Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Sucessful Title
This textbook is perfect for anyone wishing to study GCSE Latin or equivalent, and complements the rest of the course. The book is well laid out, with good use of colour photographs/maps and has excellent introductions to areas of Roman history and culture at the end of each chapter. The course itself systematically leads the student through new grammatical concepts which...
Published on 30 Aug. 2005 by J. Adams

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Answers all filled in in pen making it pretty useless
This was described as a student's book. Had it been described as a student's workbook with most of the answers filled in I certainly would not have bought it.
Published 16 months ago by Mr. M. W. Brooks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Sucessful Title, 30 Aug. 2005
By 
J. Adams (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book (Paperback)
This textbook is perfect for anyone wishing to study GCSE Latin or equivalent, and complements the rest of the course. The book is well laid out, with good use of colour photographs/maps and has excellent introductions to areas of Roman history and culture at the end of each chapter. The course itself systematically leads the student through new grammatical concepts which are contained in well written pieces of Latin text and stories. The grammar section at the back is very clear and summarises all the necessary grammar and vocabulary well. An excellent way to study a fascinating language!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book (Paperback)
I used these books at school in the 70's ( I say books but they were actually a large number of single stage booklets) but really didn't get much from the experience. I started relearning latin in May and used a lot of intensive courses, which got my grammar up to spec very quickly.BUT the Cambridge course is marvelous, very vocab based, and that is probably the most important aspect of a language. (You can't say much with grammar, but much with words)Syntax is dealt with in an effective and not over fussy way, just enough for the student to be able to read the texts. The series is aimed at secondary school students which is evident from the written style of the background information into the Roman way of life etc it's still very enjoyable for older students, either as a course per se, or as an enjoyable simple reader. I also bought the discs directly from Cambridge, my bedtime listening. My only negative is that two weeks after buying books 4and5, I lost them on a train between London and Liverpool. I was devastated. I don't live in the UK and will have to wait quite a while until I'll be able to replace them. The texts are available on the Cambridge latin course site. Online activities, but it's not the same as having the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book (Paperback)
The Cambridge Latin Course cannot be recommended highly enough. It is well laid out, fun, clear, and thorough. There is an index of vocabulary at the back and the grammar is dealt with clearly and fully. Each chapter ends with three or four pages of the life and times in the Roman era - anything from the army, Society, customs, Rome, etc giving valuable background to the story line earlier in the chapter. My husband is endeavouring to teach me Latin using this series and while I am not the sharpest tool in the box we are having fun and it keeps out brains active in retirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Answers all filled in in pen making it pretty useless, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book (Paperback)
This was described as a student's book. Had it been described as a student's workbook with most of the answers filled in I certainly would not have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for a latin grammar and Roman history, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book (Paperback)
Like all the books in the Latin Course series the grammar is taught in an interesting and humerous so learning does not become boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Latin, of course, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book (Paperback)
Good book, well thought out and nice to find the "story" follows on from Books 3,2 and 1. Needs to come with a packet of extra brainpower for me though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very well constructed text book, 25 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide to the Latin language and Roman culture. It is well set-out and clear in the exposition of points of grammar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Latin course available., 27 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book (Paperback)
This Latin course, books 1 - 5 is extremely useful and interesting. Good for classwork or for working alone. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Latin Primer, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book (Paperback)
First class language teaching book. Series has been going for over thirty years. You won't find anything better for teaching Latin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good clean copy as promised, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book (Paperback)
It is great to be able to re-use books and to get clean second hand copies quickly easily and at a good price through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book
Cambridge Latin Course Book 4 Student's Book by Cambridge School Classics Project (Paperback - 18 April 2002)
£16.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews