Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chambers Dictionary 2008 edition
The Chambers Dictionary
The Chambers Dictionary is the absolute authority for all crossword enthusiasts, both setters and solvers, and players of word games. It is important to have the latest edition, since Chambers are constantly updating the content. This eleventh edition contains over 1000 words that were not in the 2006 version, yet still retains rare literary...
Published on 13 Feb 2009 by Shirley Curran

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference but getting too big to handle
We've used the Chambers dictionaries for many years - a favourite for helping to solve crosswords. The specification for the current edition makes clear that it is significantly larger than it's predecessor. It turns out that the book exceeds the height dimension by 4mm which makes use of our handy shelf impossible - a minor irritation, but the new dimensions could be a...
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by aecr


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chambers Dictionary 2008 edition, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Shirley Curran (Gex, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Hardcover)
The Chambers Dictionary
The Chambers Dictionary is the absolute authority for all crossword enthusiasts, both setters and solvers, and players of word games. It is important to have the latest edition, since Chambers are constantly updating the content. This eleventh edition contains over 1000 words that were not in the 2006 version, yet still retains rare literary and historical words.

The eleventh edition is graced by a foreword by Jeremy Paxman who comments, with his usual erudition, on the contents of the new version.

There is also a valuable short history of English and a useful section on the varieties of English. Here, differences are highlighted, like the pronunciation of the letter r in the final position of a word and before a consonant, in Canadian and American English.

This user-friendly text has sections on first names, phrases from foreign languages and a wealth of other useful information like the temperature conversion table and a list of planetary satellites.

Undoubtedly this is the leading dictionary today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent content but unclear font, 1 Mar 2009
By 
P. TURNER - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Hardcover)
The very best dictionary, especially for cryptic crosswords: includes every word you'd ever meet, plus many more. The eleventh edition has adopted a sans-serif font, which successfully crams more words into each line and enables greatly increased content for only a small increase in physical size. It is more difficult to read, but not so much as to worry anyone who used it moderately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for word enthusiasts, 27 May 2009
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Hardcover)
Chambers is sometimes derided for what makes it unique: it contains a vast amount of obsolete words and spellings of existing words. It even contains things that it admits it isn't quite sure are words, or which might have been misprints in Shakespeare plays. But these are the things that make it stand out in the dictionary market. The lexicographers and editors should be applauded for preserving our linguistic heritage.

Chambers is THE essential dictionary for anyone who wants to attempt the advanced cryptic crosswords in the weekend newspapers - you can't manage without it, as this is the reference source used by all the top setters. This 2008 edition comes with a free 6 month subscription to Chambers Reference Online, which gives access to the full dictionary on the move, plus a Chambers Thesaurus and other materials.

To sum up, it's a weighty tome and if you're looking for a basic dictionary, you're probably looking more at something like the Concise Oxford. But if you're a linguist or crossword solver, Chambers is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needs must !, 29 Jan 2009
By 
Brian Haydock (Cheltenham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Hardcover)
My crossword puzzle hobby requires that I have the latest Chambers dictionary.This is it, and there's not really anything more to say; Chambers is the best - and stands up best to years of daily use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chamber Dictionary, 28 Aug 2009
By 
David J. Scillitoe (New Milton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Hardcover)
This dictionary is the best that I've found. I've been buying Chambers dictionaries for the last 20 years and they get better with each edition. This edition is a weighty tome, but well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN ON-LINE, 9 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is as good as it gets outside paying for the on-line Oxford English Dictionary. Clear and amusing. Only draw back is the weight! Could have used thinner paper but good if you want to strengthen your arm muscles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My word for the day, 23 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Hardcover)
Splendiferous. I have bought this dictionary so as to increase my vocabulary - it is said that the quality of your thoughts is directly related to the language that you use. As such, I feel it only right to have more language at my command! I go through the book until I come to a word I haven't seen before, and I highlight it, then aim to use it in conversation later that day. The first word I came across was 'Aardwolf'. Basically like an aardvark, but slightly cooler. It made for a great conversation piece that day.

Not exactly an engaging plot, but still an excellent book - with very few spelling mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Value, 26 April 2009
By 
Jeffrey Redshaw "Jeffandi" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Hardcover)
We have been using the same old dictionary for years, as writers, readers and puzzlers this Chambers Dictionary has opened a whole new world of words. The only dictionary you will ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best!, 20 Feb 2010
By 
G. Shaw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Hardcover)
OK, the typeface may have changed and be a little more difficult to read but, in my opinion, this is still the No1 dictionary of choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary, 25 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Hardcover)
I know this I item will be well used as it was a present to my mother on her 80th birthday, as she loves doing crosswords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chambers Dictionary
The Chambers Dictionary by Chambers (Hardcover - 22 Aug 2008)
Used & New from: 23.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews