Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final solution
This book is absolutely marvellous when you have filled in all you can in a crossword. Should not be seen as cheating but as learning once you are finally stumped. Of course you have to have filled in some words first. The Completer is divided into two halves: alternate even letters and alternate odd letters. You are stuck on a word say .p.s.o.a. Look this up in the even...
Published on 3 Oct 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as its predecessor
I'm a big fan of Chambers. I've got 7 of the 12 editions of their dictionaries (and I'm hoping to get the current edition for an upcoming birthday), I have Chambers Words, Chambers Backwords, Chambers Word Lists, Chambers Word File, Chambers Anagram Solver and this - the 2001 edition of the Crossword Completer. I'd used the 1995 edition of Completer happily for several...
Published on 20 Oct 2011 by Chris Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final solution, 3 Oct 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Hockley, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Completer (Paperback)
This book is absolutely marvellous when you have filled in all you can in a crossword. Should not be seen as cheating but as learning once you are finally stumped. Of course you have to have filled in some words first. The Completer is divided into two halves: alternate even letters and alternate odd letters. You are stuck on a word say .p.s.o.a. Look this up in the even letter half of the Completer and you will have to select which of the list of words that match this pattern is the one you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as its predecessor, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Completer (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Chambers. I've got 7 of the 12 editions of their dictionaries (and I'm hoping to get the current edition for an upcoming birthday), I have Chambers Words, Chambers Backwords, Chambers Word Lists, Chambers Word File, Chambers Anagram Solver and this - the 2001 edition of the Crossword Completer. I'd used the 1995 edition of Completer happily for several years until this edition came out. I then bought this and gave the earlier one to my daughter.

Big mistake.

The 2001 edition is not an upgrade it's a retrograde. It seems to me that it has fewer of the more difficult words. And using it is not as easy on the eye - the word lists are harder to scan than those in the 1995 edition.

Having said that, this book is fine for finding most words that come up in crosswords. But if you're searching for the more esoteric words that you only find in the tougher crosswords (Azed, Beelzebub, Inquisitor, Listener, Mephisto, etc) then this one is really not adequate.

At one time books such as this had very little competition. Then electronic word solvers came on the market, and they keep getting better and better. The one I currently use is the Seiko 9000 Oxford Reference Library (also known as Seiko N681) - pricey but very fast (quicker and easier than searching through a book), pocket-sized and light to carry, searchable on a variety of criteria (anagrams, as well as completer mode - and you don't need alternate letters), and with a very good vocabulary. But there are still some words which you can't find with an electronic device but are found in Chambers.

So I've just ordered a replacement 1995 edition of the Crossword Completer from an Amazon reseller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as required, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Completer (Paperback)
Prompt delivery, and timer works extremely well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ChambersCrossword Completer, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Completer (Paperback)
My copy of this book had collapsed, this was the book I wanted replacing, so that was why I ordered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful book, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Completer (Paperback)
I used my old book so much, it fell apart, so had to acquire another copy. This one is in constant use, so no doubt will have to get a third one in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossword fiend., 22 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Completer (Paperback)
The above says it all really. These books are like an old friend. It is wonderful to replace them when worn with a less worn reasonably priced copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CROSSWORD COMPLETER, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Completer (Paperback)
THIS IS A VERY USEFUL AID TO SOLVING CRYPTIC CROSSWORDS AND OTHERS. I ALREADY HAD THIS BOOK WHICH HAD FALLEN TO BITS AND NEEDED ANOTHER AS IT IS INVALUABLE. THIS BOOK I ORDERED WAS SECOND-HAND BUT IN GOOD CONDITION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vital aid, 5 Sep 2010
By 
J. Stabler (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Completer (Paperback)
This book is very helpful in the later stages of solving a crossword. If you have completed alternate letters this gives you the options for the missing ones. If heavily used the pages start to fall out, which is why I bought a copy, to replace my old one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Completer (Paperback)
this is our second copy of this book. we had an earlier version that got used so much it fell apart! This is a really good aid for the crossword fanatic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The word-hunter's compendium, 12 Oct 2009
By 
P. Taberner "morseman" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Completer (Paperback)
Crossword fans and word searchers often have alternate letters missing and need to fill the gaps. There are electronic devices you can use to scroll through an alphabetical list to find every possible word with the appropriate number of letters. But the eye and brain can scan much more quickly than the hand-held devices, so looking down columns of words on pages will reveal the possible answers far more quickly than the mindless gadget can display them on a screen. The major downside to a printed word finder is that you can't have two adjacent letters missing; it is exactly what it says: an alternative letter listing. The thin paper pages may wear out, but it doesn't need batteries and the keys don't stick!
Having used earlier editions of the Chambers book in addition to the electronic alternatives, it still fills an essential gap in the workshop of the c*u*i*e*b*l*s*t.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chambers Crossword Completer
Chambers Crossword Completer by Chambers (Ed.) (Paperback - 17 Sep 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews