Customer Reviews


245 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Colour of Magic and the Light Fantastic
I came across this omnibus version of the two first Discworld novels while searching for The Colour of Magic at my local bookstore. I am very glad I got this particular version, because you really need to read both novels to conclude the story about Rincewind and Twoflower. It took me a while to get into the story, but once I did I really enjoyed it. It is very funny, but...
Published on 17 May 2008 by O Gardener

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't give up
One of the best pieces of book advice I was ever given was from a friend who told me that if I wanted to read Discworld I should do so from the beginning and in chronological order, but that I shouldn't stop if I was less than impressed with the first couple of books. Luckily I followed her advice.

The Colour of Magic is far from a great novel. Flashes of...
Published on 8 Mar 2010 by Oracle


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Start of the Best Fantasy Series Ever, 15 Mar 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Terry Pratchett has become one of the most popular authors alive today and his popularity is richly deserved. But not even with his fertile mind could ever have envisaged the heights to which his Discworld series would rise. The Colour of Magic was first published in 1982 and is the start of the Discworld novels. To a degree it is amazing that these books have achieved such popularity but they certainly have and they are probably the most read fantasy books in the world.

You would think that a fantasy world full of trolls, zombies, witches, vampires would be an alien concept to most readers. Werewolves and dwarves in the Ankh Morpork city watch. Wizards running a university. All this to come in future episodes. Surely this style of writing would have a limited readership? but no the books are loved by anybody and everybody and are read by people who would not normally allow fantasy fiction on to their book shelves. This is the Discworld of terry Pratchett.

This first book in the series is about a wizard who is plagued by spells that don't always work and if they do, they do not always achieve the ends he had in mind. His meeting with Twoflower a 'tourist' makes for hilarious reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very clever silliness, 17 May 2005
By 
A. Wasenczuk "speedbird2" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is Pratchett's first novel and my personal favourite. Why? Because this is the one in which he takes a pop at the entire fantasy genre. The style of humour is Douglas Adams (with a nod to Tom Sharpe in the character of Rincewind) but the target is different. Like Adams, Pratchett has many imitators but this is the original and the best.
Pratchett's world is a flat disc on the back of four elephants standing on an enormous turtle, swimming between the stars. It's populated almost entirely by magicians, peasants, armed lunatics and petty deities. If you're in the 90% of the population who think that this sounds like a recipe for disaster, then you'll love it.
The trick, I think, is that the best jokes are quite subtle. Some of them you might not notice the first time round. And Pratchett is one of the few authors who can write a sight-gag. For this we must applaud him.
Belly-laughs for all ages. Occasionally, days later in the middle of the high street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Beginning to the Series, 8 Dec 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Colour of Magic: The First Discworld Novel: 1 (Paperback)
Terry Pratchett has become one of the most popular authors alive today and his popularity is richly deserved. But not even with his fertile mind could ever have envisaged the heights to which his Discworld series would rise. This book first published in 1982 is the start of the Discworld novels and to a degree it is amazing that these books have achieved such popularity.

You would think that a fantasy world full of trolls, zombies, witches, vampires would be an alien concept to most readers. Werewolves and dwarves in the Ankh Morpork city watch. Wizards running a university. All this to come in future episodes. Surely this style of writing would have a limited readership? but no the books are loved by anybody and everybody and are read by people who would not normally allow fantasy fiction on to their book shelves. This is the Discworld of terry Pratchett.

This first book in the series is about a wizard whois plagued by spells that don't always work and if they do, they do not always achieve the ends he had in mind. His meeting with Twoflower a 'tourist' makes for hilarious reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful fantasy world, 10 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: The Colour of Magic: The First Discworld Novel: 1 (Paperback)
Synopsis from Amazon:

It is fantasy? No - it's a different and more eccentric reality, where the world is flat and moves through space on the back of a giant turtle, Death stalks glumly about his duties, and dragons only exist if you believe in them. And your luggage follows you around on hundreds of little legs...

Follow Twoflower the nave tourist and his inept guide Rincewind in their hilarious search for thrills, adventure and opportunities to not get killed. Follow them all the way to the Edge - and beyond...

This is the first Pratchett novel I have read, and I am glad I did, what a funny book!

Pratchett leads us through a fantastical world filled with gods, dragons, trolls and the like. This book was not a disappointment. Everything was described in such a way that it was easy to imagine and be transported there.

I loved Twoflower, I found his character hilarious. Pretty much all he did and said was funny. My other favourite character was Death. He had some great one-liners.

My only problem with the book was there were so many events and adventures and characters I slowly forgot who was who and what had happened before. However, this didn't really spoil the story for me.

The end is nicely set up for the next in the series, and I am looking forward to carrying on the adventure :-)

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start, but not the best, 13 Mar 2012
As a lifelong Pratchett fan it pains me to say it, but I have never enjoyed this book as much as its successors. It is fun throughout and in places funny, but the tongue-in-cheek humour and the razor sharp satire that so characterise this series is in short supply, while the story is far less focused than his later work. That said, this book does neatly turn the fantasy genre on its head and set the stage for the greater things to come, while supplying some nice moments. Ironically not the best starting place for those seeking entry to the canon, but a worthwhile read and a auspicious beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 13 Feb 2006
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (North-Central Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the very first book in Terry Pratchett's series on the Discworld - a flat world, supported on the backs of four massive elephants riding on the back of a planet-sized turtle. Anything hilarious can happen here, and eventually does.
Rincewind the (failed) wizard's luck seems to be looking up. He has fallen in with the Discworld's very first tourist, and man is he packing the gold. But, as per usual, things begin to go bad and then worse. It seems that the gods are playing a game, and Rincewind and the tourist are pawns. It's fate versus luck, but does Rincewind have any chance of winning? The results will definitely be...hilarious!
This is a very good book, one that has a few differences from later stories, but definitely has that old Terry Pratchett magic. Now, be advised that this book has a cliffhanger ending; you really have to move on immediately to the sequel, The Light Fantastic. As for me, I really liked this book. When my fourteen-year-old daughter discovered the joy Terry Pratchett for herself (after reading The Wee Free Men!), I immediately got her this book, so she could read the Discworld series in order. We both love this book and highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Start to the Series, 18 Jan 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Terry Pratchett has become one of the most popular authors alive today and his popularity is richly deserved. But not even with his fertile mind could ever have envisaged the heights to which his Discworld series would rise. This book first published in 1982 is the start of the Discworld novels and to a degree it is amazing that these books have achieved such popularity.

You would think that a fantasy world full of trolls, zombies, witches, vampires would be an alien concept to most readers. Werewolves and dwarves in the Ankh Morpork city watch. Wizards running a university. All this to come in future episodes. Surely this style of writing would have a limited readership? but no the books are loved by anybody and everybody and are read by people who would not normally allow fantasy fiction on to their book shelves. This is the Discworld of terry Pratchett.

This first book in the series is about a wizard whois plagued by spells that don't always work and if they do, they do not always achieve the ends he had in mind. His meeting with Twoflower a 'tourist' makes for hilarious reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Start to the Series, 11 Feb 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Terry Pratchett has become one of the most popular authors alive today and his popularity is richly deserved. But not even with his fertile mind could ever have envisaged the heights to which his Discworld series would rise. This book first published in 1982 is the start of the Discworld novels and to a degree it is amazing that these books have achieved such popularity.

You would think that a fantasy world full of trolls, zombies, witches, vampires would be an alien concept to most readers. Werewolves and dwarves in the Ankh Morpork city watch. Wizards running a university. All this to come in future episodes. Surely this style of writing would have a limited readership? but no the books are loved by anybody and everybody and are read by people who would not normally allow fantasy fiction on to their book shelves. This is the Discworld of terry Pratchett.

This first book in the series is about a wizard who is plagued by spells that don't always work and if they do, they do not always achieve the ends he had in mind. His meeting with Twoflower a 'tourist' makes for hilarious reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely hilarious, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Nadine Schulz "Rastaleesha" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Colour of Magic: The First Discworld Novel: 1 (Paperback)
This is Terry Pratchett at his best. In this first Discworld Novel the hero is Rincewind the wizard who has been chosen through some awkward but hilarious circumstances to be a tourguide for the first tourist the discworld has ever seen. Rincewind leads ... or rather ends up... in remote locations like the temple of ancient monsters or upside down hills trying to get Two Flower the discworld tourist out of trouble. He learns about the reflected sound of underground spirits and nearly gets eaten by a walking luggage made out of sapient pearwood. Escaping the witty character of Death over and over again he lives an adventure that never comes to rest with lots of action filled scenes which will send you through a range of emotions and turn grins into chuckles and actual outburst of laughter. Terry Pratchett is the funniest writer on earth only rivaled by Douglas Adams... this book will open the Discworld-world to you and you will never want to go back... highly recommended.... five stars :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Discworld Novel, 16 Dec 2004
This review is from: The Colour of Magic: The First Discworld Novel: 1 (Paperback)
Simply put, a must have for anyone who likes paper with words printed on them, here is a fantasy novel, with Dragons, Trolls, heros, villians, and magic powers, that defies the bleak cliche -ridden world of Fantasy writing. Not since Tolkien has there been such a must-read Fantasy author than the chokingly funny Terry Pratcett, who also endevours to be the opposite of the work of the epic Proffesor. Rincewind the (failed) Wizard will find a place in the hearts of all readers, who, whilst testing the patience with his inadaquecy, greed, distrust and pessimistic outlook, will always win you over by being every bit as human as the rest of us. He just happens to have the knack of falling into perilious circumstances.
Precision cut plot hooks, great characaters, uncomprimising wit, everyone from young teen upwards, start your Pratchett obsession NOW with this book, then 'The Light Fantastic'. I also reccomened 'Small Gods', also from the Discworld series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Colour of Magic: The First  Discworld Novel: 1
The Colour of Magic: The First Discworld Novel: 1 by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 18 Jan 1985)
4.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews