petulant than the David Jason portrayal. I'm now looking forward to the other books and the new prequal about to hit the shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frost At Christmas: (DI Jack Frost Book 1)
Frost At Christmas: (DI Jack Frost Book 1) by R D Wingfield (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Nov 1992)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews