Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars excelent book
excelent book good price and good service for delivery
good love story and i recon to be read by who loves this kind of books
Published 4 months ago by GRATIELA PINTEA

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its an okay read
expected more and not long enough really but an okay love story only read it because Madonna had read it
Published 9 months ago by sarah edwards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars excelent book, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ade: A Love Story (Hardcover)
excelent book good price and good service for delivery
good love story and i recon to be read by who loves this kind of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ade' - a love story, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ade: A Love Story (Hardcover)
Beautifully written - I would have liked it to be longer though, and the plot developed a little bit more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful tale that stays with you, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ade: A Love Story (Hardcover)
I loved this book. One of the reviews of it on the back said that it does more than read like a memoir, it reads like truth. This is true. Rebecca Walker has a flair for the truth, the quiet wonders of reality; I will carry with me for a long time the image of Ade feeding 'Farida' sweet noodles. I sat in a cafe reading this book and happily weeping - it is entertaining, thought-provoking, wondrous and filled with love. And inspiring... I am this close to quitting my job, packing my bag and going off travelling to places that are unknown to me but which I could, like 'Farida', love with all my heart. Shout out to my girl Madonna for recommending it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut novel!, 17 Nov 2013
By 
P. Jedrusiak (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ade: A Love Story (Hardcover)
Adé: A Love Story, is a debut novel by the critically acclaimed American author Rebecca Walker. It's a story of two young American girls departing on a travel adventure around Egypt and Africa. Whilst in Kenya, one of them falls in love in a young Swahili man and abandons her friend on the onwards journey. She takes a bold move of getting lost in the newly discovered emotions. At first, all seems idyllic, with Farida learning the new language, getting familiar with the locals' way of living and eventually planning her wedding to Adé. And all of it in the context of a sensual closeness to her very locally popular fiancé. But then something strange happens. Farida gets very ill and almost loses her life. In the end, she is being flown over back to America, where her cerebral malaria and a rare meningitis could be properly treated. She leaves her lover behind.... And never returns.

The novel is quite short, just over 110 pages and reads on a breath. Walker's language is easy to follow and her narratives very believable. Her love story is convincing and ground breaking in how she pulls together two very different people in a rather unusual circumstances. Race, religion, habits and believes are all tumbled together and serve in an uncommon but very natural way. It is interesting how Walker has ended the novel, keeping your mind wondering in thinking of how Farida and Adé's lives would unfold, had she never fallen ill. She allows the reader to write the next chapters in their own minds.

The novel has been heavily backed up by Madonna who have recommended it to her fans through her social media channels.

Congratulations Rebecca. We're waiting for more.

Rebecca Walker is an award-winning writer and lecturer, named by Times magazine as one of the most influential leaders of her generation. She is the author of the memoirs BLACK, WHITE & JEWISH and BABY LOVE, and the editor of the anthologies TO BE REAL, WHAT MAKES A MAN, ONE BIG HAPPY FAMILY and BLACK COOL. Her writing has appeared in Bookforum, Newsweek, Glamour, Marie Claire, the Washington Post, Vibe and Interview, among other publications and literary collections.

Photographs & cover art by Amanda Marsalis
Cover design by Gabrielle Bordwin

[...]
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its an okay read, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ade: A Love Story (Hardcover)
expected more and not long enough really but an okay love story only read it because Madonna had read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ade: A Love Story
Ade: A Love Story by Rebecca Walker (Hardcover - 29 Oct 2013)
Used & New from: 1.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews