Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2012
The collaboration here, of two of Europe's finest ornithologists, (note the names, and investigate?) has produced a fine bird guide - up there with the best. The illustrating plates, the text, the maps, the layout - the feel of the book - is nothing short of first class. Thoroughly deserving a place on the 'top table' of guides of recent times. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Have noted a heavily annotated edition lying around the Springwatch 'studio', more than once - nuff said?

P.S. Given the price tag- £7.50 inc pp, April 2012 - this publication represents unbelieveable value.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Written by the same author as the Collins Guide.

I find the layout here much better, the print is slightly larger, the distribution maps are also slightly larger.

There are fewer illustrations of each species than other guides, generally one in flight and one of the bird standing. This makes the pages a lot less cramped and less confusing.

Similar species are grouped together for comparison so you don't have to flick between pages.

Covering a slightly smaller area than the Collins guide (it doesn't include North Africa or the Middle East) this is the guide I will go to first when trying to identify a species.

I bought a near mint copy on Amazon Market place for £2.81. Bargain!!!
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
This book clearly shows all the birds that are ever likely to be found in the UK and Europe. The pictures (paintings, not photographs) enable easy identification, and the text provides a complete description.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Nice size, well laid out, easy to use with good illustrations. My only criticism is that it's not easy to pinpoint locations on the distribution maps, especially coming from Australia with a not-too-good geographical knowledge of Europe.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
Not the first book to come up in searches, but quite rightly well recommended, no regrets.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've been looking for a decent portable guide to fit into my scope back-pack ("CleySpy Mule") as the two mini-guides I've owned let me down in the field. This one is proving to be excellent and I only wish I'd found it years ago. The Collins guide might well be the best one out there for home use but this one is a true field guide with excellent identification artwork and a very engaging written style for the descriptions. First class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Good info and illustrations, not quite up to the collins guide, but good enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Very comprehensive, clear maps and pictures,handy size.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Super quick delivery, very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
I liked this book, well priced, good layout, easy to use and a handy size for pocket or car, however while reading reviews for it, some reviewers discussed the merits of Collins Field Guide (Birds of Britain and Europe by R. T. Peterson) I also bought this and would consider this the definitive reference book and the one to buy.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)