Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of historical info wrapped up in an exciting adventure
Having read the first book in this series - A Mutiny in Time - my sons were really pleased when they saw that this book was available. They also read this really quickly and, like its predecessor, it sneakily provides a whole host of historical facts in the guise of an exciting adventure.

This adventure sees the kids in Paris...and the Vikings are attacking en...
Published 20 months ago by A. Milne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still running on novelty
This is the second in the series, which combines historical events with science-fiction. My son struggled with the first one as he felt there was inadequate back story. This second book continues straight on from the first and so this is still missing. The books are too focussed on the gimmick of linking it to a website. They are nicely designed but the writing is...
Published 15 months ago by Andrew Dalby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of historical info wrapped up in an exciting adventure, 14 May 2013
By 
A. Milne "themilnes" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having read the first book in this series - A Mutiny in Time - my sons were really pleased when they saw that this book was available. They also read this really quickly and, like its predecessor, it sneakily provides a whole host of historical facts in the guise of an exciting adventure.

This adventure sees the kids in Paris...and the Vikings are attacking en masse. Things really don't look good - can they save the day again? This book has a little more gory detail that the first book but my sons weren't phased. To be honest, if your kids read Horrible Histories and that sort of thing then this, hopefully, shouldn't be anything that they can't take in their stride.

If I'm brutally honest then I would say that I find the characters in the book pretty stereotyped. However, the kids didn't seem to mind this at all and they even go so far as to say that they really like the characters in the book, so who am I to argue? Once again, once you've finished the book you can go onto the Internet and play on-line which, (of course!), the boys loved and which is a real bonus of this series.

Overall, once again I'm impressed by the historical knowledge that this book imparts without the kids really realising that they're actually learning. This series seems really well thought out so far and I, and more importantly the young readers in the family, are big fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect read for young adventurers., 11 April 2013
By 
I. Mcintosh "Ian Mc" (Great Yarmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Infinity Ring Dived and Conquer is the second book of the Infinity Ring Series. I got this book for an 11yr old boy who after reading the first book, Mutiny in Time was absolutely desperate for the second book.

In this story, Dak, Sera and Riq have been sent back in time again but in this adventure they find themselves in the time of the Vikings right in the middle of the invasion of France. When Dak is captured by Vikings, Sera and Riq still in Parisian walls have to fight from within the walls but whatever happens, none of the kids can win.

This excellent book has a lot of interesting content for young adventurers.

If you enjoyed the first book, Mutiny in Time you will defiantly like this one, each chapter ends in a cliff hanger always making you want to read more.

Infinity Ring Dived and Conquer also comes with a code to unlock the online PC game .

I've already ordered the next one from Amazon, The Trap Door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second book in the series...., 13 Oct. 2013
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed this book as much as the first....The adventure continues quickly on from the last encounter....The group of friends must continue to try to save time by fixing any rips in it...Dak is still trying to find his parents and the SQ are hot on their heels.....This is a great series of adventures.....anything that has Hystorians as heroes has got to be good......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and sneakily educational, 25 Sept. 2013
By 
Fiona Millar "cookiemum" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This second instalment in the Infinity Ring series sees Dak, Sera and Riq in Paris in the year 885, just in time for a Viking invasion! The three kids have to work out exactly what they should, or shouldn't, be doing in order to fix the break in time. Although the characters are still very much secondary to the historical plotting, I found them more likeable in this story, and the story flowed more smoothly and more enjoyably. The online game is a great addition to the story, and overall it's a wonderful way to get kids really interested in history, and also good for making them think how easily things could be different given an alternative twist of fate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10 year old loved this!, 2 April 2014
This review is from: Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I work in a primary school and got this to give to a 10 year old boy who had read the first one (the best book he'd ever read) and asked if there were any more. Now he was not very specific but to be honest if a 10 year old boy will beg for a book I think someone is on to a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still exciting., 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Lily (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Following on from Book 1, this story sees a return for the friends and their mission to fix the past with help from the time travel Infinity Ring. This time, the story is set in the year 885ad. Set in medieval Paris which is under attack from Viking marauders. Like the previous book, readers are given the opportunity to read the book, solve puzzles within and then log onto the website and play the game. Each book is tied into the next one. Suitable for readers age 10+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The exciting adventure continues..., 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Stella (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second book in the Infinity Ring series which started with A Mutiny in Time (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring)

A Viking invasion in Medieval Paris this time and just as exciting as the first story! I love how the story is woven around Historic events seamlessly and really brings it all to life. Very quick to get to the action this time as most of the world building and character development took place in the first book but lots of little bits added here and there to fill out Dak, Sara and Riq's characters and backstory.

There's a code to try out the online game that accompanies the series and I haven't activated that or tried the game yet but from the little I saw it looks engaging so I'll probably get around to giving that a go at some point too.

Book three is already ordered to see where it's all headed from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still running on novelty, 2 Nov. 2013
By 
Andrew Dalby "ardalby" (oxford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second in the series, which combines historical events with science-fiction. My son struggled with the first one as he felt there was inadequate back story. This second book continues straight on from the first and so this is still missing. The books are too focussed on the gimmick of linking it to a website. They are nicely designed but the writing is formulaic and it doesn't make the most of what is a novel concept. So I cannot give it more than an OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of A Trillian Books, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
IN this second book of the Infinity Ring series, the young Hystorians are in medieval Paris, working together to fix a time break that could alter the future. These books are great for science and history loving pre-teens and are packed full of action and adventure. There is also an Internet based adventure game that links each book in the series - the code for which is provided with each book - which adds an extra element to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enough is Enough, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The second `Infinity Ring' book dispenses with background as `Divide and Conquer' follows on from `A Mutiny in Time', but it is set in the time of the Vikings. Again the 3 main protagonists are Dak the history buff, Sera the mathematical and science genius, and Riq the fluent multi-linguist. Again language is simple and sometimes colloquial, and again the action is roller-coaster but jerks from one experience to another without explanation. The story failed to excite me, but hopefully there are other attractions for young readers. Books are written by various authors and this is obvious from the only 2 I've read, with the characters developing differently. Enclosed in a pouch in the front cover is a leaflet relating to an on-line computer game with a code number to allow participation after logging on to infinityring.com. The books alone are `average' and hence 3-star rating - but I won't be pursuing the story any further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring)
Divide and Conquer (Infinity Ring) (Infinty Ring) by Carrie Ryan (Hardcover - 6 Nov. 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews