Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Investigation
Having recently read and greatly enjoyed the same author's History Of Ancient Egypt (Volume 1), I turned to The Great Pyramid to find out more about the Fourth Dynasty and its most significant, known legacy. Because it focuses on a shorter period of history and explores the construction of the pyramid in exhaustive detail, this is in many respects a very different kind...
Published on 9 July 2012 by RobW

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware! An enjoyable but flawed interpretation
This is an enjoyable read, to be sure, and a good introduction to the subject, but for the more serious reader it is let down by clumsy use of modern Christian language. The repeated references to "heaven", for example, can only serve to confuse readers and detract from our understanding of Egyptian cosmogony and cosmology. A more careful author would have explained the...
Published on 12 Jan. 2009 by Mr Cheops


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Investigation, 9 July 2012
By 
RobW (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited (Hardcover)
Having recently read and greatly enjoyed the same author's History Of Ancient Egypt (Volume 1), I turned to The Great Pyramid to find out more about the Fourth Dynasty and its most significant, known legacy. Because it focuses on a shorter period of history and explores the construction of the pyramid in exhaustive detail, this is in many respects a very different kind of book from the more sweeping history. Nevertheless, it sets the pyramid (and the pyramids that preceded it) in a broader historical and social context and is endlessly fascinating in its determination not to fall into cliché about 'ancient egypt'.

A few, very striking sections underline explicitly Romer's sense of wonder at the accuracy of the Pyramids plan and final structure. That sense of wonder imbues much of the rest of the text as well even at its most detailed. The book is also lavishly illustrated, which adds to the overall impact. It is a surprisingly heavy (literally) book: definitely not one to be carried around.

I am tempted to go for the full five stars. The only reason for not doing so is that, while the writing is evocative and powerful, it also seems to stray into quite marked repetition. It would be interesting to count, for example, how often the word 'exquisite(ly)' appears.

I am sure that there are rival texts out there but this one - at least in the eyes of this nonspecialist - is really quite something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive work about the Great Pyramid, 19 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited (Hardcover)
As with all of John Romer's books, this is an enjoyable read. I know his style is not to everybodies taste, and yes, he sees through the eyes of his Christian religion, though we all unconsciously use filters to see the world with, yet he is not "preachy" in anyway, it is simply his style, and I like his use of words. However, this book is meticulously researched and gives the best and most up to date view of the Great Pyramid. In this book are facts and reality. Sure there is no answer to everything, yet, and he does not make any fantastical suggestions about any aspect. For those who want commonsense about this subject, then buy this book and do not waste money on any of the fantasist fringe nonsense, because the only purpose of those books is to make money from the gullible. John Romer gives you truth, not snake oil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent achievement...., 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited (Hardcover)
A rewarding read - if not an easy one. John Romer pulls together the specialist research bearing on an subject that was, until now, a no-go area for the professional archaeologist. He makes available to the non-specialist a huge amount of information that would otherwise be impossible to know about, let alone find. In light of this, the whacky theories fall away, and the reader is left with a highly practical but still intriguing account of how the Great Pyramid and its companions were built. Indispensible reading for anyone seriously interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT WORK FROM A MASTER, 18 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr. A. M. Patel (London. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited (Hardcover)
I have read most books written by John Romer, and I must say I really admire his style of writing, and his command of subject matter. As always he has done it again with this masterpiece. His writing is thoroughly enjoyable, and I highly recommend this book for any one intersted in Egyptology, and lay person will enjoy this brilliant book too. Keep up the good work John, and can't wait for your next masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book., 4 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited (Hardcover)
This is one of the most interesting and enjoyable books I have read on the pyramids. John Romer writes in an approachable way that engages the reader from the beginning and, at the same time, gives a large amount of information - much of which was new to me, at least.

I particularly like the way John Romer focuses on the people and their practical solutions to building the pyramids; this alone makes a refreshing change from the majority of books on this subject.

I am currently reading this book for the second time and will be reading it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware! An enjoyable but flawed interpretation, 12 Jan. 2009
This review is from: The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited (Hardcover)
This is an enjoyable read, to be sure, and a good introduction to the subject, but for the more serious reader it is let down by clumsy use of modern Christian language. The repeated references to "heaven", for example, can only serve to confuse readers and detract from our understanding of Egyptian cosmogony and cosmology. A more careful author would have explained the precise nature of the Egyptian cosmos and the terminology which the Egyptians used to describe it, as for example Alan Alford does in his wonderful book "The Midnight Sun".The Midnight Sun: The Death and Rebirth of God in Ancient Egypt

Above all, Romer's naivety is exposed in his concluding remark about the burial of Khufu: "the physical act of interring Khufu's body into the Great Pyramid's sarcophagus would have quite literally placed him amongst the stars of heaven." This completely misses the point which he himself made that the king's spirit needed to rise up out of his body in order to ascend to the sky (not heaven, please!), necessitating of course a burial of the body at ground level or below. Or, as the Egyptians themselves used to say "the body to earth, the spirit (akh) to the sky"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited, 10 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. William A. Flack (Bermondsey - London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited (Hardcover)
Jon Romer is Mr Egypt, his easy going style developed in "testament" continues here, as does his campaigning for the preservation of the antiquties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on he subject, 13 April 2007
By 
M. Allen "m214463" (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited (Hardcover)
Strangely. there is only few serious books on the subject of the Great Pyramid and oyramids in general, at least in English. To be honest I only know 3, The Pyramids of Egypt by IES Edwards and The Complete Pyramids, and now this one. The fact remains most books on the subject og the Great Pyramid are dubious to the point of sillyness. But I will leave the pyramidiocy to others.
John Romwer has been a spokesman for Egyptology for over 20 years, writing in many way the deffinitive guide to the Valley of the Kings, This was not so much a guide or a fore runner of the Kent Weeks Atlas, but a introduction that covered the digging and then the rediscovery. Where available this is a good start to the Valley.
His next book, at least that I liked, waqs Ancient People, the story of thr tomb builders. Again it is more in the style of David Attenborough, making the hard accesable to the neophite. There wsas another book published at the same tme, can't remember the title, which covered the same ground, bur was so dry you could have started a fire with it.
There have been other books, but this is the first retrn to Ancient Egypt in about 20 years. Now instead of the Valley of the Kings, he tacklews the greatest mystery in history, the Great Pyramid.
I'm still reading it, but there is an authenticity to this that passes even Edwards, who probably wrote the best book.
If you want a good introduction tp the subject, it is both technical and light reading. think it will be a long time before there is another one better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars briefly: you get addicted to it like heroin does, 20 July 2009
By 
Luc Pierson (Flanders (Belgium)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited (Hardcover)
I am an amateur Egyptologist and the virus caught me deeper than normal because of this book. It is so deeply researched on figures ,on scientific findings for the biggest, most interesting and finest pyramid ever built.
It opens up the real feeling of how the pyramid builders lived, organised themselves, felt about their material, experienced 'stone-working' and thought about their mission of life under their pharao.But on top of that the style of writing is compelling and affects your brain to become even more obsessed with the subject.
Of all the 60 books I have on Egypt(ology), this goes to the core of it : the Egyptian tomb-builder and his relationship with 'eternal' stone as expression of his being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited
The Great Pyramid: Ancient Egypt Revisited by John Romer (Hardcover - 19 Mar. 2007)
£35.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews