Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More words than any other single-book competitor
I wanted to find out the meaning of the word "mommet" that crops up in Hardy's "Tess of the Durbevilles". I looked through increasingly large versions of the Oxford English Dictionary, and only found it eventually in the two-volume Shorter Oxford. However, when I turned to my Chambers Dictionary, it was right there.
The point being, Chambers' style of categorising...
Published on 10 Dec. 2003 by J. Knight

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary
Unfortunately a few of the pages were missing but in general it will suit the purpose it was bought for.
Published 24 months ago by R E HOPE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars INVALUABLE, 7 Mar. 2015
By 
D. Smith "David Smith" (surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Chambers Dictionary is far and away the most useful, accessible and clear dictionary for general and crossword use. I have had one for years. I bought this one for my 13 year old granddaughter who wanted to learn more about the magic of words. Although this is not the most up-to-date edition, she keeps it on the floor beside her bed (it's a bit heavy for most book cases!) and looks at it when she's bored with computer games/social media.... anything to help with the love of words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dictionary to beat them all, 8 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this dictionary to replace a 1971 Edition and I am very happy with it.
Suitable for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hardback Chambers Dictionary, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The dictionary is in excellent condition. Lots of new words too. I'm having pleasure just browsing. At a fantastic price as well. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My spelling Bible., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never have any regrets when buying a dictionary, 'especially a Chamber's'. It is used daily and is permanently open upon my desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best dictionary, 6 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this to anyone. It is the most useful one and easiest to understand of all of the ones I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spelling, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this dictionary. It's the same as other dictionaries. I can't think of any more to say about it. lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately a few of the pages were missing but in general it will suit the purpose it was bought for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very clear, very thorough, very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasury of Memorable Definitions, 3 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
Chamber's Twentieth Century Dictionary was first published in 1901, under the industrious editorship of Thomas Davidson. The dictionary was to become the recommended source for crossword puzzles because of the inclusion of obsolete, dialectical and Scottish words in its extensive lexicon. Dictionary fans loved the quirky and individualistic definitions which were started by Davidson and continued by later editors. William Geddie, in his preface to the 1962 edition, commented on these amateur lexicographers. 'Scores of users have sent in single words and lists of words. We have not accepted all their definitions. One was disappointed not to find myristicivorous, feeding upon nutmegs, a word to which we grant this place on the doorstep but still deny admission to the dictionary.' The Rev. Thomas Davidson served with the Edinburgh firm of Chambers for 17 years over the turn of the century. He was a clergyman by profession, but spent much of his life in literary work, particularly in editing reference works. In 1914 he took up the charge of a church in south Ayshire, and he died in 1923 at the age of 67.
After Davidson's departure from Chambers his post was filled by the brothers William and Liddell Geddie, who supervised and carried out editorial work up to the greatly refashioned edition of 1952. The Geddie brothers, noted for their whimsicality as well as their scholarship. were responsible for a number of unconventional definitions, among them William's picturesque baby-sitter - 'one who mounts guard over a baby to relieve the usual attendant', and Liddell's famous definition of éclair - 'a cake long in shape but short in duration'. Miss A M Macdonald, assistant editor under the Geddies and subsequently chief editor of the 1972 edition, realising that the dictionary was now being increasingly used by 'English learners', especially in the emergent countries, was inclined to take a somewhat critical view of some of her predecessors' flights of 'innocent merriment', hence the modification, even the disappearance, of some of the old favourites. Not surprisingly, the gibe in Davidson's new woman - 'a name applied, especially by scoffers in the late 19th century, to such women as actively sought freedom and equality with men'. One definition, in a prewar supplement, had a very short life: vamp - 'a featherless bird of prey'.
Some of the unique definitions to be found in earlier editions of Chamber's Twentieth Century Dictionary were noted in correspondences to The Listener in 1979.
middle-aged - 'between youth and old age, variously reckoned to suit the reckoner' charity begins at home - 'usually an excuse for not allowing it to get abroad' kazoo - 'a would-be musical instrument' jay walker - 'a contemptuous word applied to careless pedestrians by motorists who have to avoid running them down' Land o' the Leal - 'the home of the blessed after death - heaven not Scotland' sea-serpent - 'an enormous marine animal of serpent-like form, frequently seen and described by credulous sailors, imaginative landsmen and common liars' noose - 'a snare or bond generally, especially hanging or marriage' end-reader - 'one who peeps at the end of a novel to see if she got him' double-locked - 'locked by two turns of the key, as in very few locks, but many novels' ghost word - 'a word that has originated in the blunder of a scribe or printer - common in dictionaries' The editors of the latest edition of the Chambers Dictionary (1998) state in their preface - 'Those many users who have enjoyed the uniquely witty definitions of Chambers (eg éclair) will be pleased to find that we have added some more.' In his monthly slip, the crossword setter Azed, himself a lexicographer, has indicated the absence of identify as well as the placing of oblong before Oblomovism, and has suggested the definitions of the following as humorous entries in the current edition - bafflegab, Jacquard loom, and perpetrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chambers Dictionary: Thumb Index
The Chambers Dictionary: Thumb Index by Larousse Kingfisher Chambers (Hardcover - 4 Aug. 2003)
Used & New from: £3.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews