Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

283 of 285 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Correction of a false statement, 3 Dec 2004
By 
D. Brodsky (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Dictionary of Etymology (Hardcover)
This is the first review I have written, but I felt it necessary to correct a false statement in another review, particuarly since 28 of 32 people found the review (which gave the book only 1 star) helpful. Specifically,
QUOTE A lot of the words don't go back to the real origin. "Street' for example is said to be derived from the Latin "Strata" or "paved road", when the Latin actually comes from the Semitic, "Serat" for "straight road".UNQUOTE
Semitic "Serat" (also Arabic "Sirat") comes from Latin (via Greek as an intermediary) not the other way around as asserted by the reviewer. There is simply no doubt about this. As pointed out in the Chambers Dictionary, "Strata" is the past participle of the Latin verb STERNERE ("to lay down", "to spread out") which shares a common INDO-EUROPEAN origin with the Germanic root which is the basis of English STREW. I have not seen ANY etymological dictionary that has a different explanation, and I have consulted authoritative ones in English, French, Spanish, Italian and German. In English, this origin is confirmed by, among others, (i) the Oxford English Dictionary, (ii) the American Heritage Dictionary of Indo-European Roots.
A second comment of the same reviewer was
QUOTE The dictionary also lists many languages that use a specific word without telling us about the source of the word, which is what etymology is about.UNQUOTE
In fact, my impression is that the Chambers Dictionary gives far more information than other comparable etymological dictionaries in terms of the ultimate roots of words. Taking a word at random, for "make", Old English macian is traced back through Old Saxon makon to Proto-Germanic *makojanan from the Indo-European root *mag-. It is also shown to be cognate with Old High German mahhon, Old Frisian makia, Greek magenai ("to be kneaded, be molded") and mageus ("baker"), Old Slavic mazati ("anoint"), among others.
The Chambers Dictionary is one of the best I have seen, particularly in view of its not unreasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource., 20 Jun 2007
By 
T. Holmewood (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chambers Dictionary of Etymology (Hardcover)
This is an excellent etymology dictionary. If I could sum it up with a single signifier, it would be CLEAR!

I compared this with the OED in-store and found that the clarity of entries - definition, history - in the Chambers by far exceeded that of its competitor - especially its minimal use of abbreviations (of which the OED was laden). Not only does the perspicuity of its entries place it above the OED, the Chambers' clear typeset, complimented by its leaf quality, elevated it even further over that of its ugly other, whose use of some obscenely obscure Romanesque font really didn't flatter its crude sheets of recycled Financial Times.

I would strongly advise this for those who are untrained in linguistics and/or philology. The OED retails at twice the price of Chambers, and from my perspective is 'clearly' inferior. This reference book will - for a long time to come - have its place by my bedside.

OED = Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an informative reference explaining how words originated, 19 Dec 2000
This review is from: Chambers Dictionary of Etymology (Hardcover)
This is an impecably researched book and makes fascinating reading. It explains how the words we use today originated and when.
My only criticism of the book is that it has adopted American spellings of words in certain cases, e.g. smolder, rather than smoulder.
But it is competatively priced against the other etymology dictionaries. So, you pays your money and you takes your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy companion, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Simon Barrett "Il penseroso" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chambers Dictionary of Etymology (Hardcover)
Etymology can be a source of endless fascination; at 66 I'm still making discoveries. This volume, despite its American bias (it's really the Barnhart Dic'y of Et'y), is the the best on the market (it certainly knocks poor old Onions into the shade). Mine's the '88 edition (xxvii, 1284p). Quicker and more reliable than the web, scholarly and endlessly entertaining, if you love words you need this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chambers dictrionary of etymology, 8 July 2010
By 
Stewart Conway (nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chambers Dictionary of Etymology (Hardcover)
A comprehensive work which recognises the close connection of english to Friesian and dutch, something that is sadly missing in many other works of this kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Pastime !, 27 Feb 2009
This review is from: Chambers Dictionary of Etymology (Hardcover)
This book is equally useful (and endlessly fascinating) to the serious researcher as to someone simply interested in words, where they originate from, and particularly to those who love the English language.
In way of entertainment it beats any TV programme currently running!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chambers etymology, 11 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Dictionary of Etymology (Hardcover)
I chose this book on etymology above the oxford edition purely on other reviews and am not sorry I did so. It is an excellent tome, a perfect partner for my chambers dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a dictionary, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Dictionary of Etymology (Hardcover)
This is a dream book for wordsmiths who like to know where words come from and how they have reached comtemporary usage. Ordinary dictionaries pale in comparison. Every user of words should have a dictionary of etymology!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well received, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Dictionary of Etymology (Hardcover)
Bought as Xmas present for my daughter as she is very interested in the origin of words and their use. She is very pleased and I know it will be well thumbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the joy of words, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Chambers Dictionary of Etymology (Hardcover)
Great value, and fascinating to delve into e.g. without it I'd never have known that the words adder, apron, umpire and nickname all share an unusual linguistic feature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chambers Dictionary of Etymology
Chambers Dictionary of Etymology by Chambers (Ed.) (Hardcover - 6 Aug 1999)
Used & New from: 18.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews