Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not in the John Deere catalog . . .
Shortsighted management has forced another "downsizing". This time the victim of layoff is Death himself, "retired" by the Auditors. He does his job efficiently and he doesn't sass the boss. He's just become "too involved" with those due to receive attention from his infinitely sharp scythe. The Auditors want a firmer hand on the reaping blade. On the street with time on...
Published on 4 Sep 2005 by Stephen A. Haines

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best
Halfway through I started skipping the sections about the wizards and just read about Death, or Mr Bill Door in this case.
Published 1 month ago by E. Meert


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel) (Paperback)
I love the character Death! Terry pratchett manages to make his sections of the book very enjoyable and also make you have a good laugh. The wizards of the university are also in this book, and as ever make it a very enjoyable read. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reaper Man, 21 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. E. Cummins (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel) (Paperback)
Not the best Discworld book, although anything with Death as a character has got to be interesting. I thought this meandered on a bit, bit the ending was sensitively written and bittersweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Annother Amazing Discworld Novel, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel) (Paperback)
This is a great Book.

Reaper Man is the 3rd book i have read and so far i have been amazed. All the storys have been well written and they are the most entertaining books i have ever read.

At the beginning it is tricky to get a grip on the story but after a few pages you get the hang of it. It is amazing and i think it should be one of the next books that Sky try to turn into a film.

If you like Terry Pratchett then you will love this book. If you are new to his work, What has taken you so long?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pratchett wields his scythe, 27 Jun 2010
This review is from: Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel) (Paperback)
An extremely funny book about what happens when you meddle with mortality. Among the dreadful results: the invasion of Ankh-Morpork by a dark force that hatches in the form of a snow dome, goes through a larval phase as an abandoned supermarket trolley and then reaches its final terrifying form as a shopping centre.

This novel comes from my favourite period of Terry Pratchett's Discworld series: the concept still felt fresh and free, but the themes were growing darker and more bitingly satirical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Death gets fired, 7 Jun 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel) (Paperback)
`Reaper Man' is the eleventh Discworld novel and the second in the Death series of books. The book sees Death fired for developing a personality and compassion and must live out the rest of his short life learning how to live. Death being out of the picture though leads to some strange phenomena and a threat to the city of Ankh-Morpork.

Death series of books is my favourite part of the Discworld series but `Reaper Man' has always been my least favourite of them. The problem is that the book has two plots going on simultaneously and while the one about Death finding out what living means is very good, the other which sees the wizards of the Unseen University dealing with the aftermath of Death's redundancy, while still funny, isn't nearly as good. The book also introduces some characters who reappear later on in the series with the Auditors, Reg Shoe and the Death of Rats all making their first appearance.

The book is extremely well written with some a lot of very nice moments here and there. It is the last quarter of the book though which is the best and I feel that the book does have on of the most emotional endings of any book of the Discworld series. `Reaper Man' is a good book and if it wasn't for the bits with the wizards it would be well worth a full five stars but as it is I will have to give it a mark of four out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The most affecting Discworld tale, 5 April 2010
By 
Craig Manton (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel) (Paperback)
I haven't read every Discworld novel - far from it - but I have read a lot of them, and while I like them all, "Reaper Man" is the only one I feel compelled to review at the moment. As others have pointed out, there are two plot strands in this novel. One is fairly weak - something about snowglobes and shopping trolleys I think. While occasionally amusing it feels unnecessary, and detracts from the excellent main plot: Death is demoted by the heavenly powers, and has to face a destiny he has imposed on millions of living creatures - his own mortality and eventual demise. It's an intriguing set up: the Grim Reaper getting a taste of his own medicine. He ends up in a rural area, lodging with a tough old widow. His typical deadpan, blunt manner is very funny when he has to fit in the real world, living among the kind of all-too-mortal people he used to take to the afterlife with sympathy but no real understanding. Along the way, he learns a very mortal concept: sacrifice.

A purist might say that newcomers should start their Discworld journey with the very first novel. I wouldn't: if you want to dive right into the humour, warmth and philosophy of Pratchett's brilliant fantasy world, "Reaper Man" is what I consider the best starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and really well written., 18 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Reaper Man (Hardcover)
Everyone's favourite character from the Disc is back. Death has gone. Where could he be? This is proving a nigtmare for Reg Shoe, the Dead activist. Who is this strange man who has excellent skill with agricultural implements? Why is he on a farm?... Very funny, original storyline and excelentlly written. A must have for Prattchet fans. READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DEAD Funny., 18 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel) (Paperback)
We once again pick up on the trail of DEATH, who is fast becoming the favourite character for so many Discworld fans. However these fans look set to be disappointed when DEATH goes missing! But somewhere out in the back of beyond, a tall dark figure is turning out to be very good with a scythe.
One of Pratchets best books to date, thoroughly enjoyable and extraordinarily funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DEAD Funny., 18 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel) (Paperback)
We once again pick up on the trail of DEATH, who is fast becoming the favourite character for so many Discworld fans. However these fans look set to be disappointed when DEATH goes missing! But somewhere out in the back of beyond, a tall dark figure is turning out to be very good with a scythe.
One of Pratchets best books to date, thoroughly enjoyable and extraordinarily funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Come back Death! All is forgiven., 19 Mar 2004
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel) (Paperback)
The bureaucratic powers of the multiverse have decided that Death has developed way too much personality and so he's going to have to go. But what happens to the living when they run out of life, only to find that Death is off duty? A population explosion of the undead and a life-force that's expanding fit to burst! In Ankh-Morpork, the patrician calls in the priests, the wizards, the alchemists and the city guard - in fact everybody except Mrs Cake, the lady who knows what's going on. She's a medium. How's it all going to end?
I enjoyed this book. It's comedy, fantasy, romance, philosophy, horror (if you can stop laughing long enough to spot it), science, politics, economics, insanity (or should that be psychology) and more. And the characters are fairly well rounded and mainly very likeable. Terry Pratchett seems to be a man of infinite imagination and, fortunately for us, he can write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel)
Reaper Man: (A Discworld Novel) by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 21 May 1992)
5.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews