Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues great approach begun in Minimus.
Minimus Secundus continues the rich combination of language instruction, Roman-British culture, grammar concepts, vocabulary, Roman culture, British culture, photos of real museum artifacts, and stories from classical times that characterized Minimus.
Flavius's family is picked up 5 years later, after the daughter is married. They are transferred to York, and the...
Published on 18 Nov. 2007 by Fred Brooks

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Secundus for second-rate
As a homeschooler, I was looking for a solid Latin teaching book and started off by trying Minimus. Big disappointment, unless page after page of cutesy mice and smatterings of fake Latin is what you are after. I bought Secundus in the hope that we could actually have the chance to start learning real Latin, only to find that the drivel moved to a whole new level...
Published 10 months ago by Mea


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues great approach begun in Minimus., 18 Nov. 2007
By 
Fred Brooks (Lakenheath, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Minimus Secundus Pupil's Book: Moving on in Latin (Paperback)
Minimus Secundus continues the rich combination of language instruction, Roman-British culture, grammar concepts, vocabulary, Roman culture, British culture, photos of real museum artifacts, and stories from classical times that characterized Minimus.
Flavius's family is picked up 5 years later, after the daughter is married. They are transferred to York, and the move is detailed. The difficulty of the Latin accelerates noticeably.

I found the use of the Minimus series added a break in formal instruction that was eagerly anticipated in every day's lesson. The comic-strip illustrations and the continuing story holds interest high.

I very much appreciate the approach of using forms that have not yet been explicitly introduced, and then explaining grammar concepts one at a time after their use in the stories. It is a natural learning approach that works well for my students.

The photos of real artefacts that my students have themselves seen in the museums adds great immediacy, and the fact that the Roman life is set in Britain, with a British family slave, also makes the material much more relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but I found this pretty good for her age group, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minimus Secundus Pupil's Book: Moving on in Latin (Paperback)
My granddaughter started using Secundus at age 8, after working through the first book. I suppose there are some drawbacks to any book, but I found this pretty good for her age group. The story line seemed interesting enough, although she cautions against starting here: best to follow it through from the beginning. The mouse and cat story is just a jokey accompaniment to the main family tale, which does not shirk coverage of slavery, militarism and imperialism, although it never forces anyone to confront them. By reading first and analysing later, children get used to Latin word order and become fairly adept at attacking new material and guessing intelligently at meaning. I certainly wouldn't use this with early teens: it's particularly good for home study with primary-age children. Grasp of grammar seems to advance quite quickly: you can be entirely confident in identifying the object of a sentence without knowing what "accusative case" means. While some may consider this "dumbing down", I think it's simply a matter of pushing understanding as far as possible without too much technical terminology. We'll now move on the a more formal, secondary-focused course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latin book, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minimus Secundus Pupil's Book: Moving on in Latin (Paperback)
Considerably harder than first Minimus book. Same fun format. Recommended for age 10 and up to help with bifold up towards GCSE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minimus Secundus Pupil's Book: Moving on in Latin (Paperback)
really usefull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minimus Secundus Pupil's Book: Moving on in Latin (Paperback)
super
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Secundus for second-rate, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Mea (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minimus Secundus Pupil's Book: Moving on in Latin (Paperback)
As a homeschooler, I was looking for a solid Latin teaching book and started off by trying Minimus. Big disappointment, unless page after page of cutesy mice and smatterings of fake Latin is what you are after. I bought Secundus in the hope that we could actually have the chance to start learning real Latin, only to find that the drivel moved to a whole new level.

It may "tick the boxes" for a school that needs to churn every Fred, Margaret and Bob through something which qualifies as a foreign language, but, as a homeschooler, I get to choose for my child to be taught from the best materials. This book is far from that, in our experience.

Conjures up images of someone trying to put together a book on "Calculus for Primary School" and drawing pictures of a mouse running all over graph paper with some numbers and sums and a smattering of Greek letters (pi, theta, rho), then claiming kids were being "introduced" to calculus, and so would find it easier later on. This sort of 'dumbing down' can really confuse a kid about what the subject really entails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Minimus Secundus Pupil's Book: Moving on in Latin
Minimus Secundus Pupil's Book: Moving on in Latin by Barbara Bell (Paperback - 11 Mar. 2004)
£13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews