Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for CELTA or other EFL courses
If you are on a CELTA course or similar EFL course, then this is a very useful book. It runs through the various interference problems you might encounter when teaching students of various L1 backgrounds. It methodically runs through the various english vowel and consonant pronunciation issues each learner might have, and extends its analysis into all areas of grammar,...
Published on 27 July 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plain English, Please
The intentions and ideas of this book are good, but I don't think they are explained well. The language used could be a little more simple. Perhaps the contributors forgot that many people aren't as advanced as they are on the subject. Also, they make generalized statements about American English.
Published 8 months ago by Veronica Moody


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference for ESOL/ESL/EFL teachers., 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
I bought this when I was studying for ADTLLS in ESOL - this was recommended by another ESOL professional, It was fascinating reading and I found the exact information I needed for my case study on an ESOL learner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Teacher's Bible, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Tim Coombs (Dartington Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
Of course you need your grammar books and inspirational books like Thornbury's but what do you actually need to know how to help individaul students and their problems when they meet English................. you need Learner English. Its a revelation to understand why Poles or Koreans have the problems they do. Of course if you have taught for 30 years you should know it all but we don't and I thank the team of writers they have asked who have given us the analysis of those language speakers have when learning english. I don't wish to sound ungrateful but I hope a 3rd edition will one day add even more languages.
It doesn't matter whether you are straight off a CELTA or have taught for 20/30 years you will find your practice enlightened and helped by this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, 22 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
I used this book while I was on my CELTA course as a reference for several of my written assignments, and found it to be invaluable! As I aim to take my teaching abroad, this book will come in handy pretty much wherever I go.

The sections are very clearly laid out, and the explanations of the common problems that students have with English due to their L1 are very clear and easy to follow. The phoneme tables are especially helpful for planning pronunciation lessons for, for example, a group of students that are all Spanish.

It's also just incredibly useful to know when a student is making an error based on direct translation from their own language, or an error that comes from somewhere else. It will also help your students if you've read up on their language, because you'll be able to empathise more easily with the difficulties they may have!

All in all, great. Speedy delivery, much faster than expected, and the book was in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Specialist but useful, 22 Aug 2014
By 
Greenky (norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
Specialist but useful for giving information about the interference of different first languages on learning English (EFL)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plain English, Please, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
The intentions and ideas of this book are good, but I don't think they are explained well. The language used could be a little more simple. Perhaps the contributors forgot that many people aren't as advanced as they are on the subject. Also, they make generalized statements about American English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for understanding languages, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as a recommendation by the course I am doing. I have used it once in reference to English language learners and found it valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews