Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Great stargazer's handbook
Gets a little 'heavy' in places - you can't help that when you buy a book written by someone who loves the subject but this was the reason I got it....Patrick is so enthusiastic you just can't help but follow suit.... Great little book.
Published 19 months ago by silverladysurfer

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor value for money
I'm new to amateur astronomy and wrestled with this book for about a week to the point of extreme frustration. What the author glaringly omits is how the beginner should navigate their way around the night sky and instead he provides poor sky charts followed by moderately detailed constellation maps. Not wanting to give up so easily I decided to purchase "Nightwatch:...
Published on 7 Aug 2001 by J. Page


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor value for money, 7 Aug 2001
By 
J. Page "J Page" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky with Binoculars (Paperback)
I'm new to amateur astronomy and wrestled with this book for about a week to the point of extreme frustration. What the author glaringly omits is how the beginner should navigate their way around the night sky and instead he provides poor sky charts followed by moderately detailed constellation maps. Not wanting to give up so easily I decided to purchase "Nightwatch: a Practical Guide to Viewing the Universe" by Terence Dickenson (ring bound) which is a superb book for the beginner and shows Moore's book for what it is - a bad field guide with some interesting textual content. Dickenson teaches the beginner to navigate using obvious constellations as signposts and my first night out with the book was extremely productive. Save your money and buy Dickenson's book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Exploring the Night Sky with Binoculars., 4 Nov 2002
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky with Binoculars (Paperback)
I have to agree with other reviewers Nightwatch is by far the better book, don't waste your money on Exploring the Night Sky with Binoculars buy Nightwatch instead. Nightwatch also spells out what can be seen with binoculars. The layout and stucture is miles better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, but not very accessible, 1 Nov 2002
By 
Edward Doyle (43 Upper Mount Street, Dublin 2 Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky with Binoculars (Paperback)
I got this, as it was recommended by a local astronomy club.
Initially I found it quite difficult for the same reasons commented on by other reviewers. However with the help of a lot of astronomy software which I downloaded free from the web, which produced more easily understandable star maps ( which importantly were accurate to the day of the observation ) I was able to get started.
Once I had cracked the first half dozen constellations, the contents of Moores book clicked with me and I found it a valuable source of extra and more detailed information.
However I would criticise the book from teh perspective that it does not really start at the very begining and the constellation charts are too busy ordetailed for the very beginner making them confusing. Although I think this book is good, I would not recommend it alone for the absolute beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great stargazer's handbook, 16 Jan 2013
By 
silverladysurfer (Richmond upon Thames) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky with Binoculars (Paperback)
Gets a little 'heavy' in places - you can't help that when you buy a book written by someone who loves the subject but this was the reason I got it....Patrick is so enthusiastic you just can't help but follow suit.... Great little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A picture, not a thousand words...., 20 Mar 2006
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky with Binoculars (Paperback)
Reminiscent of an old grammar school textbook - a thousand words when a picture would do. Text also turgid and rambling - plenty of interesting facts and figures but difficult to find and extract when they are so heavily wrapped in text. Popular science books have moved on a few decades since this style was standard. Try "Turn Left at Orion" or one of the recommendations left by other reviewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every beginner should have one, 19 Mar 2000
By 
John Ruddy (Montrose, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book provides a good basis for any newcomer to Astronomy. As might be expected, Patrick Moore's style conveys the right combination of enthusiasm and authority, covering all the major objects in the sky. In this book he shows most clearly that you do not need a telecope to enjoy Astronomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exploring the Night Sky with Binoculars
Exploring the Night Sky with Binoculars by Patrick Moore (Paperback - 16 Oct 2000)
19.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews