Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Crafts
I bought this book as a present but ended up reading it myself. what a gem. It has lots of interesting snippets of information which whet the appetite and start one off on a craft idea. I am going to follow some of them up and now look for further how to do information. It makes a wonderful bedside or coffee table book.Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills
Published on 27 Nov. 2010 by B. Kergon

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crafts in Brief
I bought this because I work as a voluntary helper in a Museum of Country Life and am occasionally asked questions on subjects I know little about, and so this handy reference is ok, if a little superficial, and lacking further explanatory illustrations after an original one; the description of clog making, for instance, needs further illustration, especially pictures of...
Published on 28 Aug. 2010 by John Grimbaldeston


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crafts in Brief, 28 Aug. 2010
By 
John Grimbaldeston (Preston, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills (Paperback)
I bought this because I work as a voluntary helper in a Museum of Country Life and am occasionally asked questions on subjects I know little about, and so this handy reference is ok, if a little superficial, and lacking further explanatory illustrations after an original one; the description of clog making, for instance, needs further illustration, especially pictures of the various tools of the clogger. It is, though, nicely produced and wittily written, and in the most part complements the exhibits and their interpretive panels and so serves its purpose for me: it is just a little thin on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not enough of the good stuff, 17 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills (Paperback)
i used the 'look inside' device to check out this books contents but could only see as far as the list of chapters...going on that alone i expected it to be chock full with expert advice and techniques. sadly it wasn't; it was merely a brief description of each skill and a very basic couple of lines for the method used. i would say this is not really sufficient for those who want to give any of the crafts a thorough go. for example, 'canal boat painting' gives a little blurb about its origins and mentions a few styles but there's no step by step 'how to do it yourself', i looked it up online and there's so much more detailed write-ups there and better pictures. this is essentially a reference book for someone who just wants to see what crafts are out there and whether or not they have a desire to do further independant research. i liked it nonetheless and enjoyed dipping in and out, but i was left unsatisfied by the lack of attention to detail. my advice is dont spend the cash if you're expecting to recieve a guidance manual but do if you're a total novice and just fancy some light informative reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Crafts, 27 Nov. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills (Paperback)
I bought this book as a present but ended up reading it myself. what a gem. It has lots of interesting snippets of information which whet the appetite and start one off on a craft idea. I am going to follow some of them up and now look for further how to do information. It makes a wonderful bedside or coffee table book.Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Crafts - Una McGovern, 14 April 2011
By 
J. Mason "Wit and Wisdom" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills (Paperback)
This book is a lovely volume with lots of the old skills that we are in danger of forgetting e.g. how to build a wattle and daub wall, bee-keeping etc.
I definitely recommend it if you are interested in self-sufficient living, history, or just finding out about how people used to live. While it could do with expanding on some entries, a description and a means to find out more is always given - the book is not a complete guide to each craft but more of an introduction and you can find out more on the crafts that interest you using the recommendations of places, books and websites that are thoughtfully included at the end of each entry.
I love it; I think you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lost crafts, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills (Paperback)
Book came down fast, has a lot of subjects inside although none are explored in depth, which is a real shame, merely informing you with a paragraph or two, good book, but could be a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills (Paperback)
A wide selection of skills, and trades. A very, I would call enchanting book to navigate through.
If you are looking for more in depth knowledge you will need to move on to another source to expand your skills.
As a basic reference this book works well and covers a lot of ground
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY - Very Dissapointing!, 31 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills (Paperback)
Terrible book. The information is lacking, no where near enough diagrams, barely a reference book for you to then go searching for real information on the subjects. Incomplete, poorly written/edited, not well enough illustrated by a long shot.

After this book, I would not even consider giving any other Una McGovern book a first glance, never mind a second one.

Very dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and practical:ost crafts! L, 14 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills (Paperback)
I have purchased this for my husband for Christmas and know he is going to love it! It's very detailed but still accessible with plentiful illustrations. Who knows perhaps we'll be making candles, wooden hurdles and our own cheese before we know it!!! Good for armchair craftsmen too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 16 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills (Paperback)
What an amazing book. All the lost crafts you ever dreamed about and more are in this book. I found this extremely interesting and useful and my young grandson equally so. It has woken new interests for him.Fully reccommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lost Craft Dictionary, 1 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills (Paperback)
After looking at the reviews for this book I was really looking forward to finally reading it, finding out valuable information about lost crafts, and hints and tips on how to practice them. Unfortunately I found neither and this book has to go down as probably the worst book I have bought on Amazon.

If you want a dictionary on definitions of lost crafts then this book provides the very limited information you require. If you are after information on how to practice any of the lost crafts described in the book then you will be bitterly disappointed.

Apart from making a good door stop this book is definately one to avoid!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills
Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills by Una McGovern (Paperback - 26 Jun. 2009)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews