Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for CELTA or other EFL courses
If you are on a CELTA course or similar EFL course, then this is a very useful book. It runs through the various interference problems you might encounter when teaching students of various L1 backgrounds. It methodically runs through the various english vowel and consonant pronunciation issues each learner might have, and extends its analysis into all areas of grammar,...
Published on 27 July 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the CD of the book 'Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems'!
Be warned. The CD that I received was not the book 'Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems' at all. It was the supplementary disk of voices of various nationalities reading a set script to demonstrate their various linguistic differences, they are listed in the back of the book itself. It would perhaps be useful with the book, but as I have...
Published 4 months ago by Peter Sandford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for CELTA or other EFL courses, 27 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
If you are on a CELTA course or similar EFL course, then this is a very useful book. It runs through the various interference problems you might encounter when teaching students of various L1 backgrounds. It methodically runs through the various english vowel and consonant pronunciation issues each learner might have, and extends its analysis into all areas of grammar, stress, intonation, vocabulary and culture. Even if you're not on a course and you have a multi-L1 class, then this acts as a reference guide for helping you to profile students and understand their potential learning difficulties with
English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for ESOL Teachers, 19 April 2009
By 
M. Baker (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
I originally borrowed this book for a library to assist me with an essay for my ESOL course. Its contents are a revelation - hence the purchase. Now qualified, I need this book to hand all the time. If you are thinking of teaching English as a foreign language, then you will need this book.
It works its way through most language types and identifies the potential stumbling blocks that each mother tongue will have as the speaker learns English. It looks in detail at the differences in language construction between the students mother tongue and English. When you realise that some languages do not have the same pronunciation sounds as English or a language does not have pronouns or articles, it all becomes clear as to why the same mistakes litter the new students work.
Learner English is set out in way that makes a revision of those issues prior to taking a class easy and it also is a handy reference for identifying individual issues. Each issue is clearly set out in an unambiguous form.
I thoroughly recommend this text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference for developing ELT teachers, 4 Nov. 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Barnett (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
This book explains all the key differences that learners of English as a second/foreign language experience as a result of differences within their own mother tongue - from pronunciation and intonation to grammatical differences, and false friends. Each chapter is comprehensive yet reasonably succinct. The book covers the full range of European languages as well as the main languages of Africa, Asia and the Far East. A book to dip into as necessary as difficulties arise for individual learners rather than a book to read from cover to cover, but a useful addition to any ELT practitioner's book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to language issues for students learning ESL, 3 Jun. 2002
By 
Mrs. A. E. Buchanan (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
The book is split into various native language sections. Within each of these there is an analysis of that language form and how it differs from English. Various difficulties peculiar to each language are then given in reference to learning English. An invaluable guide especially when teaching students where the teacher has no knowledge of their mother tongue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems, 6 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This audio CD is a good item to have to hand for those teachers who wish to find out why certain nationalities make certain mistakes when learning English, and also if they have no time at all to read the hard printed copy. The accoustics are good and the actual characters are real people with real interaction patterns, from real countries around the world. So nothing is fake or pre-recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for CELTA trainees, 7 July 2010
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
I am doing a part-time CELTA course at Oxford House College in London and this book was invaluable for one of the assignments. It is also extremely useful in identifying errors made by different English learners due to their native language. As it is divided into chapters by nationality, it enables you to read-up on typical errors before teaching a class that is predominately monolingual (Turkish was helpful for me, for example).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, 22 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
I used this book while I was on my CELTA course as a reference for several of my written assignments, and found it to be invaluable! As I aim to take my teaching abroad, this book will come in handy pretty much wherever I go.

The sections are very clearly laid out, and the explanations of the common problems that students have with English due to their L1 are very clear and easy to follow. The phoneme tables are especially helpful for planning pronunciation lessons for, for example, a group of students that are all Spanish.

It's also just incredibly useful to know when a student is making an error based on direct translation from their own language, or an error that comes from somewhere else. It will also help your students if you've read up on their language, because you'll be able to empathise more easily with the difficulties they may have!

All in all, great. Speedy delivery, much faster than expected, and the book was in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Teacher's Bible, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
Tim Coombs (Dartington Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
Of course you need your grammar books and inspirational books like Thornbury's but what do you actually need to know how to help individaul students and their problems when they meet English................. you need Learner English. Its a revelation to understand why Poles or Koreans have the problems they do. Of course if you have taught for 30 years you should know it all but we don't and I thank the team of writers they have asked who have given us the analysis of those language speakers have when learning english. I don't wish to sound ungrateful but I hope a 3rd edition will one day add even more languages.
It doesn't matter whether you are straight off a CELTA or have taught for 20/30 years you will find your practice enlightened and helped by this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book that will help you pass your CELTA - ..., 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
A great book that will help you pass your CELTA - assignment 3. You would not be able to pass without this book as it is the only one that gives you very detailed infortmation on the specific mistakes L2 learners make. I strongly recommend this book if you studying to become a TEFL teacher - it will help you understand why L2 learners make the mistakes they make and will help you find the right approach how to teach your students avoid these mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my DELTA, 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learner English: A Teacher's Guide to Interference and Other Problems (2nd Edition) (Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teachers) (Paperback)
Excellent book for both the CELTA and DELTA. It explains the difficulties of language learners broken down by countries / languages spoken citing specific items of phonology and syntax based on their primary language. This resource is a "MUST HAVE" whenever writing the lengthy DELTA LSA papers, DTA, Experimental Assignment and the Specialism (Modules 2 and 3). I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews