Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dictionary. Very comprehensive.
We usually use the Concise Oxford Dictionary but I bought this version to keep on the bookshelf. It's obviously going to be more comprehensive than a 'concise' version, but even so, I really like this new dictionary and am pleased to have it as an addition to the family reference selection. Beware though - it has all sorts of profanities included - as my teenage sons...
Published on 11 Mar. 2013 by Person expecting good service

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars do you really need a thumb index?
It's a great dictionary but why did I think I needed a thumb index version? I know my alphabet and don't even look at the indents to find a word - they just make the edges of the pages a bit like holey cheese. Also shame about the lack of the name meaning section in earlier versions and why put the reference pages in the middle of the dictionary?
Published on 18 Feb. 2012 by wrightonabike


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Chambers Dictionary, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Thumb-Index) (Hardcover)
Being a crossword fanatic The Chambers Dictionary is the perfect daily companion for me. I need to think of a way to keep the pages in pristine condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Thumb-Index) (Hardcover)
Bought a s a Christmas present, recipient delighted as it is so comprehensive. Would definitely recommend this dictionary to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Thumb-Index) (Hardcover)
The best dictionary there is bar none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Thumb-Index) (Hardcover)
Very useful indeed. Like the layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chambers Dictionary (Thumb-Index), 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Thumb-Index) (Hardcover)
A proper dictionary, beautifully bound, full of useful information too - made a superb Christmas present for a avid crossworder!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 July 2014
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Thumb-Index) (Hardcover)
Very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE book of words, 4 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Chambers Dictionary (Thumb-Index) (Hardcover)
The fact you can't put it in your pocket is what makes using this book so pleasurable. Its physical presence is a constant reminder of the value of words, with the possibility of stumbling across a cryptic witticism. At last my other half has ammunition for throwing away my track suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chambers Dictionary (Thumb-Index)
The Chambers Dictionary (Thumb-Index) by Chambers (Ed.) (Hardcover - 26 Aug. 2011)
Used & New from: £88.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews