Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chambers Dictionary 2008 edition
The Chambers Dictionary
The Chambers Dictionary is the absolute authority for all crossword enthusiasts, both setters and solvers, and players of word games. It is important to have the latest edition, since Chambers are constantly updating the content. This eleventh edition contains over 1000 words that were not in the 2006 version, yet still retains rare literary...
Published on 13 Feb. 2009 by Shirley Curran

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference but getting too big to handle
We've used the Chambers dictionaries for many years - a favourite for helping to solve crosswords. The specification for the current edition makes clear that it is significantly larger than it's predecessor. It turns out that the book exceeds the height dimension by 4mm which makes use of our handy shelf impossible - a minor irritation, but the new dimensions could be a...
Published on 1 Jan. 2011 by aecr


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An essential reference book for any shelf, 21 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary, 11th edition (Hardcover)
A 1st class reference book, at a very attractive price, and essential for full coverage of our colourful language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossworders Friend, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary, 11th edition (Hardcover)
I bought this for my Daughter who is an avid crossworder. It's a large and heavy tome and is in use every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Chambers Dictionary, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary, 11th edition (Hardcover)
Excellent value. Delivered promptly. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary, 11th edition (Hardcover)
great service and book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present for a friend whose first language is not English, 8 April 2010
By 
Dr. Martin Bligh (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary, 11th edition (Hardcover)
I have had Chambers Dictionary at home for very many years. My young friend was delighted to receive it as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, 5 Nov. 2009
By 
Lily (Wales, U.k) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary, 11th edition (Hardcover)
What can I say, a dictionary is a dictionary. This one is great however. Plenty of info and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chambers Dictionary, 11th edition
The Chambers Dictionary, 11th edition by Chambers (Hardcover - 22 Aug. 2008)
Used & New from: £13.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews