Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Pratchett's best
This is one of my all-time favourite Pratchett books. Everything that he's good at is exhibited here - adapting stories and fairy tales, "translating" real life culture to the Discworld, great characterisation and dialogue, a great plot - and, of course, it's hilariously funny.
If you're a fan of the Witches, it's even better. Granny Weatherwax,...
Published on 3 Mar 2006 by barenakedlady

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time....
The witches go on holiday and try to put a stop to some out of control fairy stories.

I can't say I'm much of a fan of Pratchett's witch stories, Granny Weatherwax makes for a fairly unpleasant lead whilst Nanny Ogg provides the comedy and Magrat provides the ....well I'm not sure what she brings to be honest.

This book is at its best on the journey...
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars ... I have read nearly every disc world novels and enjoy on so many levels, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think I have read nearly every disc world novels and enjoy on so many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witches Abroad, 28 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Witches Abroad: A Discworld Novel: 12 (Paperback)
Normally i dont like reading the Pratchett books which include the witches. I dont know what it is but i find those books really boring and dull. However with this one i was plesantly suprised to find it was a pretty good book. There is a nice mix of fair tale, discworld quirkiness, and comedy.
This book didn't keep me as engrossed as others taking me about 3 weeks to read it. However, the plot was very intresting, and funny. I particularly like Nanny Ogg as she always seemed to provide all the comedy for the group.
Overall, a good read and a pretty good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silly but fun, 8 Mar 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Witches Abroad: A Discworld Novel: 12 (Paperback)
I've only just started reading Pratchett (I know...) and while I enjoyed this book it's very light-weight and I couldn't imagine re-reading it. Perhaps, after Angela Carter's The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories and the Shrek movies, fairy-tales have already been dissected and turned inside out.

This definitely has its high-points (Greebo going to the ball is priceless!) but overall I found this far more predictable than I expected after the way other people have raved about Pratchett. I'm perfectly willing to give him another try but perhaps not immediately.

But if you're in the mood for some very silly fun, then this is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it. Just laughed out loud. Clever and witty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screamingly funny., 23 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Witches Abroad: A Discworld Novel: 12 (Paperback)
I think that this book is the funniest of all the "witches" books. Granny, Nanny and Magrat have become my favourite characters in fiction, and I find myself looking forward eagerly to new developments in their world. Withches Abroad offers a very satisfying addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witches Abroad: A Discworld Novel: 12 (Paperback)
great book, would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
up to pratchetts high standards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story!, 18 July 2014
By 
Simon H. Bailey (Edinburgh, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic, what more can I add
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witches Abroad review., 26 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Witches Abroad is a captivating read.In Witches Abroad Granny Weatherwax,Nanny Ogg,Magrat Garlick and Greebo the cat have to go to the city of Genua to stop a serving girl from marrying a handsome prince.If you like sci-fi,fantasy or fairy tales then read Witches Abroad.If you enjoy this book then read books 3,6,14,18 and 23.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Witches rock, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Witches rock ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Witches Abroad: A Discworld Novel: 12
Witches Abroad: A Discworld Novel: 12 by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 12 Nov 1992)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews