Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lancre's coven exposed! . . . er, revealed!
Parodying Shakespeare is a cottage industry among novelists. Few, however, have the talent to weave sound philosophy within the narrative. Pratchett introduces some thoughtful notions along with his compelling characters. From the introduction of Esme Weatherwax in Equal Rites, he fills out the coven residing in the kingdom of Lancre with her cohorts. Each brings a highly...
Published on 17 Oct 2005 by Stephen A. Haines

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor narration
I wonder if talented Celia Imrie is a little ashamed of this careless performance and at what point she realised that her cut glass version of Mistress Weatherwax was a mismatch with the couthy dialogue.
Nanny Ogg had lost her earthy robust quality and the sound quality was also very poor. Annoying.
The book is a pleasant and clever ramble with wonderful Terry...
Published on 11 Feb 2012 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book in the discworld series., 9 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wyrd Sisters: A Discworld Novel: 6 (Paperback)
Wyrd Sisters is a halarious spin off of Macbeth and has everything all avid Discworld series reader could want in a book. It's the kind of book you can read once and then pick it up 20 minutes later, read it again and enjoy it just as much the second time! If you can't get enough of the main characters, Magrat, Nanny Ogg and Granny Weatherwax you should read Witches Abroad, Carpe Jugulum, Maskerade and Equal Rites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wyrd indeed ..., 2 Nov 2011
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wyrd Sisters: A Discworld Novel: 6 (Paperback)
This is the sixth of the Discworld novels, and a very good book in the series. It features a story based around Nanny Ogg, Granny Weatherwax and Magrat, the three witches, who must put to rights the wrongs in the Kingdom of Lancre when King Verence is killed by a usurper.

There are plenty of references to the works of Shakespeare and other literary and cultural references, which may be over the head of younger readers, but made me chuckle quite a few times.

The story is well-paced, and full of interesting characters; and most importantly, entertaining and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Discworld books, 30 July 2011
The witches books in the Discworld series showcase some of Terry Pratchett's best writing. The characters are so well constructed. Granny Weatherwax and Nanny Ogg deliver comic one liners with expert timing. The dwarf equivalent of Shakespeare is also a wonderful addition. The story has everything a good audience want - death, kings, ghosts, witches.... The combination of fantasy and subtle humour make this one of my favourite Discworld books and, in my opinion, a good place to dip into the series for the uninitiated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Discworld Books-, 26 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wyrd Sisters: A Discworld Novel: 6 (Paperback)
ThIS is a good book. It is very funny, has an interesting storyline and is written very well. It's only problem is it sometimes whines on a bit for a few pages and then get's back to the subject, but when you get to those parts, carry on reading because it will be worth it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Discworld does Macbeth, 7 Mar 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wyrd Sisters: A Discworld Novel: 6 (Paperback)
`Wyrd Sisters' is the sixth Discworld book and the second to star the brilliant Granny Weatherwax. It is at about this point in the Discworld series where the books start to become consistently brilliant. The story is something of a parody of Macbeth, is entertaining throughout and is brilliantly funny.

As well as the return of the Granny Weatherwax, this book also sees the introduction of the other great witch characters Magrat and Nanny Ogg. Nanny Ogg in particular is an awesome character, acting as a brilliant counterpart to the more serious Granny Weatherwax. The book is just as well written as you would expect from a Terry Pratchett book and out of all the Witches Discworld books, this is one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Cracker, 28 Jan 2009
This review is from: Wyrd Sisters: A Discworld Novel: 6 (Paperback)
Instalment six, once again, does not need to be read in consecutive order, but it would help. Partly to introduce and understand characters but partly because the books styles develop as you go along.

This instalment introduces some more characters who will return to the fray later in the day and a few who will never be seen again. The story is of witches, but more how they live in their own little reality slap bang in the middle of everyone elses and, despite their protestations to the contrary, end up interfering in everyones lives to the nth degree.

Its captivating and chuckle worthy and worth a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Granny, 18 Feb 2004
By 
Mark Chadwick (Colne, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wyrd Sisters: A Discworld Novel: 6 (Paperback)
Just working my way through the Discworld adventures, and finished this one the other night. Pratchett's mind is a mine field of great twists on modern society, this one will have you chuckling away wherever you read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The hedgehog Review, 3 Dec 1999
This review is from: Wyrd Sisters: A Discworld Novel: 6 (Paperback)
I found this book hilarious! It is a complete spin-off of Macbeth but without you realising it. I agree with the other two reviewers that the Hedgehog song is fantastic and I also agree it should be printed in full. To find out what exactley we are talking about with the Hedghog song, You will just have to read and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor narration, 11 Feb 2012
By 
Mike (Isle of Harris) - See all my reviews
I wonder if talented Celia Imrie is a little ashamed of this careless performance and at what point she realised that her cut glass version of Mistress Weatherwax was a mismatch with the couthy dialogue.
Nanny Ogg had lost her earthy robust quality and the sound quality was also very poor. Annoying.
The book is a pleasant and clever ramble with wonderful Terry and deserved better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and I particularly like the way he takes a subject from our modern ..., 12 July 2014
By 
Mark Castle "Mark" (Luton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book when it was first published, and decided after all these years to re-read it on my Kindle. I have to say that it still made me giggle and I now intend to read through the rest of the Discworld series again. I don't think you could ever tire of Pratchettes humour, and I particularly like the way he takes a subject from our modern day lives and introduces it into the Discworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wyrd Sisters: A Discworld Novel: 6
Wyrd Sisters: A Discworld Novel: 6 by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 10 Nov 1989)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews