Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Pictures review.
Moving Pictures is an extremely hilarious book.In Moving Pictures the alchemists guild have invented films and now the oddest civil war film ever made is being shot in Holy Wood.However all is not well and Victor and Ginger,the stars of the film,have to save the Disc from the dungeon dimensions with a bit of help from Gaspode the wonder dog.If you like reading sci-fi and...
Published on 19 Feb 2006

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the book but TR doesn't nail this one
As I'm sure most people would agree story tapes are perfect to fall asleep to, you can enjoy a book without having a light on and they're soothing as hell. But Tony Robinson talks in such a range of volumes that its pretty impossible to fall asleep, if i put it at a reasonable volume, half the time he talks in the quietest whisper and the other half in a REALLY loud...
Published 15 months ago by D WILLIAMS


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Holy Wood dreams, 2 May 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) (Paperback)
`Moving Pictures' sees the magic of the silver screen come to the Discworld when the alchemists discover a way of making light into gold. The book follows student wizard Victor Tugelbend as he becomes one of the Discs first megastars but Holy Wood conceals a dark secret that has already clamed one civilization and only Victor and his leading lady Ginger can stop the same thing happening again.

`Moving Pictures' is an odd book as while I can see that it is very good, I personally don't like it all that much. The book is still as funny as you would expect from a Discworld book and has some suitably cinematic moments but it just seems to be lacking something. The book does include some very good movie shout outs and puns which are fun to look for and the story is as well written as you would expect from Terry Pratchett.

The story does seem to be most notable for the characters it introduces as this book introduces such characters as Archchancellor Ridcully, Ponder Stibbons, Gaspode and the Unseen University faculty, all of whom will make major appearances in later books. The book also develops the characters of Detritus the troll and C.M.O.T. Dibbler who were first seen in minor roles in `Guards! Guards!'

Overall I would have to give Moving Pictures a low four stars as while I do not personally like it, I can still say that it is a reasonably good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 25 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Moving Pictures (Library Binding)
ANOTHER BRILLIANAT BOOK FROM TP. THIS TIME HE IS POKING FUN AT HOLLYWOOD IN HIS OWN TWISTED WAY. GREAT TO SEE THE WIZARDS TOGETHER WITH THE CLEVEREST DOG IN THE WORLD AS WELL AS A VERSION OF LASSIE. A MUST FOR ALL FANS OF TP ALTHOUGH I AM SLIGHTLY FANATICAL ABOUT HIS DISCWORLD SERIES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously funny!, 13 Sep 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This is the tenth book in Terry Pratchett's series on the Discworld--a flat world, supported on the back of four massive elephants riding on the back of a planet-sized turtle, anything hilarious can happen here, and eventually does. When the last Keeper of the Door dies, there is no one left to remember, and the idea must be remembered. So, the idea seeks to break back into the Discworld, the idea of Holy Wood.
First the alchemists of Anhk-Morpork discover a way to make moving pictures, and then "Cut-me-own Throat" Dibbler discovers the idea of being a movie mogul, then Victor Tugelbend and Ginger Withal discover the idea of being a star. And so, the dream of Holy Wood begins to awaken...but, could that dream be a nightmare beyond anyone's understanding?
As always, Terry Pratchett is the master of telling a story that is both gripping and hilariously funny. Indeed, while reading this book I woke my charming wife up several times, laughing out loud! The author succeeds in keeping multiple storylines on track and easy to understand, and the book zooms along to its finale, and boy is it a funny one. I loved this book, and highly recommend it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holy hilarious Wood, 4 Jun 2001
By 
csot@rocketmail.com (Chania, Crete, Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) (Paperback)
The alchemists are on it again. Moving pictures, a satire about Holy Wood and Holy Wood dreams where anyone and everyone can become famous. Terry's satire of the Studios like United Alchemists (sounds familiar?) or your everyday hero and girl he has to save, the big money the studios get, all the in and outs of Holy Wood with the spirit and humour and descriptions of this wonderful writer. A must read.. like any of his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh a minute!!!, 5 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) (Paperback)
As a Pratchett fan myself, I read this book with full eagerness. It did not fall short of my expectations. From the moment you start reading, you face the full bulk of Pratchett's Humour.Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 24 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) (Paperback)
Again this must be one of Pratchetts finest hours he brings in new characters and uses them brilliantly.Great one of his best if you,ve read maskerade and feet of clay its now time to read this.P.S If anyone one who enjoys reading Discworld as much as i do email me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good boy, Laddie!, 14 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) (Paperback)
Absolutely loved the stuff with Gaspode the Wonder Dog, and Laddie the beautiful but particularly dim pedigree mutt. Nice to see the concept of the imp-powered picture boxes (i.e. cameras) from the first DiscWorld novel developed further. And the movie references were great too, as were Cut Me Own Thoat Dibbler's devious attempts at product placement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 28 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) (Paperback)
Ah yes, Moving Pictures, the one Discworld book that for years I could NOT find a copy of (it ain't easy, here in L'america...). It turned out to be well worth the wait, though. The spoofing of epic films is really quite hilarious. My one issue is that, like many DW books of this period, it's brilliant for the first two hundred fifty pages or so, and then it goes into "climax mode," where everything MUST be resolved, no matter how dull it is. Good up 'til then, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hooray for Holy Wood, 8 Jan 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) (Paperback)
Moving Pictures is a delightful farce that introduces us to some of the Discworld¿s most interesting citizens. The evil forces of Holy Wood have lain buried under the sand for countless generations, but then, in the kind of luck typical of life on the Discworld, the guardian is rendered incapable of guarding the power. As the non-wizard magic of Holy Wood quickly escapes from its timeless sleep, inhabitants from all over the Discworld find themselves drawn to the spot out in the middle of nowhere, and they all want to be a part of the new moving pictures (or clickies) business. The alchemists delight in sidestepping the authority of wizards by coming up with some non-wizard magic of their own. To make a clickie, you just need a box full of little imps, and when you turn the handle the imps draw what they see in front of them, and they do it very quickly because there are whips connected to the turning handle. Most people have a hard time figuring out just what these clickies are and how they work, but the citizens of Ankh-Morpork instantly fall in love with them, lining up in droves for the chance to see little five-minute long, soundless clickies of historical and educational interests¿at first. Then none other than Cut-Me-Own-Throat Dibbler, famed salesmen of sausage in a bun and other pseudo-culinary tidbits (whose fame comes from the fact that he can actually sell his sausages in a bun to people on more than one occasion) gets the calling, basically takes over the whole business, and starts making epics filled with danger and fighting and romance, some of them taking the better part of a whole day to film. The milkmaid Ginger and Victor Tugelbend (a student wizard who is generally acknowledged to be the laziest person on the Discworld) find themselves the leading lady and man of cinema and they are the first to figure out that something is terribly wrong in Holy Wood. Holy Wood magic is not really real, and what it is actually doing is wearing away the barrier between reality, always in rather short supply on the Discworld, and the Dungeon Dimensions, where all kinds of terrible entities sit waiting to come in. The first person to really figure out the danger is not a person at all, but rather Gaspode the Wonder Dog (not to be confused with the ingratiatingly obedient and thus wildly popular Laddie the Wonder Dog). He¿s a mangy little mutt of a dog really, but he does something most dogs can¿t do¿he talks. He talks a lot, grumbling about life as a talking dog and constantly warning Victor about all the ¿boding¿ going on up on the hill. Well, things all come to a head when Dibbler makes the most lavish moving picture ever, Discworld¿s version of Gone With the Wind, and the evil that Victor, Ginger, Gaspode, and the Librarian must ultimately contest is a Lovecraftian being from the outside, with all kinds of tentacles and other nasty bits.
There are more unforgettable characters in this novel than I can describe here. For me, though, the senior wizards pretty much steal the show. After seeing a poster of the scantily-clad Ginger¿s newest and biggest movie, they decide that they need to find out what all this clickies nonsense is about. Of course, they can¿t let anyone know they are wizards so they come up with the brilliant idea of putting wire in their beards to make them look like fake beards (ingenious, really, in my opinion). A special delight is old Windle Poons; he may be the oldest, most deaf wizard still alive, but he behaves quite like a youngster when he goes out on the town. This tenth book in the Discworld series sorts of takes the reader in a new direction, centering on brand new characters but incorporating a few familiar faces that manage to keep things lively from start to finish. Looking back, it may have dragged a little in the middle, and the ending wasn¿t overly spectacular, but it was a pure joy to read. There is wit galore here but not too much satire, making this a fairly carefree book to be read strictly for the pleasure of it. There are numerous references to popular films, and I was really delighted to see Pratchett give the horrors from the Dungeon Dimensions an obvious Cthulhuian cast. Moving Pictures would be a great book with which to introduce yourself to the Discworld universe; you can enjoy it immensely without having read the previous nine books, and there are laughs to be found on every single page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving Pictures Review, 18 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. J. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) (Paperback)
I have not read this book yet but if it written in the same way as his other Disc World series I am sure it will provide me with good entertainment. The service provided by the seller was prompt and very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels)
Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 14 Nov 1991)
5.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews