Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book
This book would also be of considerable value to physicists and engineers, although the primary audience is probably economists. The aproach is a thoroughly modern one of using a linear algebra approach to calculus.
The book makes no pretense about avoiding the formal definition-theorem-proof approach appropriate to a mathematician. It is not intended to be a...
Published on 2 Feb 2006 by Nicholas Warren

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Calculus
This book is quite helpful when it comes to functions of one variable and several variables. I found the chapter on linear differential and difference equations a bit hard to grasp, finding other texts more appropriate for the job. Generally the book seems ok
Published on 1 Mar 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book, 2 Feb 2006
By 
Nicholas Warren (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calculus: Concepts and Methods (Paperback)
This book would also be of considerable value to physicists and engineers, although the primary audience is probably economists. The aproach is a thoroughly modern one of using a linear algebra approach to calculus.
The book makes no pretense about avoiding the formal definition-theorem-proof approach appropriate to a mathematician. It is not intended to be a rigorous approach. Instead, it focuses on geometric intuition and the "whys" as well as the "hows." The many excellent multi-colo(u)r diagrams are extremely helpful in explaining concepts. Although the book says that prerequisites are basic familiarity with single-variable calculus and linear algebra, the review sections on those topics are thorough enough to learn from, as long as the reader is not completely unfamiliar, by working through the carefully constructed exercises. In fact, the first chapter is, in of itself, an excellent primer on linear algebra.
My hope, for the next edition, is that the authors, having beautifully developed the vector calculus of Grad, might extend the development to Div and Curl (along the intuitive lines of Schey - Div, Grad, Curl and All That) to make the book even more appropriate to physicists/engineers.
If you want a crystal-clear exposition of multi-variable calculus, while learning linear algebra at the same time, this is THE book (and there is nothing else like it that I have seen out there). The book is wonderfully laid out, attractive to work through, and the examples and problem sets are first rate. I hesitate to say it, but I believe you will actually really enjoy the topic, whatever your previous misgivings about calculus may have been. If that is true, you will learn a tremendous amount from this book.
Bravo, the authors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good book - explains the underpinning maths in many contexts, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calculus: Concepts and Methods (Paperback)
Regardless of your disciplines - be it finance, economics, engineering, etc. this book is very good. Explains several concepts well and clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 1 May 2014
By 
Yulun Wang - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calculus: Concepts and Methods (Paperback)
I do not understand why there are so many negative comments about this book. At least I find it really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Calculus, 1 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Calculus: Concepts and Methods (Paperback)
This book is quite helpful when it comes to functions of one variable and several variables. I found the chapter on linear differential and difference equations a bit hard to grasp, finding other texts more appropriate for the job. Generally the book seems ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars calculus book, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calculus: Concepts and Methods (Paperback)
This is an increadibly irritating book to try to read (my personal opinion only). I have barely got by the first chapter, and have decided to buy another calculus book, because this one has insisted (i`ve flicked through the rest) in calling, for example, a point (x,y) in the cartesian plane - a vector of the form (x,y)-T, which would get really confusing and irritating once you got to the level of say, div, grad, curl etc.

It`s a real shame, because, if this MATRIX terminology (which is used for things that AREN`T MATRICES!!!) hadn`t been used, this would have been one of the best books i had bought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Calculus: Concepts and Methods
Calculus: Concepts and Methods by Joan Davies (Paperback - 7 Feb 2002)
43.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews