Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I guess it's cheating but not like looking up the answers!
This has only been road tested with the Telegraph crosswords but its performance is impressive. Hundreds of additional solutions achieved this year.
One is left wondering "how on earth did they do it? - assemble such a comprehensive collection?"
Sits well alongside The Chambers Dictionary.
Published on 5 Nov. 2008 by PeterG

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars words, words ,everywhere.
Years ago my grandfather had a crossword dictionary. I expected this to be simliarly laid out. But it wasn't. I had bought the book for my aged mother, who found the book rather heavy to pick up. The older book was alphabetically listed in words of 1 up to 14 letters. Easier to look up, whereas this one has a word....and then words of different letters for its meaning. I...
Published on 1 Jan. 2010 by Isobel M. Burks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I guess it's cheating but not like looking up the answers!, 5 Nov. 2008
By 
PeterG (NE England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
This has only been road tested with the Telegraph crosswords but its performance is impressive. Hundreds of additional solutions achieved this year.
One is left wondering "how on earth did they do it? - assemble such a comprehensive collection?"
Sits well alongside The Chambers Dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legitimate cheating for those who want answers!, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
A. Duncan (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
I suppose it would be best for our brains if we sat and thought up synonyms for each part of every clue, but for those of us who don't have THAT much time, this weighty volume is packed full of useful stuff!
The book is easy to use, with good sized print, and organises synonyms by number of letters in the word, making it easier and quicker to home in on possible solutions. Builds skill through making word connections not previously thought of.
Hopefully the robust hardback binding will cope well with endless use!
Excellent! Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exellent purchace, 28 Sept. 2010
By 
Pamela Eustace "horsemadgran" (Oxford England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
I bought this book for a friend's birthday and he was thrilled with it'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Big Red Book, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
Highly recommended. This book gives lots of alternatives for words together with the word count essential for Crosswords. A great tool to use for help in answering Crosswords. It would be great if this was available as an app, but it's not at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful crossword dictionary.., 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
I have been searching for this for a very long time. My copy wa\s literally falling to pieces and I was delighted when I actually found a new copy of it. Thank you Seller. I would deal again with you. Mrs J M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... lot of crosswords and have found this dictionary the best. It has the words set out in length ..., 22 Aug. 2014
By 
Ms D. Lake "Diana" (Derby England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
I do a lot of crosswords and have found this dictionary the best. It has the words set out in length so that it is easy to find the one to fit your clue. My last one eventually fell apart from overuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE one for Crossword Junkies, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
I bought this for my Daughter who is a crossword junkie. She does crosswords every day and this dictionary is never put back on the bookcase. It's in use all the time. She is delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential book for the crossword addict, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is an essential volume for the crossword solver. It is clearly set out , in alphabetical order and number of letters, making it easy to cross-reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have the same dictionary, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
I have the same dictionary since last six years and would like similar one by Bradford ANN PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF YOU HAVE SIMILAR BY OXFORD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chambers Crossword Dictionary (Hardcover)
I use this more now than the ordinary Dictionary. I don't know how I managed to
solve the Crosswords before I found this volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chambers Crossword Dictionary
Chambers Crossword Dictionary by Hazel Norris (Hardcover - 16 Oct. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews