Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars as good as daemon
Chillingly prophetic. And I'm very tempted to acquire some ravens now. Maybe not a bunch of scary killer ants though
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Richard A. Saunders

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A far cry from Deamon/Freedom
After having read Suarez' previous two books, the well written, truly captivating and very exciting Daemon/Freedom combo, I was sure I was in for another fast paced techno joyride.

But I was disappointed.

Kill Decision has a pretty similar setup, the same fundamental premises with autonomous gizmos and man-machine battles as well as a lot of...
Published 23 months ago by Martin Joergensen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A far cry from Deamon/Freedom, 12 Sep 2012
This review is from: Kill Decision (Hardcover)
After having read Suarez' previous two books, the well written, truly captivating and very exciting Daemon/Freedom combo, I was sure I was in for another fast paced techno joyride.

But I was disappointed.

Kill Decision has a pretty similar setup, the same fundamental premises with autonomous gizmos and man-machine battles as well as a lot of technological ingredients that reminds of its predecessors, but it has a very slow start - unlike Daemon that starts with a gripping jolt of action and suspense - and only develops slowly and with very weak characters. It's littered with way too many details in the wrong places. Do I need the Latin name of the trees, the precise model number of the cars and the make and model of all helicopters, guns and other gear? Do I need ad verbatim Chinese and Swedish dialog.
No, I don't.
The book appears overly researched to me, and it seems like Suarez hasn't wanted to waste any of his thorough preparation, so a lot of unnecessary facts and details have found their way into the book.

It takes a long time for the characters to develop into something that I can engage with, and even then some of the main characters are still pretty two dimensional and not someone that I can become genuinely interested in. The orphaned mercenary Odin the female professor with the many boyfriends... oh, man! So many stories could have been told that would have made them much more interesting. The scene where the kora-playing soldier talks about middle eastern heavy rock and death metal is a good example of what gives a character some depth. I really miss more of that.

The book does gain momentum, and the concept of autonomous drones is used with skill and well orchestrated. I read it to the end - which by the way is so obviously open that it reeks "sequel". A sequel that I will probably not buy.

If you like science/tech stories and haven't read Daemon/Freedom, do so. But only go for this title if you are contempt with much less excitement and writing that doesn't quite live up to what the author is clearly capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as good as daemon, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Decision (Kindle Edition)
Chillingly prophetic. And I'm very tempted to acquire some ravens now. Maybe not a bunch of scary killer ants though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well thought out, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Decision (Kindle Edition)
Nothing could live up to the genius of Suarez's "Daemon" so inevitably this book comes across as slightly disappointing; but its concepts are brilliant as ever. As with "Daemon", this book portrays a believable future in which technology drastically alters the world.

Readable, and recommended, although if you're a grammar nerd you might struggle a bit with the occasional mistake that completely spoils the scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read :), 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Decision (Kindle Edition)
Yet another excellent Daniel Suarez book. Couldn't put it down. Looking forward to getting Influx, however not yet on kindle in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Decision (Kindle Edition)
Excellent & frightening book. ?Shape of things to come. Let's hope not. A well researched, fast paced, action-packed thriller! Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting debate on the moral implications of UACAVs, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Decision (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting explanation and usage ideas for new technologies.
The pages turned themselves and I didn't feel like I was wading through technocratic diatribe.
It would be nice to see the author follow this up with a book that shows things from the perspective of a community actively attempting to stay off the grid post-Snowden in rural Africa, Columbia, but having a huge impact on the planet. Such as a decentralised technically adept but privacy conscious Holon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None, 21 Mar 2013
This review is from: Kill Decision (Kindle Edition)
not quite what i was expecting after reading the first two novels. but enjoyed it very much. good tech/cyber thriller. recommended. would like more darknet books though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Price - Seriously?, 16 Jun 2013
This review is from: Kill Decision (Kindle Edition)
I've been a fan of Suarez for a while now and really loved his other books. Then KD came out and I was all ready to buy it, even if it was 5-7 - but almost 15 for an electronic book?

There's no paper, no binding, no transport costs, storage costs, postage costs, printing costs etc. etc. - so give me an answer Amazon or Mr. Suarez - how do you work out the 15 price tag?

Absolutely shocking..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gutted, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Decision (Kindle Edition)
Having read his first two books, I was looking forwards to a great read. This book isnt one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-Paced Thriller, 9 Aug 2012
This review is from: Kill Decision (Hardcover)
Kill Decision is a techno-thriller by Daniel Suarez. This non-stop, seat of your pants story follows a very realistic and frighteningly, scientifically plausible plot in which unmanned armed drones are turned against their makers. The scientific accuracy of this novel is a definite strength, which I believe will appeal to sci-fi and military fiction fans alike.

The story itself is well paced with good, well developed characters; I particularly liked the characterisation of McKinney; the `ant' scientist. There was also a real sense of camaraderie amongst the group assembled to find those responsible for the drone attacks. The plot builds well throughout, although the ending, whilst acceptable, was a bit lacklustre for my liking; not entirely satisfying. Looking past the fiction, the science is presented well and in an unbiased way, allowing the reader to make their own decisions on if the progress of this type of technology is good or bad. Some have compared the writing style to Michael Crichton but whilst I saw similarities between Kill Decision and Prey - I wouldn't say the overall writing compares to Crichton; as there isn't very much for the reader to work out in Suarez's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill Decision
Kill Decision by Daniel Suarez (Hardcover - 19 July 2012)
15.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews