Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential bible for Scrabble players at all levels
An easy-to-use ultimate Scrabble adjudicator. This fourth edition now reflects all new words in line with the latest edition of Chambesr dictionary and lets players get on with the delight of the game without resorting to argument over word acceptability. But as well as an arbiter, it's a great book for dipping into to pick up some seful words to play. My copy is already...
Published on 21 Jan 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble Dictionary
There are too many official versions so it is updated quickly to sell more books rather than help scrabble players, They could post an addenda change for each year on the net. It would help those who did not want to be paying out for new books.
Published 6 months ago by MR R CONDUIT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential bible for Scrabble players at all levels, 21 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Chambers Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
An easy-to-use ultimate Scrabble adjudicator. This fourth edition now reflects all new words in line with the latest edition of Chambesr dictionary and lets players get on with the delight of the game without resorting to argument over word acceptability. But as well as an arbiter, it's a great book for dipping into to pick up some seful words to play. My copy is already riddled with highlighter and I find fresh exotic words to impress opponents everytime I flick through it! The list of the essential two's and three's with definitions in the appendix serves to persuade newer players that, yes, those strange combinations are indeed real words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrabbl-istically brilliant!, 10 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chambers Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
A comprehensive book which will help the novice to the expert. Whether you are starting at Scrabble or looking to become word-champion use this resource to find out those feindish words that will help you get those extra points. Very useful for those two-letter words ch, st, jo, ee and the other 100-osdd two lette words. This can tell you those words that start with q without a u! There are some! Very educational aswell!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for the addict, 13 May 2009
By 
YASMIN OLINS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chambers Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
We play scrabble daily, and this 'book of words' is invaluable. Not only can it settle disputes, it broadens our word power. The only downside is that no descriptions or explanations are available, but we always have a dictionary on hand as a supplement. This is our second copy, as we wore out the first! As a shortcut, we sliced the two and three letter word section out of the old copy so that we can flip to it easily. We couldn't do without this book now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble words, 5 April 2009
By 
Mr. G. Howden "Geoff" (Debyshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chambers Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
If you are a real Scrabble afficionado or if you want the widest choice of words to use, then the Chambers book of Official Scrabble Words is probably not the edition for you. There is a wider selection of words in the Collins counterpart. Also at the time of writing, the edition has not been as recently updated as the Collins.
Where Chambers scores, however, is in the handy sections for two and three-letter words at the back. Lets face it, if, like us, you work to the edict 'if its in the book, its valid', then it doesn't really matter whose book you use as long as you use the same one consistently. This is especially valid when you realise that most of the additional words in Collins that I have come across seem to be very obscure indeed. There are a lot of them and it can be very educational. However, beware: if you go for Collins, you'll want the dictionary as well as there are so many words you'll be desperate to know the meaning of - and they don't appear in the Oxford English!.

Ideally, I would like to see the Collins edition with a two and three-letter word section: then we're cookin' with gas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Scrabble aid, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
This replaces the exact same book which fell to pieces due to overuse!
It is very goo condition - although smelling strongly of smoke - and arrived promptly within the time stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble book, 7 Mar 2014
By 
DM Jamieson "Never too Late" (Oxsring, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
The transaction was seamless, it was delivered on time, the book is of some help when playing scrabble,if you are expecting it to do the job for you it doesn't, but it's fun trying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Upwords, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Running a old peoples group, they find this book a must. I have to admit that I find it very useful too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Fantastic to get a much needed book at that price.It was the wifes favourite christmas present+Thats all folks thanks and goodbye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble Dictionary, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
There are too many official versions so it is updated quickly to sell more books rather than help scrabble players, They could post an addenda change for each year on the net. It would help those who did not want to be paying out for new books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chambers official scrabble words, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Great book for the word games my husband and I love playing. Difficult to get hold of now and no new updates available, so delighted to get hold of this copy.
Efficient and speedy delivery on the item. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chambers Official Scrabble Words
Chambers Official Scrabble Words by C Schwarz (Paperback - 1 Aug 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews