Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This latest edition is smaller, not necessarily better, but still very good., 31 Oct 2011
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy (Paperback)
A few years ago I gave a review of the first edition of this book, which at the time of writing this review is still available.
The new edition is smaller than the original, with a plain no-frills style cover. I have to say I preferred the original, which fitted in with the other Chambers Skills for Life books.

A smaller book means the font size is also smaller, which isn't so good if you have any degree of visual impairment. If you are giving this to someone who is nervous about Maths and is looking for an excuse not to do it, 'the print is too small' may give them the excuse they need.

Here's my original review, slightly edited to reflect my thoughts on the new book and the fact that other books have appeared on the market since it was written.

I bought this as I am an adult literacy and numeracy tutor and wanted a book I could recommend for extra home study to my students - this is an excellent choice.
Starting from scratch, the book gives clear, practical examples of numeracy problems and takes the student through them step by step.

The book contains lots of interesting facts that makes numeracy come alive for the student- if you've ever wondered why zero Fahrenheit is so far below zero Celsius, this book gives a possible explanation.

Plenty of examples are given in the areas learners seem to find most challenging- for example, how to calculate ratios and metric conversions.
The book is broken down into easy to find, meaningful sections that broadly map to the Adult Numeracy curriculum, starting with whole numbers and ending with data. Illustrations are plentiful, generally clear and helpful although the small print size means that you may sometimes strain to read the labelling on diagrams, for example.

There are several useful appendices, containing tables and the old/new favourite, a learning styles questionnaire.

If you are wanting to study at home to pass the National Tests in Numeracy and prefer paper-based materials to studying on the Internet - or perhaps there are no dedicated numeracy classes in your area - this book is very much written for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Sep 2012
By 
Leah (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy (Paperback)
This book is really easy to follow which is what I need and it explains everything the easy way am really pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforwardly written, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy (Paperback)
This is a great book for those who struggle with maths. It is easy to read and follow, and really helps you to understand everyday maths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy (Paperback)
So pleased I bought this guide, I've had a fear of Mathis for years and never really got to grips with it at all, I'm slowly going through the book in my own time, no pressure to get things right!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent condition and very helpful, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy (Paperback)
This is helping me through my QTS examinations, it is written brilliantly... it is easy to understand. The packaging was excellent and it arrived in perfect condition. Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product and service., 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy (Paperback)
A good guide for adult numeracy learners and their tutors.

Basic numeracy skills are now a requirement across a variety of learning environments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars verdict, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy (Paperback)
As a mature student positives of this book are that it was easy reading down to the basics, facts and clear explanations. on the negative the wording was small and handling the book you definitely need a bookmark. Overall a good edition to assist adult learners in numeracy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent....Value for money....Great!, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy (Paperback)
Excellent, detailed and easy to understand. I am happy i bought this book. I strongly recommend this book for anyone. Whatever your age and level, you can understand this book. Get it for yourself as an adult and for your children that are struggling with maths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy (Paperback)
Really useful book for teachers too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy
Chambers Adult Learners' Guide to Numeracy by Geoff Mainwaring (Paperback - 30 Sep 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews