Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reign of Fire Lizards
"Dragondrums" is the third book in Anne McCaffery's "Harper Hall Trilogy" and is set on the world of Pern. Three years have now passed since "Dragonsinger", when Menolly first arrived at the Harper Hall. She remains a favourite of Masterharper Robinton, an still enjoys the company of her nine fire lizards. However, there have been some changes. Now a journeyman, she is...
Published on 21 Oct 2006 by Craobh Rua

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun read
Pads out Menolly's story a bit more, but Piemur's the main character. We learn more about southern Pern and Toric's ambitions.
Published 2 months ago by K


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reign of Fire Lizards, 21 Oct 2006
This review is from: Dragondrums (The Dragon Books) (Paperback)
"Dragondrums" is the third book in Anne McCaffery's "Harper Hall Trilogy" and is set on the world of Pern. Three years have now passed since "Dragonsinger", when Menolly first arrived at the Harper Hall. She remains a favourite of Masterharper Robinton, an still enjoys the company of her nine fire lizards. However, there have been some changes. Now a journeyman, she is much more confident and no-one questions her place at the Hall : in fact, she now seems to hold a certain amount of authority. However, although Menolly appears in "Dragondrums", she isn't the central character : this book tells the story of her friend and ally, Piemur.

"Dragondrums" begins with a disaster, albeit one that wasn't entirely unexpected : Piemur's voice breaks. As a result, his career as a singer has to be put on hold - something that also costs him his position as Shonagar's apprentice. Despite his initial fears, Piemur soon finds himself apprenticed to the Masterharper himself and working, at times, with Menolly and Sebell - another journeyman. As his tasks for Robinton will not be public news, however, he will officially be apprenticed to Olodkey, the Hall's drummaster. Although delighted with the prestige of working for Robinton, and hopeful that his work will include a visit to the Southern Continent, things aren't altogether easy for Piemur, His new classmates on the drum level make his life as difficult as they possible can - and his missions for Robinton are not without their peril.

Although the final book in the Harper Hall trilogy, "Dragonsong" didn't really seem to 'fit' - partly because the focus has shifted from Menolly to Piemur, and partly because it didn't really bring any `ending' to the trilogy. Although Menolly does appear in a supporting role, there were some loose <ahem> Threads that could've been dealt with and were ignored. I also thought Piemur's choices at the end of the book were a little strange, given everything that had been so important to him up until that point. However, like the previous two instalments, this is an easily read and enjoyable book that contains, for me, a stronger adventure element.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anne McCaffrey - Dragondrums, 11 Jun 2009
By 
D. Stevenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragondrums (The Dragon Books) (Paperback)
Very please with this book been reading the series and gripped story very Entertaining. The book itself arrived in very good condition, will be buying the next in the series soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pads out Menolly's story a bit more, but Piemur's the main character. We learn more about southern Pern and Toric's ambitions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne McCaffrey's books, 10 Feb 2014
One thing which am not happy about is I wish they were in proper order most of the ones have been but I am reading atm the Moreta one and it does not have any of the people in I have read in the others it is almost as if it was a really early one. My amazon Kindle which my friends bought for me has a black spot on it which the cable guy said was something wrong with pixels. I won't buy the next one from online that is for sure. Pam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. B. A. Clayton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still enjoyed rereading this book on kindle nearly as much as I did when I read it years ago. mow it will not fill my book case, and have to be dusted.
Using a kindle I can reed in bed and have no light on. So I can read as long as I like.
Still love turning the pages of a new book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best books, 14 Jun 2013
By 
E. A. Mcnair (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragondrums (The Dragon Books) (Paperback)
This is one of my favourite series, so well-read that I have to keep replacing them. This is my third copy of Dragondrums. Arrived in the usual Amazon pack, completely suitable for books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dragondrums, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this adventure for Piemir. He's a cheeky kid and his journey has made him grow up a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Pern Series of books are great, This is another classic which I wouldn't hesitate in recommending to any fan of fantasy/sci-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dragon books, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absoluteley love all of the Dragon books. Can always get lost in the storylines. spending more time reading than intended. First read over 20 years ago but still enjoy them just as much with every re reading. If you enjoy scifi fantasy, you'll love this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant read, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Tawny Owl6 "Tawny6" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoy reading any of these brilliant Dragon of Pern books, they're so well written and are a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1e44234)

This product

Dragondrums (The Dragon Books)
Dragondrums (The Dragon Books) by Anne McCaffrey (Paperback - 1 Mar 1982)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews