Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still incomparable
If there's any justice, the success of 50 Shades is bringing the focus back on this classic.
Did it all, said it better than anyone else years ago.
Few have improved on it. Drop dead Grey and Anastasia, this is the real stuff....
Published on 23 July 2012 by Real erotica

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story of love and obedience...
The much better written and much more exciting version of 50 shades... has a very disappointing end through and the reviews for the second book aren't great so I think I'll the leave rest to my imagination. Definitely worth a read though!
Published 19 months ago by megan elizabeth


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still incomparable, 23 July 2012
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
If there's any justice, the success of 50 Shades is bringing the focus back on this classic.
Did it all, said it better than anyone else years ago.
Few have improved on it. Drop dead Grey and Anastasia, this is the real stuff....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!!!, 6 July 2010
By 
Helen Dixon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
Loved this book, just saddened that it ended so 'unfinished' and that the reviews for the follow up of this book are all pretty negative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, sexy, dangerous and beautiful., 22 Aug 2010
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
Well,... stumbled on this one a while ago and I suppose I've no choice but to call it pornography, but that sounds a bit low-brow. If there's such a thing as literary pornography, then this is where the story of O fits. You need to be open minded here - the themes of BDSM are adult in the extreme, but this story also touches the human condition. It will haunt you, it will arouse you, and and it will make you think. O will touch you! Truly a classic, and should be read by all open minded adults who are not afraid to venture over to the dark side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary and explicit tale of enslavement and bondage., 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story of O (Hardcover)
The story of "O" is an an extraordinary and explicit pornographic novel presenting a montage of sexual mistreatment, bondage, whips, masks and chains. Pauline Réage, the author, was a pseudonym for Dominique Aury, an eminent literary figure in France.

The Story of O relates the enslavement of a young and beautiful Parisian fashion photographer, O, by a secret society in a chateau, where her body is ravaged and exploited. As she learns her duties she is put in chains, whipped and branded; any man may use her as he wishes.

This is not a book for the faint hearted, but its beautifully written, elegant and disapassionate prose takes much of the sting out of the subject, and the book offers a powerful evocation of a woman who is willingly enslaved, understanding that the harsher the treatments she endures, the more she is ennobled by her enslavement and the more she proves her love for her master. This english translation is much more euphemistic than the original and very earthy french, but overall the translation is faithful to the spirit of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I got totally lost in this book., 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
If you are looking at these reviews then you are obviously interested in erotic novels. You won't be disappointed by this time tested fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars intriguing, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story Of O (Kindle Edition)
I found this book intriguing, a guilty pleasure. Not the kind of book I would normally read but the way it is written makes it fascinating. I recommend this book, unfortunately I have been unable to find an equivalent. Everything else in the category seems to lack something as this book is sensual and erotic rather than smutty. Why have cotton when you can have silk?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very, Very, disturbing, 9 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Story of O: 001 (Paperback)
I have just finished the book not more than 5 minutes ago, and I am in a state of shock. The way O gave up everything for her lover, even her individuality, was frightening. The men never gave anything but token displays of love, and she was satisfied in that. She is the image of what women should not be. This book will definately make you think about how much is too much to give up for love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Must Read This!, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
This is the first modern book of its kind. Buy it and enjoy. In many ways however it is outdated by more recent writers such as Kristina Lloyd, Stella Black and John Helmer. This is a great gift idea for the uninitiated though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how it should be done., 23 May 2013
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
It May go a bit too far for many of the fifty shades fans but closer to the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down, 5 Sep 2007
By 
Sarah Lakey "SL" (Newquay, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Story Of O (Paperback)
This is a book which I had often heard of but never really come accross. Afer starting the book i found i could not put it down as it is just so entertaining. At first you think what on earth? Why is this woman allowing her lover to treat her like this? As soon as you carry on reading it soon becomes obvious just how complex this character is. As a fan of all gothic like books this is the best one by far. Sometimes the language can get a bit confusing as it is not that clear but you soon become accustomed to this and really become engaged with the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Story Of O
Story Of O by Pauline Réage (Paperback - 30 Jan 1976)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews