Customer Reviews


11 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brewers Phrase and Fable, 17 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) (Paperback)
A beautiful book crammed with 'facts' about the origin and meaning of all the fascinating sayings, idioms and magical stories one learns from being a child through to adulthood and that one repeats, without thinking of how they came about. I've had hours of enjoyment already just dipping in and out; a reference work that's an everyday read too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good read, 14 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) (Paperback)
I bought this book after reading some advice on how to solve a cryptic crossword ( also purchased from Amazon). I find however that Brewers is so informative and interesting that I spend more time reading it than using it for solving crosswords. A really great buy and a great time waster!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars QI, 11 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) (Paperback)
Quite interesting. Random facts. Browsers paradise. Well, I never knew that!
I bought this in response to an article about reference books becoming obsolete with the rise of on-line information. It's a pleasure to have and has provided many an interesting fact. It scores high in the "well, I never knew that" stakes. Buy one and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is amazing for gleaning information to inform life!, 27 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) (Paperback)
A huge compendium of collated phrase and fable. You can spent hours perussing the pages of this book, finding out fantastic information about everything you can and can't think of! it is a hub of interesting facts and knowledge, this book is amazing for gleaning information to inform life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cannot put it down!, 11 Jun. 2012
By 
Mrs. Alison J. Butler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) (Paperback)
This reference book gets you hooked. You can dip in and out of it to find the origin of a particular story or character. Alternatively you can browse through it and lose many hours as you easily become engrossed. Useful for teachers or literacy students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific!, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) (Paperback)
This hefty tome more than lives up to its reputation - it is fascinating, enlightening, and apparently endlessly amusing. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) (Paperback)
Really interesting. I always end up browsing the facinating entries rather than looking up just one thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fact Book, 18 Feb. 2012
By 
David Jezard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) (Paperback)
This was bought as a Christmas gift for a friend's father and he loved it and isw always referring to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars says it is something u dip into and find amazing, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) (Paperback)
Uncle enjoys it, says it is something u dip into and find amazing things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) (Paperback)
A very useful reference book which has not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition)
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (18th Edition) by Chambers (Ed.) (Paperback - 29 Oct. 2010)
Used & New from: £13.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews