Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, enjoyable book with wonderful focus on human ideals
Anne McCaffrey, the author of The Ship Who Sang, is a popular science fiction writer. The Ship Who Sang was her first book of her brain series: stories about physically impaired children that were transformed into shells and then wired into spaceships. Just like her other books, The Ship Who Sang is exciting and enticing. I have not read another book that was more...
Published on 21 Feb. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Not up to the standard that we have come to expect from Anne McCaffrey. A little disappointed it was hard work.
Published 11 months ago by Anthony Marshall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Too much focus on relationships, 14 Mar. 2014
By 
R. Stevenson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
2001:A space odyssey is the closest parallel with this story. It's about a ship controlled by a brain, or rather a female brain. The story focusses on the relationships the brain/ship has with people. The incidents or 'action' are kinda dotted inbetween the relationship/character development. I did like the action parts which did hold suspense but more could have been made of it. At the risk of sounding sexist, the more you get through the book, the more clear it is that the book has been written by a women. I would say the book is more suitable for female readers.

There are more books on "brain ships" written by the author(this being the first). I may read another one just out of curioustiy to see what happens as I do think the idea is good with great potential for sci-fi excellent stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What more could happen in our future? Children born with fine minds but bodies that are not as with other humans. In the story we learn that such children are not simply got rid of, or kept in seclusion to have everything done for them. In this story, which is one of several that focus on the way forwards for these children to become what is known as brain ships. One such brain is priviledged to choose her own 'brawn' and then accepts assignments from around the worlds that the 'brain element' offering support and guidance to the brawn and those she takes with her. She is known as the title of the book because she does sing on long journeys and some situations.
The book is a cracking good read which will have readers eagerly looking for and buying, the remaining set of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great series by a great writer. Love all her works, Sci-Fi lost a great writer when she died
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another high quality offering from McCaffrey. As always intriguing characters and a strong story line. Sad that there will be no more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ship series, 6 Nov. 2013
Fab book. Love this series of books. Enjoy all of Anne's books wish there was a reality like this for disabled children to be able to express themselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea for a story, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was not sure i was reading the same book as some of the other reviews. This is certainly not a bad book at all the concept of Brain ship was very good but the middle of the book with the actors was painful. I was almost ready to give up but i carried on and the last part of the book was totally gripping and engaging and i found myself with real mixed feelings. The price the book was also totally over the top at over £6 for 250 page book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, 25 April 2013
By 
Mr. J. Wwalisch "bighans7211@msn.com" (Cardiff,Wales,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has me going from the start to the end. Anybody likes SF should read it. Thanks for giving us this book Anne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading and re-reading, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this book when music and computer data came on tape, I have re-read it many times since then exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 18 Feb. 2013
Read this quite a while ago and was absolutely delighted to find it for Kindle. Read it in one sitting and enjoyed it immensely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you like your fantasy with a sci-fi twist this will hit the spot!, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed the story and lost a large chunk of weekend. The slots were interesting but the real fascination was the character of Helva the ship herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ship Who Sang: Fantasy
The Ship Who Sang: Fantasy by Anne McCaffrey (Paperback - 23 April 1982)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews