Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of color pictures, 2 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philip's Guide to Gems, Stones and Crystals (Paperback)
The next best thing to having the real thing is to have good pictures of the item. And this book is loaded.

Th book is well organized and has information from where to find the gems and pictures of their natural forms to ha to make the best cuts. We get chemical makeup and their history of trade.

An added plus is a section on organics such as pearl, shell, coral, and amber.

I am using this book to help determine what I am looking at on online auctions.

Gemstones (Smithsonian Handbooks)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars identification, 15 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to Gems, Stones and Crystals (Paperback)
A very useful little book for identification of both polished and rough stones. Enough detail. Small enough to carry about. I use it as part of a collection of books on stones; it's always good to have several.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good reference guide for beginner and the images are stunning, 23 Jan 2013
By 
At Woolley "ATW" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to Gems, Stones and Crystals (Paperback)
Very good reference guide for beginner and the images are stunning. I use this regularly with Jeweller's Directory of Gemstones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my teenage niece, 1 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to Gems, Stones and Crystals (Paperback)
A nice simply first guide to gems and good value. Bought for my teenage niece who is getting into real gemstone jewellery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of a book, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to Gems, Stones and Crystals (Paperback)
Good book explains well giving good details and information about each item - very useful for precious and semi-precious gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXELANT BOOK, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to Gems, Stones and Crystals (Paperback)
This is a really well lade out book .Easy to follow ,good photos for myself and my grandson who is very interested
in gem stones as I myself am
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Informative Little Volume, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to Gems, Stones and Crystals (Paperback)
Excellent little volume for the beginner like me. Clearly identifies gems by colour type (so, for example, if you are trying to identify a blue gem you can look quickly at the page for blue-type gems), and then contains individual entries for each which give history, mineralogy, uses, and a table of specifications. Each individual entry also includes photos of the most commonly found cuts of that particular gem for easy identification. Also includes a cursory entry on biologically produced materials such as mother-of-pearl, abalone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 13 Sep 2010
By 
S. M. Williams (Abergavenny) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to Gems, Stones and Crystals (Paperback)
This little book is ideal for the novice stone collector. It is compact and very informative. I didn't know that emeralds were Cleopatras favourite gem or that they are a "healing" stone - I do now!
Well done and thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e8deef4)

This product

Philip's Guide to Gems, Stones and Crystals
Philip's Guide to Gems, Stones and Crystals by Cally Oldershaw (Paperback - 27 Sep 2003)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews