Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars65
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2004
Book 3 of the Mallorean
This book continues the quest of King Belgarion to rescue his kidnapped son from the hands of Zandramas. Picking up right where "King of the Murgos" left off, Garion and company (Belgarath, Polgara, Sadi. C'Nedra, Silk, etc) head off to the continent/Empire of Mallorea under the power of the Emperor Zakath. This seems to be a side trip as they are trying to get to The House of Torak at Ashaba, but the group keeps getting sidetracked. However, as Belgarath says in the book, even with all the distractions, they keep gaining ground and time on Zandramas. That fact is no different in this novel.
While in the capital city of MaL Zeth, reports start coming in about a sorcerer who is raising a legion of demons. While the quest for Garion's son is important, a legion of demons threatens all and must be addressed. Add to this a touch of plague to the city, and Zakath's refusal to let Garion leave, and you have the makings of this novel. Like the other books of this series, it is a familiar story that mirrors that of The Belgariad (the first series involving these characters).
I would consider this to be light fantasy, but because of how well Eddings writes his characters, they feel like old friends from the start, and it is easy to get wrapped up in the story. This is also the 8th book featuring these characters, however, and we are getting the same story over and over again, so that there is really nothing new here. Silk acts like he always does, and says the same things, and Polgara responds the same way. If this is your first time through the series, and you have enjoyed it thus far, you will continue to enjoy it. After reading it multiple times, it begins to grow a little tiresome because of how similar everything David Eddings writes is to each other. This is a fun little series that I greatly enjoyed years ago, and less so today.
-Joe Sherry
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2008
This book forms part of a terrific series beginning with `Belgareth the Sorcerer'. I don't read much of this genre (fantasy) but like The Hobbit/ Lord of the Rings this will appeal to a large audience.

Following Belgareth the Sorcerer there are two series of 5 books, `The Belgariad' and `The Mallorean' and it is advisable to read them in order, and if you can read `Belgareth' first (although you could save it and read it afterwards like a prequel).

I raced through the series. The Eddings' (the books were written by a couple) create a Tolkein-esque world with our hero Belgareth learning powers known as `the will and the word' through centuries of study under a benevolent God (the gods that created this world still live on it in physical form). This study elevates him to the status of a sorcerer and elongates his life span - he becomes a legend and a force for good in the world. However, another disciple of his benevolent master rebels and steals the holy `Orb' stone, following a more sinister God. In the later series the Gods have left the planet in fear that their battle will destroy the world but their peoples continue to war - following the Prophecies left to them by the Gods. The two series follow the course of events as Belgareth leads the hunt for the traitor and the stone. It's very cleverly written and characters and events reappear as we become familiar with the history of this fictional world through the course of the books.

Really good fun and a definite recommendation if you want a light hearted escape that will keep you reading late into the night.

This is the order of the books:

The Belgariad
1. Pawn of Prophecy
2. Queen of Sorcery
3. Magician's Gambit
4. Castle of Wizardry
5. Enchanters' End Game

The Malloreon
1. Guardians of the West
2. King of the Murgos
3. Demon Lord of Karanda
4. Sorceress of Darshiva
5. The Seeress of Kell
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Book three of The Malloreon continues the search for Zandramas. It's been a while since I read the first two, but David Eddings recaps succinctly, and I'm now hooked again! I don't have book 4 yet, but I think I may have to remedy that soon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
I have read and enjoyed these books before. I do not think that this book or any other books in the Malloreon are stand alone. All the books need to be read in turn. They are fast moving and are books that can be read more than once as with one reading you might miss something the 1st time around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2000
The entire saga is a Masterpiece in fantasy-writing. To be compared with Tolkiens Lord of the Rings. This a must for all fantasy-lovers.
Eddings writes with style and humour. A true Master.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
i have not read this book yet but intend to soon as with all books i have got so far it was in good condition and would buy from these again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
This book is the third in the Malloreon series and is as interesting as the previous two. The storyline flows from one volume to the next
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
another classic already downloading number four. things seem to be coming to head. who will perish in the battle my guess is on silk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
Great books by the great author David eddings! My father is hooked on all of the series of books!!! Great buys too!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2001
An absolutely fantastic book which I couldn't put down. I recommend reading the series so you understand the characters and the story line before this book. This is the only set of books I can read over and over again. David Eddings portrays the characters in such a way that you can't wait to see what will happen next. Well worth the time and money.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse