Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read,teamed up with a good one!
Nerilka's Story is a view of the events around the book Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern, but told from the view of Nerilka(our heroine, hooray!), daughter of Lord Holder Tolocamp (major baddy, boo! ).
This book is tighter than the usual Dragon series, although Dragondrums and DragonSong have a similar flavour, being more closely tied with central characters also. But...
Published on 6 Oct 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nerilka's story and the Coelura
This was a good book although I was a little surprised to find the second story was nothing to do with the dragon series.
Published on 20 Nov 2010 by L. Shaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read,teamed up with a good one!, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Nerilka's Story & The Coelura (Paperback)
Nerilka's Story is a view of the events around the book Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern, but told from the view of Nerilka(our heroine, hooray!), daughter of Lord Holder Tolocamp (major baddy, boo! ).
This book is tighter than the usual Dragon series, although Dragondrums and DragonSong have a similar flavour, being more closely tied with central characters also. But this one is written as if by Nerilka in a memoir form which is quite charming and much more than a 'prequel'. It stands well on its own even if you haven't read the Moreta book - I read Moreta afterwards and that was great too.
Being shorter, its nice that The Coelura is squeezed into this volume as well, but it does not stand up well in comparison with Nerilka. The plot is fair enough but has Flash Gordon sort of ambience and the society structure seems to owe much to Michael Moorcock's sci-fi-fantasy world - unintended I'm sure! Still a good read, teamed up with a great one! A worthy addition to the McCaffrey bookshelf collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The other side of the mirror, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nerilka's Story - A view of the same storey from a different point of view... Let me make this absolutely clear; if you haven't read Moreta - Dragon Lady of Pern, go and do so before ready this one as you will get much more out of the experience.

Anne McCaffrey's books generally start with a healthy review of the storey so far - something a churlish person could object too if it weren't for all the wonder that follows it - but in this instance only the entire preceding book will do!

Although some parts of this book are complete echoes of the preceding one you soon learn pounce on those moments even more gripped in the words to draw out the alternate perspective which brings clarity to some aspects previously left questioning.

This revisiting is however seamlessly blended with Nerilka's own storey elements making the book as a whole well worth the experience. There are a couple of parts you can even almost hear Anne saying to the reader, "we covered this gap, it doesn't need retelling" nor should they have been from Nerilka's perspective.

In short, read them both, you won't be sorry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nerilka's story and the Coelura, 20 Nov 2010
By 
L. Shaw (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nerilka's Story & The Coelura (Paperback)
This was a good book although I was a little surprised to find the second story was nothing to do with the dragon series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One good, one less so, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enoyed Nerilka's Story, but not so keen on The Coeltura, but that may just be that I love the Dragon series, and was expecting something along the same lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nerilka's Story & The Coelura (Paperback)
I received this book quickly and in good condition. It was very reasonably priced. I love these books, they are one of my favourite. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nerilka's Story & The Coelura (Paperback)
One of the stories I was particularly interested in, but the book generally didn't interest me as much as the dragon series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Anne McCaffrey is always good., 21 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nerilka's Story is not my favourite of the Pern series, but nevertheless it is good. Nerilka is a fiesty heroine who has a plague and the takeover by a new wife of her father immediately following the death of Nerika's own mother. The heroine subsequently has many ups and downs. All in all, a good Anne McCaffrey.
The Coelura I read many years ago. A story of a high lady who is an intelligent heroine, and fabulous creatures who spin fantastic garments. There is family and political type intrigue, but the coelura creatures are what I remembered from reading the print book many years ago. It's well worth returning to on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Two Very Different Short Stories, 16 Sep 2012
This review is from: Nerilka's Story & The Coelura (Paperback)
And personally, I only enjoy one. The first was mildly entertaining, but not worth a reread. The second, Coelura is better and I have re-read it a couple of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7692504)

This product

Nerilka's Story & The Coelura
Nerilka's Story & The Coelura by Anne McCaffrey (Paperback - 2 Oct 1987)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews