Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This book is excellent source of guidance to subtle grammar rules that may not be so apparent in everyday usage of the English language. lots of tasks to practice with answers at the back of the book. I would recommend it to anyone who has the will power to sit down and do some self-teaching.
Published on 1 Jun. 2012 by A Mohamed

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars With some reservation...
As a summary of gramma topics, the book is pretty useful.
The book fails in providing a clear and sufficient explanation on gramma rules that are to be used in the enclosed exercises. These exercises are very demanding (which is ok in terms of the CAE preparation) and I am afraid that to complete them some additional help from a tutor is required (eg modals or future...
Published on 20 July 2010 by Kaniak


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet) (Paperback)
This book is excellent source of guidance to subtle grammar rules that may not be so apparent in everyday usage of the English language. lots of tasks to practice with answers at the back of the book. I would recommend it to anyone who has the will power to sit down and do some self-teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars With some reservation..., 20 July 2010
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet) (Paperback)
As a summary of gramma topics, the book is pretty useful.
The book fails in providing a clear and sufficient explanation on gramma rules that are to be used in the enclosed exercises. These exercises are very demanding (which is ok in terms of the CAE preparation) and I am afraid that to complete them some additional help from a tutor is required (eg modals or future tenses in particular)...not an utterly self-study book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet) (Paperback)
Great book, it helps a lot to understand Grammar better not only for the CAE but also for general purposes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but..., 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet) (Paperback)
Overall it's a good book. Good points:
-Grammar is at an advanced level- you get an overall idea of what is excpected at a C1/C2.
-Exercises are quite difficult.
-The listening at the beginning of the chapters are useful.
Bad points:
-You should already know your basic grammar as it hardly revises past points.
-Some parts need better explanations; at times it ends up being too succint.
-It constantly develops points futher in the appendix, where it presents lists of words and lists of categories - hardly possible to teach or learn or study them. I've not figured out what to do with them.
I don't think it works well in a class setting. I would say for private lessons or small groups of students age 17+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'm starting to read it but I'm not enjoying it very much..., 21 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet) (Paperback)
I'm starting my study to CAE exam in a language school. I have already done the FCE and I have used "Grammar for FCE", which i liked very much.
However, I don't like "Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency" as much as the previous one. The reasons are:
1. harder to read: green letters don't hep their legibility (FCE book had dar blue letters)
2. poor explanation of the basics of grammar, so I need to keep two books at the same time on my desk (this one and a basic grammar...)
As as conclusion: maybe this book is a good supplement to cover what is needed in CAE/CPE exams, but it doesn't cover the basics and so you need another one (for instance "Grammar for First Certificate)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool, I would say it's a must if ..., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet) (Paperback)
Excellent tool, I would say it's a must if you're preparing CAE and/or CPE.
It has grammar even most native speakers ignore it exists (and that we don't often use). It also features lots of listening, writing and grammar exercices adapted to the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet) (Paperback)
I liked the variety of exercises and the way they are presented. This grammar can make you improve you writing, speaking and listening all in just one book. So its not boring as the other ones. Some explanation could be clearer to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing grammar book!, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet) (Paperback)
Amazing grammar book! I struggled many years after the high school (when I studied English at the advance level) to perfect my skills, but now I am going to enjoy it due to this amazing well organised book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you use it,you learn, 11 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet) (Paperback)
This is a good book of grammar. You can find the kind of thing that are more difficult to learn and the things you can have more problems. At the beginning you can do an online test that tells you wich units you need to study first and then you can revise the rest. I am just starting to use it. Only 2 units, but you can revise listening,reading,writing... So, untill now the book for me is great if you use it and study everyday...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars useful and complete, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet) (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to all people preparing the proficiency level. It contains a series of different exercises that will help you to improve your level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cambridge Grammar for CAE and Proficiency Student Book with Answers and Audio CDs (2) (Cambridge Grammar for First Certificate, Ielts, Pet)
£23.10
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews