Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book For Undergrads without A level Maths
Just started university and this book really helped me a lot since I only have GCSE Maths. Starts from basics and then expands from it.
Published on 29 Oct. 2003

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful textbook for OCR syllabus, bit convoluted at times
This textbook covers the OCR syllabus well. On the plus side, the subject matter is comprhensively covered. On the negative side, students find the textbook difficult to read alone as the explanations can be very confusing at times. The methods used for some topics (for example Partial Fractions) seem designed to confuse the inexperienced. The questions in exercises...
Published on 11 Jan. 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful textbook for OCR syllabus, bit convoluted at times, 11 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1 and 2 (Cambridge Advanced Level Mathematics) (Paperback)
This textbook covers the OCR syllabus well. On the plus side, the subject matter is comprhensively covered. On the negative side, students find the textbook difficult to read alone as the explanations can be very confusing at times. The methods used for some topics (for example Partial Fractions) seem designed to confuse the inexperienced. The questions in exercises sometimes increase in difficulty rather quickly, so beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book For Undergrads without A level Maths, 29 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1 and 2 (Cambridge Advanced Level Mathematics) (Paperback)
Just started university and this book really helped me a lot since I only have GCSE Maths. Starts from basics and then expands from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1 and 2 (Cambridge Advanced Level Mathematics) (Paperback)
It helped my daughter it's a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cambridge Mathematics and OCR, 23 April 2004
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1 and 2 (Cambridge Advanced Level Mathematics) (Paperback)
I purchased this book primarily because it is endorsed by OCR (and thatwas the course I was taking at the time). It is also published by CUP -well known for their world class mathematics courses.
Overall the explanations are detailed but are worded in a confusingmanner. When it comes to examples, it is often difficult to understandhow the answer was derived, as lines of working seem to be missed out, andconsequently problems appear more complex than they really are.
Good points: All content in the syllabus is comprehensivelycovered.
Bad points: Explanations are hard to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very conicise book with good worked examples., 22 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1 and 2 (Cambridge Advanced Level Mathematics) (Paperback)
This is a very concise book with good worked examples. It offers the complete course guidelines for an As level in maths with the OCR board. It althogh does lack clarity thus can sometimes be a bit confusing. Overall a very good book for As level maths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars i'm not too sure this book is useful at all, 1 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1 and 2 (Cambridge Advanced Level Mathematics) (Paperback)
for someone who goes to a good school which gives you lots of practice papers, this book is completely unnecessary. i got 100% in my P1 exam and 93% in P2 and i hardly used this book at all. when i did use it, i found that i didn't need to know some of the stuff in it and was often confused by the explanations of the more complex ideas.
my advice is, if in doubt about maths concepts, ask your friends or teacher for more detailed explanation. past exam papers are much more useful if you can get a hold of them since this book only has 2 practice papers. if you go to a school or college that can't give you a lot of practice papers, then this book covers all of the OCR syllabus, but it also can be confusing at times so i don't know if you'll understand it enough to help.
so, in essence, this book seems to me to be one that can't help either group: being superfluous for top students and at times too dense and failing to meet the needs of sudents without access to resources like old papers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure mathematics, 17 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pure Mathematics 1 and 2 (Cambridge Advanced Level Mathematics) (Paperback)
Starts off with the basics and build concepts up clearly from the start using plenty of exercises which gradually increase in complexity. The topics are well chosen and actually make sense to some body who wanted to brush up on some basic mathematics. A lot of textbooks will suddenly jump into the subject with no background as to why, this one actually tries and succeeds in linking the chapters into a coherent whole.
As to the relevance to current A level syllabus's don't know as it was nearly 20yrs ago, when I took mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pure Mathematics 1 and 2 (Cambridge Advanced Level Mathematics)
Pure Mathematics 1 and 2 (Cambridge Advanced Level Mathematics) by Douglas Quadling (Paperback - 8 May 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews