Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darth Vader as you've never seen him before...
I'm a 'take-it-or-leave-it' kind of Star Wars fan. I enjoy the films, my son collects the Lego, I've played a few computer games, I saw Empire Strikes Back at the cinema the first time around - you get the picture. I'm certainly not a Star Wars Universe compulsive-obsessive with an encyclopaedic knowledge of facts about the inner workings of the Jedi Council, but this...
Published 15 months ago by D. Thurgood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Force is kinda luke-warm in this one
This is one of those items of Star Wars merchandise which you can't help feeling came about towards the end of a long product meeting at Lucasfilm HQ. A 3-D book about Darth Vader's suit is a bit niche, to say the least.

The book is nicely put together, using thick cardboard and good quality printing. Each page presents a further layer of Vader's equipment...
Published 19 months ago by CJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darth Vader as you've never seen him before..., 21 Mar 2013
By 
D. Thurgood "dan.tee" (Liverpool Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) (Board book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm a 'take-it-or-leave-it' kind of Star Wars fan. I enjoy the films, my son collects the Lego, I've played a few computer games, I saw Empire Strikes Back at the cinema the first time around - you get the picture. I'm certainly not a Star Wars Universe compulsive-obsessive with an encyclopaedic knowledge of facts about the inner workings of the Jedi Council, but this book delighted me and my 8 year old son from the first page to the last.

It's basically a cut away drawing book, with the die-cut pages making up the 'layers' of Darth Vader's android construction. There's loads of detail about the technologies used, shortcuts taken, and even personal notes from the medical droids who performed the life saving surgery and augmentation on what was left of Anakin Skywalker after his near-fatal battle with Obi-Wan Kenobi on Mustafar. (ok, I'm a little bit of a Star Wars geek...)

I don't think this book is really aimed at the super die-hard fan described above, but for kids and normal dads, it's groovy. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know nothing about Star Wars but this is good., 25 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) (Board book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Good idea. Do a book about Darth Vader and give details of the character and display him in three d form. Looks good to me and I am sure some Star war fans would like this book. It is well made and easy to follow. Shame I am not a fan, but regardless I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Force is kinda luke-warm in this one, 18 Dec 2012
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) (Board book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of those items of Star Wars merchandise which you can't help feeling came about towards the end of a long product meeting at Lucasfilm HQ. A 3-D book about Darth Vader's suit is a bit niche, to say the least.

The book is nicely put together, using thick cardboard and good quality printing. Each page presents a further layer of Vader's equipment and suit in general, with notes throughout to give some insight into how it all works. Hypothetically, at least, as obviously the whole endeavour is made-up.

This makes the book difficult to rate. It's great to look at, but like a number of other Star Wars reference books, what do you do with it after an initial read? At least with those books detailing the technology used in starships, weapons and so on there was some use in seeing how it all fits together across the Star Wars universe. But by focusing on one character here, it all boils down to pretty pictures and they are very limited.

So in summary, for the price it's a good book, especially for kids who are Star Wars fans. But I don't think it will hold interest for long and will then just look very much like the cash-in that it probably is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book for the Star Wars fan, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. J. R. Trinder "jacktrinder" (Chester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) (Board book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been a Star Wars fan since the 1997 special editions (forgive me I was born in the late eighties) and I requested this book of Amazon Vine because it sounded quite fun. This book is one of those spin off books that pretends that the Star Wars universe is real and this is 'found information', I'm making it sound a bit silly but actually it's quite fun. This 3-D reconstruction log is a large hardback cardboard book that page-by-page brakes down the different parts of what make up Darth Vader's suit and how it helps him survive, right from what makes up his mask to the point of the disco buttons on his chest. It's fairly simple look but a great deal of creativity has gone into this as it justifies why Darth Vader looks like he does, right down to his cape. One thing I love is the the medi-droids comments such as 'we had to do this cheap as the Emperor didn't spring for a better knee joint' (I'm paraphrasing there). Like I said it's a nice fun book to give to a Star Wars fan and with Christmas coming up it would be a good stocking filler. Adults will find the deconstruction quite interesting and children will love the 3-D depth to the book. Saying that this book is now on my coffee table and every time I have friends round they love turning the pages to see the many parts of Darth Vader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the geek in your life, 2 Nov 2012
By 
sam155 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) (Board book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is very good quality: glossy with thick pages and precision cut pieces that, when closed, give a pieced together layered picture of the complete Darth Vader.

Page by page, We see the change from Anakin Skywalker to Darth Vader, with each limb and sinew detailed in glorious technicolour.

For those who enjoyed the last few scenes of Revenge of the Sith, this book explains in detail what the film shows so swiftly. From being burnt and barely alive, Anakain is transformed into the figure that is more evil than good, more cyborg than human. this book is almost a "manual" for how that was done!

An excellent book, recommended from ages 8 to 120.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Force is Strong, 16 Oct 2012
This review is from: Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) (Board book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a cleverly made children's book that gives an insight into some of the ideas that went into the construction of the galaxy's greatest villain, the Sith Lord, Darth Vader himself. The thick card book is made with transparent sections set into the pages that can be flicked through to journey through the stages of Anakin Skywalker's cybernetic reconstruction. Each layer gives a detailed overview of the mechanical elements that were integrated with his human parts in order to transform Episode 1/2/3's hero into 4/5/6's baddie. Not as in depth as some of the DK children's books out there, but this is a lot shorter and more of a visual guide. Good fun for the little Jedi in your household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only for the diehard fan., 4 Oct 2012
By 
Peter J. Hewitt "history fan!" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) (Board book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
this is a good book but it's only for the diehard fan and would really only be a couple of reads. Younger children may struggle with some of the terms used, but i gave it 4 stars as it does give lots of information on how Darth Vaders suit works, how it keeps him alive, and the double sided 3D bits are really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Star wars Fans young or old, 1 Oct 2012
By 
Dr Phibes "Dr Phibes" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) (Board book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
3 D Reconstruction Log Darth Vader RRP 9.99.

I love this book, an absolute must for any star wars fan for their collection both young and old alike.

Every page is hard /rigid with full colour illustrations and text. Is quite large 12 x 11 inches, a child will hold in two hands. As you turn each page a layer of Darth Vader is revealed. So from the 3D image on the cover you see a tradition image of Darth Vader but by page 20 you are down to the skeleton. Each revelation has accompanying text of the cybernetic technology etc and I just know my 9 year old is going to love this book.

Book recommends ages 8 and up. Would make an ideal stocking filler this christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darthtastic, 26 Sep 2012
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) (Board book)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fantastic book which my Star Wars obsessed six-year old has been poring over all weekend. The book is simple in it's design, each page contains info on Darth on the left side of the book while the whole right-hand page is made up of transparent film. Every page turn strips a layer off Vadar. Brilliantly simple and effective.

A real must for Star Wars Kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive guide to Darth Vader, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) (Board book)
At long last a book that reveals the inner workings of Darth Vader's life support system is written. For nearly thrity years the more detailed aspects of his life support system are explained in this publication. It was well overdue and we owe the writer a debt of gratitude. Episode 3 left so many questions unanswered. Now the circle is complete. How the suit and the mask work is fully explained and rightfully so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic))
Darth Vader: A 3-D Reconstruction Log (Star Wars(Classic)) by Daniel Wallace (Board book - 6 Sep 2012)
10.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews