Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Impressions of Trenchard's "A Concise Dictionary of NT Greek"
A first class pocket-sized tool (but with good clear reasonably large type)for the student of NT Greek. It contains just about every possible English equivalent for the vast majority of Greek words to be found in the New Testament. I am enjoying just reading through it. It needs to be stressed for the benefit of prospective purchasers that this a Greek-English dictionary...
Published on 8 Dec 2009 by V. Cobb

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A great disappointment
I bought this book in the expectation that I would be able to retire an old undated copy of the lexicon by Thomas Sheldon Green, published by Bagster. Green's lexicon goes back to the nineteenth century, but later editions do take account of variant NT readings. (So does Trenchard, though in a different way.) It should not be assumed that Green's lexicon, because it is so...
Published on 24 Mar 2011 by EEye


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Impressions of Trenchard's "A Concise Dictionary of NT Greek", 8 Dec 2009
By 
V. Cobb (Harpenden UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A first class pocket-sized tool (but with good clear reasonably large type)for the student of NT Greek. It contains just about every possible English equivalent for the vast majority of Greek words to be found in the New Testament. I am enjoying just reading through it. It needs to be stressed for the benefit of prospective purchasers that this a Greek-English dictionary with no English-Greek section - something I ought to have noticed but in fact failed to take on board before purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased With This So Far, 29 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't had this even a week yet but I though I'd share some initial thoughts.

When this book arrived through the post I was surprised at how slim it is, especially as it contains the entire NT vocabulary (it is exactly 1cm thick and 21.5cm long). The presentation is beautifully clean and clear and is great to read, unlike the more brutal type of my old Liddell and Scott lexicon (which I am by no means throwing away). This means, along with it's comparatively small size, that it is much easier and faster to look words up, thus speeding translation.

The above reviewer pointed out that this a Greek to English dictionary only. If you are not learning Greek, this will not be helpful.

I'm a second year theological student doing intermediate Greek and translating Mark. As someone who has to lug sometimes 10kg or more of books and lap top over a 2.5 mile walk to college and back every day, this slim (and therefore light!) volume has already brought considerable joy to my life!

Highly recommended, especially for undergraduates in their second year of NT Greek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for use with Duff, bad at everything else., 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have Duff's 'Elements of New Testament Greek' then you'll want this book until you become more advanced in your Greek. After you've achieved a higher level, a proper lexicon is essential. This serves its purpose; it is a good accompaniment to Duff. However you only get verb stems, rather than declensions, which can be a pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Berwick Curtis (Epsom, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a sound work for the (near) beginner and allows a clear overview of different translation possibilities. Given the limited corpus of NT Greek it is not very big - about 180 double columned pages but I have not failed to find what I wanted using the companion CUP Introduction by Duff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A great disappointment, 24 Mar 2011
I bought this book in the expectation that I would be able to retire an old undated copy of the lexicon by Thomas Sheldon Green, published by Bagster. Green's lexicon goes back to the nineteenth century, but later editions do take account of variant NT readings. (So does Trenchard, though in a different way.) It should not be assumed that Green's lexicon, because it is so old, sticks to the KJB's interpretations of the Greek text.

Green's alphabetic section runs to 216 densely printed pages. Trenchard's is printed larger and more legibly but has only 178 pages, less 14 blanks. That correctly suggests that there is less content in Trenchard. Trenchard helpfully shows the number of occurrences of each word, but he only gives verse references when the word occurs just once in the NT. In contrast, Green gives verse references in every entry. When words have multiple senses, Green's approach is incomparably more helpful. Take a really hard case, the word "logos": Green lists over 20 senses, giving verse references for each, whereas Trenchard gives even more possible renderings but not a single verse reference. What use is the latter approach for a serious student of the NT?

Apart from legibility, I struggle to find a single reason for buying Trenchard's book. I am not retiring Green, because I can't. Green is readily available on the second-hand market at a fraction of the price, and has been reprinted repeatedly, even quite recently. Draw your own conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All satisfactory thank you.

Why do you always have to be buttered up? I'll soon tell you if there is anything amiss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Concise Dictionary of New Testament Greek
A Concise Dictionary of New Testament Greek by Warren C. Trenchard (Hardcover - 26 Jun 2003)
£47.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews