Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2013
Sorry, but I found this book awful!!
Nowhere near the standard of R-M from years ago. Virtually no overlap from state-to-state and no overlap whatsoever between pages covering one state, plus some maps are orientated north/south while others are east-west. Little bits of state maps that don't fit the page are wedged into corners of nearby street-map pages, often without their adjacent pages being noted. Didn't encounter different scales for state maps mentioned by another reviewer but I can believe it. Add the understandable state listing by alphabet rather than location and this is a nightmare for route-planning & through-navigation, which is surely the purpose of a US-wide atlas.
The orientation & overlap issues meant I had to tear out a couple of pages in order to line them up with adjoining maps so as to make sense of a route. Not easy when there's no towns or features or road numbers which overlap & different states have different numbers for the same road.
I had always regarded R-M as the benchmark for US mapping. No longer, I'm sad to say. Very disappointed.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
As others have said, this is a map-making disaster. It's as if Rand McNally hasn't a clue about cartography (or its present management hasn't a clue, more likely.)

It's mandatory in every map -- good ones, bad ones, indifferent ones, any ol' kind of map -- for the design and structure to be such as to allow easy navigation from one page to another. Not so with this junk. The pages are literally slices of an overall map. So currently, I'm trying to navigate a route west from Colorado Springs on page 44 to Montrose on page 43. . . and can I easily and quickly do that? Nope. Not a chance. The map slicing means there's no overlap at all. Not a single detail at the extreme left of page 44 is repeated at the extreme right of page 43.

This isn't map making. This is downright commercial stupidity.

The sooner Rand McNally sacks the idiots responsible for publishing this, the better. But then, it may well be too late for the company anyway: who needs Rand McNally's crass stupidity when there's Google and Bing mapping online for nothing at all???
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Rand McNally Road Atlas Large Scale for year 2015 is a kind of reunion with dear friend in a nicer edition.

I used the previous version of this atlas, and this one is the third edition of atlas made in large print with some information even found on extra pages due to the need for some states to use additional space.

So far I didn’t have any problems using it, therefore I can suggest anyone who wants to be sure about the directions throughout whole US can rest assured because with the help from maps and other info found inside you can be sure you'll get where you intended.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Bought as a gift for my dad who is doing Route 66 next year to help with planning, but might be a bit big to take as they are travelling on bikes. Prompt delivery, good quality.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
I have an obsession with all things travel related, but in particular maps. Bought for help in planning various road trips in the USA and this was bigger than expected but in the best way (it still fits in the small suitcase).
America never looked so beautiful or so easily drivable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Despite its claims the scale on this map was poor and not able to show smaller towns. Also why is it that maps with a spiral binder always have the area you are interested in in the centre and obscured by the holes?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Big pages, easy to read and see where you want to go. Is in a strange order, but it's not a problem.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Since I'm preparing to follow Route 66 this summer, I was looking for a decent roadmap, which I fiund in this particular atlas. It gives a good survey of some cities and a clear way to plan the trip. It's worth having it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
A very good and clear atlas ideal for planning my trip to the states next summer.As I will be travelling in upto 5 states I particularly like the compact nature of having a page (or sometimes more) for each state,plus the large scale city plans and the national park maps.The proof in the pudding will be in how it all works out next summer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Detailed enough for long distance trips. Maps laid out by state which is quite logical. First pages show state bounderies so knowing what comes next is easy if your geography is rusty. Plastic spiral binding makes turning pages easy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)