Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thesaurus (n) dictionary, lexicon, wordbook, wordfinder, vocabulary, synonym, encyclopedia, storehouse, repository, treasury
It's actually quite interesting. You know the way you look up a word in a dictionary, then you see something else and you end up sat there for 20 minutes just reading stuff you didn't know before? This thesaurus is a bit like that. For example, I just looked up "Thesaurus" to put a title to this review, and I've just sat here and read a list of therapies on the same page...
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by J. C. Chamberlain

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Thesaurus
Shame on you Chambers! This Thesaurus is most disappointing. It is quite unbelievable that the publishers of the SUPERB Chambers Dictionary could come up with such a flop. The cross-referencing system is extremely poor and the range of synonyms leaves a lot to be desired. The book itself is a lot more difficult to handle in spite of being one third smaller than its...
Published on 27 Jan 2011 by P. de Sousa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thesaurus (n) dictionary, lexicon, wordbook, wordfinder, vocabulary, synonym, encyclopedia, storehouse, repository, treasury, 7 Feb 2009
By 
J. C. Chamberlain (Manchester, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Thesaurus (Hardcover)
It's actually quite interesting. You know the way you look up a word in a dictionary, then you see something else and you end up sat there for 20 minutes just reading stuff you didn't know before? This thesaurus is a bit like that. For example, I just looked up "Thesaurus" to put a title to this review, and I've just sat here and read a list of therapies on the same page (acupressure, acupuncture, Alexander technique...). There are these boxes of information all around the thesaurus giving supporting information in tables and sentences.

It's alot more in depth than the pocket thesaurus i've had for years, with plenty of related words on its 1127 pages. The explanation of the 'Features' and 'Structure' of the Thesaurus at the front is short and snappy and easy to refer to. There's no huge foreward, just the facts. The typeface isn't as small as the same edition dictionary, so it's easier to read than a dictionary.

The edition I bought, the one on this page published in 2004 is a match to the The Chambers Dictionary 10th Edition, both the same size/shape with matching covers and I'm very pleased to own them both, a perfect pair on my shelf.

I recommend this thesaurus wholeheartedly, completely, enthusiastically, emphatically, warmly, heartily, passionately, sincerely, genuinely, unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most fun i've had out of a Thesaurus in ages!!, 9 July 2009
By 
A. HILL (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chambers Thesaurus (Hardcover)
I just got this the other day and first impressions are that it's excellent.
Usual quality design and ease of use is what you expect from Chambers.
Text is done in a black bold style for each word which is very easy to thumb through.
In fact shame they don't do a thumb index for this Thesaurus but this is a small complaint because the book is near perfect. What I like more than anything else is that it's been created with a lot of fun and humour. I love the little proverbs and quotations throughout as well as the handy lists that tell you things like every type of thread used. Genius!! You never know when you might need to know something like that. By far the best Thesaurus around. Go buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Thesaurus, 27 Jan 2011
By 
P. de Sousa (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chambers Thesaurus (Hardcover)
Shame on you Chambers! This Thesaurus is most disappointing. It is quite unbelievable that the publishers of the SUPERB Chambers Dictionary could come up with such a flop. The cross-referencing system is extremely poor and the range of synonyms leaves a lot to be desired. The book itself is a lot more difficult to handle in spite of being one third smaller than its companion Dictionary; unlike the Dictionary, you struggle to keep the Thesaurus open in the page you are consulting on account of the type and thickness of the paper and, presumably, also the kind of binding used. It is indeed a bit of a con.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Chambers Thesaurus, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Chambers Thesaurus (Hardcover)
The Chambers Thesaurus is excellent.. However I would have appreciated it if on the sales literature it had stated that it was in actual fact in A to Z form..
Which I required..

Over the past number of years we have been using the Collins Thesaurus A to Z and found it had an awful lot of ommissions which caused various problems the Chambers Thesaurus has a greter number of collective words and is a great asset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crossword helper, 28 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Thesaurus (Hardcover)
Huge improvement on the paperback predecessor. Far more extensive (twice the size) and much greater detail including supplementary colloquial/formal and additional preposition added related meaning alternatives. As a hardback hopefully more durable than my old paperback which had gone far beyond sticky tape and glue repairs. Given the above, very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chambers Thesaurus, 27 Aug 2009
By 
Lee Faber "fablee" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Thesaurus (Hardcover)
In my opinion, this is the best thesaurus on the market. I have now had three and I use them until they literally fall apart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Chambers Thesaurus, 11 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. O. B. Glover (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chambers Thesaurus (Hardcover)
The Chambers Thesaurus is most disappointing and I have reverted to using my very old paperback Roget's. The book is made to look the same as their brilliant dictionary, but with 2x thicker paper, larger font size, much much more unprinted paper area, it has only about one third of the entries. It's a bit of a con!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Thesaurus (Hardcover)
Exactly as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Evaluation of Chambers' thesaurus., 20 May 2010
By 
Mr. MJ MCGINTY "Fairdeal Books" (Bath, N.E.Somt.,U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chambers Thesaurus (Hardcover)
As a devotee of English, communication in
general and a crossword compiler I find my somewhat elderly 'Roget' more user-friendly - for all its failings.
Without resorting to a tedious list of examples, I would suggest that the two main failings are the lack of a full cross-referencing system and an incomplete range of synonyms.
M.J.McGinty, Bath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chambers Thesaurus
The Chambers Thesaurus by Chambers (Ed.) (Hardcover - 26 Jun 2009)
Used & New from: 30.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews