Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy
I would definitely recommend this book to a novice astronomer. It explains in simple terms what you're looking at in the sky, and how to find the most famous star constellations. I discovered a lot of things that I had no idea existed. It even gives advice on what telescope to buy, which is a big help if you're looking to buy a telescope for the first time.

A...
Published on 9 Nov 2008 by S. Davidson

versus
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rather brief guide
I bought this book as I wanted a guide to get me started in simple astronomy before I commited to buying a telescope, but for me this book was just too basic.

It contains a good overview of how to start finding your way around the stars and constellations at different times of year, but contains little desciption of what they are. The explanations are easy to...
Published on 24 July 2009 by L. Inskip


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 9 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy) (Paperback)
I would definitely recommend this book to a novice astronomer. It explains in simple terms what you're looking at in the sky, and how to find the most famous star constellations. I discovered a lot of things that I had no idea existed. It even gives advice on what telescope to buy, which is a big help if you're looking to buy a telescope for the first time.

A plain and simple guide to the stars in the sky. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Guide, 3 Sep 2009
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy) (Paperback)
I would highly recommend this book to any amateur astronomer. An excellent guide to the night sky.
You can rely on Sir Patric Moore for a good but simple explanation to the main stars and constellations of the starlit sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective, 15 July 2010
By 
Mr. J. F. Verma "V" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy) (Paperback)
As the title suggests this book is simplistic, but this does not affect the quality. An excellent introduction for those that haven't covered astronomy before, or have looked up on the occasional clear night and wondered what all the constellations are, it details some basic formations and what movements cause them.
Patrick Moore's writing as usual is easy to understand, a thoroughly good read and an excellent foundation for what is a fantastic hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars trip the light fantastic, 27 Oct 2009
By 
J. G. Futers "Wee Geordie" (Peeblesshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy) (Paperback)
Patrick Moore's "Guide to the Night Sky" is written in his no-nonsense easily understood prose. Simple enough not to put off the younger reader but with enough content to satisfy the more mature.
While the booklet won't break the bank and is primarily what its' title says: it includes descriptions of the Solar System, the Sun and Planets, Stars, stellar distances and even hints on buying a telescope.
A good "pocket" guide, with simple illustrations and photos, it can be read as a guide or used as a quick reference with sections covering constellations and the night sky for each of the seasons.
It's a handy companion to the Philip's Planisphere Philip's Planisphere: Northern 51.5 Degrees - British Isles, Northern Europe Northern USA and Canada (Philip's Astronomy)
The Philip's "Guide to Stars and Planets",Guide to Stars and Planets (Philip's Astronomy) also by Patrick Moore, fills in many of the gaps in the "Guide to the Night Sky"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir pattrick moore, Guide to the night sky, 30 May 2010
By 
C. Richards "JMR" (March, Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy) (Paperback)
I read this book within an hour, very informative, and easy to understand the relevant constellation, and planets. Explains the movements of the Moon, and names of Constellations,i.e. Casseopia, Ursa major, Ursa Minor, Triangulum. A must for first time buyers of a telescope and easy understanding of the night sky. Northern Hemishpere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rather brief guide, 24 July 2009
By 
L. Inskip "goon fan" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy) (Paperback)
I bought this book as I wanted a guide to get me started in simple astronomy before I commited to buying a telescope, but for me this book was just too basic.

It contains a good overview of how to start finding your way around the stars and constellations at different times of year, but contains little desciption of what they are. The explanations are easy to understand and very concise, but there is little in the book to inspire or excite. The chapter on buying a telescope is has some good tips, but is not enough for you to make a properly informed descision.

I appreciate this is one of the cheaper books on offer and is not meant to be a full guide to astronomy, but I was hoping for something to get me excited about taking up astronomy. If you are looking for the same, I recommend spending a little extra on a more descriptive book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very easy reading, 12 Jan 2010
By 
R. Toma (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy) (Paperback)
It's a beginner's book, but I still find it quite useful. It clearly explains how to get around on the night sky based on the season. Maps are quite easy to understand while keeping the amount of information low with concise explanations. It also presents a lot of characteristics for the stars and planets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stars For Starters, 6 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy) (Paperback)
Sir Patrick offers this huge subject in a most easily digestible way. Well worth the low cost ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - simple and imformative, 21 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy) (Paperback)
A great read for the budding new astronomer just like my wife and I. Great explanations of our solar system, time scales, lunar phases and the planets. What is a light year, well you'll get to find out in this read. A brilliant first book, well written and a steal at the price. . . . . steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star hopping starter guide, 5 Feb 2013
By 
M. A. Ledger (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy) (Paperback)
I bought this as I am new to astronomy, and needed something to help me navigate the night sky. This book is ideal because it doesn't overwhelm the beginner with Messier or NGC objects; rather, it introduces constellations season by season, and shows how to get from one to another. This basic knowledge is an essential foundation upon which amateur astronomy is built. Once you know roughly where to look, THEN you can start looking for faint fuzzies, planets, etc. You could, of course, cheat, and go straight for a scope with a go-to mount, but then when your battery fails, you still won't know where to look. More satisfying is KNOWING where to look, and this book will create that first level of familiarity with the stars that will allow you to progress to a deeper knowledge. Plus, it's written by Patrick Moore - much better than a computer gizmo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabacf624)

This product

Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A Guided Tour of the Stars and Constellations (Philip's Astronomy)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews