Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars11
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2011
A beautiful book crammed with 'facts' about the origin and meaning of all the fascinating sayings, idioms and magical stories one learns from being a child through to adulthood and that one repeats, without thinking of how they came about. I've had hours of enjoyment already just dipping in and out; a reference work that's an everyday read too.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
I bought this book after reading some advice on how to solve a cryptic crossword ( also purchased from Amazon). I find however that Brewers is so informative and interesting that I spend more time reading it than using it for solving crosswords. A really great buy and a great time waster!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
Quite interesting. Random facts. Browsers paradise. Well, I never knew that!
I bought this in response to an article about reference books becoming obsolete with the rise of on-line information. It's a pleasure to have and has provided many an interesting fact. It scores high in the "well, I never knew that" stakes. Buy one and enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
A huge compendium of collated phrase and fable. You can spent hours perussing the pages of this book, finding out fantastic information about everything you can and can't think of! it is a hub of interesting facts and knowledge, this book is amazing for gleaning information to inform life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
This reference book gets you hooked. You can dip in and out of it to find the origin of a particular story or character. Alternatively you can browse through it and lose many hours as you easily become engrossed. Useful for teachers or literacy students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
This hefty tome more than lives up to its reputation - it is fascinating, enlightening, and apparently endlessly amusing. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Really interesting. I always end up browsing the facinating entries rather than looking up just one thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
This was bought as a Christmas gift for a friend's father and he loved it and isw always referring to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Uncle enjoys it, says it is something u dip into and find amazing things
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
A very useful reference book which has not disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)