Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A "Warts And All" Account
A very readable, first-hand narrative of the involvement of British mercenaries during the Angolan civil war in the mid 70s.
The co-authors were two of the main participants and describe the activities of the heavily-outnumbered mercenaries fighting for the FNLA in Northern Angola against the Cuban backed MPLA.
The book is very well written and gives a...
Published on 10 Nov. 2003 by N. A. Boulton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book to read.
Read this book many years ago, know most of the guys mentioned. I had about three of the books then move and lost them all. Great read and a lot of truth.
Published 20 months ago by John


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A "Warts And All" Account, 10 Nov. 2003
By 
N. A. Boulton "snoopyt" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fire Power (Paperback)
A very readable, first-hand narrative of the involvement of British mercenaries during the Angolan civil war in the mid 70s.
The co-authors were two of the main participants and describe the activities of the heavily-outnumbered mercenaries fighting for the FNLA in Northern Angola against the Cuban backed MPLA.
The book is very well written and gives a chronological account of how they became involved, how the mercenaries were recruited, what happened while they were there and the fate of many of those who did not return.
Firepower also includes a unique first hand description of how a number of the British mercenaries came to be massacred by their own side at Maquela, an event that was widely reported in the UK press at the time.
One of the very few books devoted to this short and tragic episode, I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in personal experiences of foreign military involvement in post-colonial Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dogs of war, 11 May 2007
By 
Mr. Kevin Robins "KDR" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fire Power (Hardcover)
this is the real life tale of mercenary life in the 70's. It is a well written tale similar to the wild geese film, a real group of rag tag and bob tale paratroopers and guys from hereford who were bored with life in civvi street. Sometimes graphic, sometimes disturbing but gripping. I have the pleasure of knowing one of the blokes in the book, Dougie the ex paratrooper, and he's still as airborne as the days when he was in 3 PARA and serving along side Callan. It may not be for all but for any ex or serving soldier a good read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Firepower, 23 April 2010
This review is from: Fire Power (Paperback)
Long long out of print, this fascinating book explores the adventures of Dave Tomkins and Chris Dempster as members of an ad-hoc mercenary force in Northern Angola led by an Ex-para Costas georgiou-the infamous " Colonel Callan", The book goes into great detail of the lives of the Authors and several main characters involved, such as: John Banks, Les Aspinall, Peter McAleese, Mick wainhouse, Sammy Copeland, Charley Christoloulou "shotgun Charley", "Stars" Griffiths, Bryan lewis, Derek "Brummie" Barker, President Holden Roberto and some of the "porks"--the portuguese merc's who stayed behind after independance to fight for their country under the FNLA (frent nacionale dos liberatos Angola) against the maxist cuban sponsored MPLA. the book explores also "everyday" events which happened mostly around the sun-bleached dilapidated villa at Sao Salvador used as the main base for FNLA operations, also the infamous Maquela massacre the build-up and subsequent events eyewitnessed by Chris Dempster as one of the reluctant participants, also explored is the dramatic change in the characters mind-set and general attitude to the whole episode in their very short time out there. Its worth also reading "The Whores Of War" which discusses the events of the mercenary involvment in Angola after independance November 1975. In-House politics were also an issue amongst the merc's as they were directly or indirectly involved resulting in attempted "suicide" missions, or simply being put out of the way--most notably Callan moving Peter McAleese away from the main body of merc's to San Antonio do zaire, in short a worthwhile read, highly recommended and powerfully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied Customer, 13 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Fire Power (Paperback)
The book was in a good condition,although it was delayed by the postal service being worked to the bone ie the Christmas freeze up and holiday post.I was happy to receive it ready for a Christmas gift to a person who had family interests in one of the incidents.
I had previously been quoted a figure in excess of a 100 UK pounds maybe this was a hard back I cannot remember, This book replaced a previous one my wife had loaned out and had not been returned so she was most grateful.
I will use Amazon again without doubt,out of 6 or 7 items sent for I was happy with all and they arrived before the deadline and ready for Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book to read., 15 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Fire Power (Paperback)
Read this book many years ago, know most of the guys mentioned. I had about three of the books then move and lost them all. Great read and a lot of truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the real deal not a fluffed up McNab story!, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Power (Paperback)
I read this book in 1984 as a young recruit just starting my basic training, and I was hooked. Don't expect gung-ho and men saving babies from burning buildings, this is a warts and all account. It's a really easy read and no long drawn out rambling, and for me one of those books that you can't put down and keeps you interested right from the start. I ordered the book from New York, reasonable price at £13+p&p, to be honest it's worth double just for the read. Brilliant book from cover to cover.

When I left the Army I started a new job and was talking to one of the guys about the book, it turned out his Wife's dad was one of the original mercenaries involved in Angola. Small world or what?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why wasn't it filmed?, 22 Jun. 2013
By 
mark taha (LONDON,BRITAIN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fire Power (Paperback)
Brilliant book that I read and reread at the time.Would make excellent movie - a kind of graphic Wild Geese.Would then have cast John Thaw as Chris Dempster, Denis Waterman as Dave Tomkins, and Kevork Malikyan as Callan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rare book, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Power (Hardcover)
Book as a Christmas present and my brother was very pleased. I've had emails saying do I want to sell it back. I don't though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every soldier should read, 3 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire Power (Paperback)
a classic true story of the life of two british mercineries who were recruted to fight in angola.the main person that this book is about is the cypriot costas georgue.he liked the late 70s program on british tv called CALLAN.this was significant because he recruited his mercineries under the military name of COLONEL CALLAN.he committed such atrossities to people in angola that he was tried for war crimes.the trial took part in cyprus and he was found guilt and executed.this book is graffic in parts but it realy gives you an insight of what a mercinery goes through and sees.in the original paperback which i read while serving as a soldier in cyprus,i found the photographs of the trial very interesting.it was 1979 when i first read this book and eversince i have recommended it to many ex-soldiers,to which i am happy to say were not disappointed.callan was a ruthless man and got what he diserved,a classic must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't bring my self to read it Yet!, 31 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Fire Power (Hardcover)
My dad was in this book. CLIFFORD ORAM was killed by CALLAN I will read it one day my brother has said its not for the faint hearted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fire Power
Fire Power by Michel Parry (Paperback - 25 Aug. 1978)
Used & New from: £28.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews