Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wow Book As Far As Quantum Goes
My first review went AWOL in Amazon's computers so let's hope this makes it through. John Gribbin's ISOSC is the best beginners quantum book I've read to date. As a layman, clear descriptive examples and not too much on the mass, spin and electric charge of umpteen antimatter particles work best or one loses the wood for the trees. Gribbin carefully explains the...
Published on 19 Sep 2009 by demola

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough going
Yes, this is probably a good buy when you want to discover what quantum physics is about (though I've heard that Taking the Quantum Leap: The New Physics for Non-Scientists by Fred Alan Wolf is a strong competitor). Even so, as Gribbin took me further and further into the quantum thicket, I'm afraid I did lose track.
Maybe it's me. Or maybe the book's not quite what...
Published on 24 July 2008 by Gaston Dorren


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wow Book As Far As Quantum Goes, 19 Sep 2009
This review is from: In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition (Paperback)
My first review went AWOL in Amazon's computers so let's hope this makes it through. John Gribbin's ISOSC is the best beginners quantum book I've read to date. As a layman, clear descriptive examples and not too much on the mass, spin and electric charge of umpteen antimatter particles work best or one loses the wood for the trees. Gribbin carefully explains the development and essential building blocks of (and personalities in) quantum mechanics and eventually even on what "spin" might be. I did get lost at Feynman diagrams showing particles moving backward in time but paraphrasing Niels Bohr, if you're not stunned by quantum mechanics then you don't get it. This is a wow book. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and to the point, 4 Aug 2012
This review is from: In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition (Paperback)
Having previously read some longer popular science books, they all very much dwelled on points for much longer than is necessary. John Gribbin does not fall into the trap at all and writes about everything at a length that keeps it interesting and to the point. I really like this.

The content of the book itself is very good. It explores QM, its history and also how it works, and then goes on to explain the weirdness of the quantum world, its experimental history and prospects. Finally, the future of physics and the directions in which can be taken over the coming years ('many worlds' pun, possibly? no? okay.) including supersymmetry are explored. So for a short book as it is, many aspects of QM are tackled and with good style and little spin (until towards the end), no pun intended there.

I didn't read the 'updated edition' so I cannot vouch for that, but I actually bought the book back in 2009 so I had a fairly older edition which is constantly referencing how it was written in about 1983. A lot of the content of the book has changed now as the LHC is up and running (and the Higgs has supposedly been found but that may be too recent), many more particles have been found (tau neutrino for example) and string theory/M theory are full blown theories now. So I hope that in the updated edition, this slight outdated-ness had been changed. (if someone could comment whether this has occurred or now, that would be awesome).

So yeah. Great book regardless of science ability. Mathematical ability is irrelevant as there is no mathematics in it. Recommended to anyone studying A level physics who wants further reading for personal statements and such!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight into the very fabric of everything..., 6 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition (Paperback)
John Gribbin has created an excellent book for anyone vaguely curious about Physics and moreover Quantum Mechanics.
It accurately and succinctly introduces the reader to the alien world of the very small, the world of particle physics and it's associated theory area, Quantum Mechanics. The book details the history of this study area in enough detail to satisfy those with some prior knowledge and yet will also keep the reader that is perhaps new to the Scientific arena interested throughout. Although clearly not a fictional work the "plot" follows the illuminate of Mathematics and Physics who, in the early part of this century, laid the ground work for a hugely productive area of science. It neatly explores sub-plots that highlight supporting narrative about the key figures, the mathematics they used, the air of discovery, political diversions and war across the Lab Benches as classical physics, led by Einstein, sort to push the Quantum lobby to the very limit of absolute understanding.
There are equations and experimental examples but not enough to disrupt a thoroughly good read for people without prior mathematical experience. Perhaps not quite enough for those that crave the quadratic or the matrix mechanic?
A great way to open a fascinating new way of viewing the universe(s)..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Brilliant, as you might expect from a Sussex Academic., 8 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition (Paperback)
I am one of those few people who have actualy read their copy of the Brief History of Time and this book is just as good if not better. The book is not hard to read as some may think and gives insight and wonder into the World of Quantum Mechanics. In fact I think I learnt more Quantum Mechanics from this book than I did from my entire Physics degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written but not concise enough., 18 Dec 2000
This review is from: In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition (Paperback)
There is no doubt John Gribbin is one of the best scientific writers around as you'll observe if you read this book and its sequel(Schrodinger's kittens). This book however left me asking more questions because most of the aspects were not covered in detail. In view of this I would recommend this book to anyone slightly curious about quantum physics. You'll find it an exciting read without all the complex calculations and terminologies which I hunger for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb introduction, 21 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition (Paperback)
This book is aimed squarely at those who did not do science A-level, and as such I found it a fantastic overview. Lively, funny and jaw-dropping. What more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 24 Feb 2000
By 
amazeen@islandia.is (Reykjavík , Iceland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition (Paperback)
This book tackles a difficult subject but explanes it so well that noone should have trouble understanding it. Mr Gribbin has done a wonderful job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything You Want To Know About PHYSICS!, 19 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition (Paperback)
If you want to know more about the world Of physics.. READ IT...
You don't need abny prior knowledge ... and even if you do know something about physics you will love this anyway...
A Must have.. as thrilling as a novel and more educational than a physics textbook.. I give you my personal guarantee!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction for scientifically minded, 15 July 2001
By 
This review is from: In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition (Paperback)
I bought this book having heard conflicting reviews on whether it was too complicated for the average reader without a scientific background, such as might read A Brief History of Time, or whether it was too easy for those with some science and maths training. As the first book I've read on the subject, it was a good read about the history and basic principles, but I'd have preferred more detail on some aspects, and for it to be more complicated so that I'd have finished with a greater understanding of quantum physics (if that makes sense!) A good read if you want to skim the surface of the subject, but I'll be reading something else to get into the proper maths and equations of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Set the Standard Quantum Physics Books!, 25 Aug 2008
This review is from: In search of Schrödinger's cat
In Search of Schrödinger's Cat was one of the few books for the layman on Quantum Physics in the early 1980s. It set the standard for future books on the subject.

I read In Search of Schrödinger's Cat in 1984 and it knocked my socks off! Like many engineers I have been intrigued by quantum physics for some time. This book was one of my first exposures to that amazing world and it is still one of my all time favorites.

Many days I would only read several pages (like sipping a fine wine) and then contemplate the amazing world of Quantum Physics that John Gribbin so eloquently explained.

From Einstein's special theory of relativity to the big bang and parallel universes this book is a treasure of well written thoughts and ideas. He also covers Paradoxes and Possibilities, Beyond Einstein, Superconductors, Collapsing waves and much more.
It is a great read!

The Re-Discovery of Common Sense: A Guide To: The Lost Art of Critical Thinking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition
In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat: Updated Edition by John Gribbin (Paperback - 1985)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews