Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much improved
I find this dictionary to be the best available. Much better than my previous edition (hardback) of the Chambers and better than the Bradford which can be a pain with its refusal to separate into word lengths.
Published 21 months ago by Dr John Martin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary
Bought for my mum, she is not impressed as the unusual words which are not in her vocabulary are also not here.
Published 21 months ago by Thomas Ross


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much improved, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Paperback)
I find this dictionary to be the best available. Much better than my previous edition (hardback) of the Chambers and better than the Bradford which can be a pain with its refusal to separate into word lengths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My go to book for Cryptic Crosswords, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Paperback)
Fabulous companion for people who like cryptic crosswords. I'm just starting out and this book is the one I go to first and is invaluable to help me solve the grid. It is my first choice book as the printed version has the "answers" in length order first. For cryptics I feel is more useful because often for a bits'n'pieces clue I find myself looking for a 2 or 3 letter word for something in the wordplay.

I also have the Bradford's Crossword Solver's Dictionary which is also good and sometimes has additional words in but the "answers" are in alphabetical order, if I were to just have one printed book I would choose the Chambers. Bizzarely though the Kindle version of the Bradford book the "answers" are ordered by the number of letters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you are serious about cryptics , buy it., 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Paperback)
This is the best friend of any crossword solver.Simply superb.If you haven;t got one you are not serious about cryptic crosswords.
Buy one now if you like cryptics.No other thesaurus can compare .I'd been struggling and after I purchased this book , my level of solving soared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now as good as the opposition, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Peter Biddlecombe "peterbiddlecombe" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Paperback)
I owned the (2000) first edition of this dictionary and thought it was some way behind the similar one produced by Anne R Bradford. Now the two are pretty much equal, based on a quick look at a copy I've owned for one day. The list of rivers is now trimmed so that extremely unlikely ones like Guadalquivir are not listed, and the information for each headword seems roughly the same amount as Bradford, though there are differences in what is and isn't there. This one is a bit more helpful when you know the word-length you need. Everything in this book is sorted first by word length, but some content in Bradford is in dictionary-style alpha order instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Paperback)
Very helpful for crosswords and very informative. The Chambers crossword book is good value for money. Very pleased with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossword Addicts, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Paperback)
If, like me you are a puzzle addict, then this book is a must have. Thank you it's brilliant. C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Paperback)
This is a perfect crossword companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Paperback)
Excellent replacement for my old concise version, which was rather out of date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossword Dictionary, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Paperback)
As an avid crossword afficionado, I have really enjoyed using Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary. Thank yoiu for your excellent service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars surely the very best of crossword dictionaries, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Paperback)
This really is the bees knees as far as crossword dictionaries go. I should know, my 2 previous dictionaries fell apart through use (and I'm still no better at crosswords!) It's quite a heavy item, so no use to take to the beach, but is good on word lists and is easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary
The Chambers Crossword Solver's Dictionary by Chambers (Ed.) (Paperback - 31 Aug 2012)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews