Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improved edition of great reference book
I bought this new edition when I did my CELTA course and it's fantastic! The old edition is already really good and very thorough as far as the content goes. However, the big advantage of the second edition is the new layout. There are coloured headings, tables and boxes with examples which make finding specific content and reading in general much easier (especially for a...
Published on 15 Feb. 2010 by SJ

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's an OK grammar book nothing special though.
The book is clearly laid out and has a logical format. It has some good exercises for practicing the different rules and some handy sections for what students may find problematic. It doesn't differ too much from other grammar books and so feels very similar to the popular Murphy book even though this Parrott book has more content. The one area that this and all the other...
Published on 16 Aug. 2010 by PD


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improved edition of great reference book, 15 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Grammar for English Language Teachers (Paperback)
I bought this new edition when I did my CELTA course and it's fantastic! The old edition is already really good and very thorough as far as the content goes. However, the big advantage of the second edition is the new layout. There are coloured headings, tables and boxes with examples which make finding specific content and reading in general much easier (especially for a visual learner like me).
I have used it a lot during the course and found the timelines especially helpful. There are also some exercises at the end of each chapter.
I can really recommend this book if you want to do a CELTA or similar English teaching course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a comprehensive book for TEFL teachers, 28 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grammar for English Language Teachers (Paperback)
I was recommended this book as someone new to TEFL and I was not disappointed. It is a comprehensive guide to grammar and well set out. I use it as a reference when preparing lessons. I also found it very useful on the CELTA course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's an OK grammar book nothing special though., 16 Aug. 2010
By 
PD (The Gulf) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grammar for English Language Teachers (Paperback)
The book is clearly laid out and has a logical format. It has some good exercises for practicing the different rules and some handy sections for what students may find problematic. It doesn't differ too much from other grammar books and so feels very similar to the popular Murphy book even though this Parrott book has more content. The one area that this and all the other grammar books I've bought so far let me down is in the indexing. It's not always easy to quickly access a section when you have a query. Usually those queries are for the more complex forms and it takes a lot of flicking between chapters to establish which rule applies to your query.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grammar for English Language Teachers (Paperback)
I'm using this book for my online TEFL course, and it's certainly proving to be very useful. I'll also be using as a recommended text for my CELTA course in September. Clear explanations, and very easy to use. Highly recommended to all TEFL/CELTA students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended reading for English Language teachers teaching advanced grammar, 15 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Grammar for English Language Teachers (Paperback)
This is a very useful, detailed book for those teachers who wish to study and teach at higher levels. I would suggest that this is an essential text for postgraduate students of Applied Linguistics and/or the Cambridge Delta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A handy product, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grammar for English Language Teachers (Paperback)
Teaches the basics of TEFL. A good guide, which is divided into easy to manage chapters. Arrived on time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Grammar for English Language Teachers (Paperback)
Very very good at what it does. If you need what it offers, then don't think about it twice.

The explanations are intuitive, smart and easy. Easy to follow and understand. Effective too.

Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but dry and can be heavy going to find what you want, 22 July 2014
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grammar for English Language Teachers (Paperback)
Technically it's hard to fault - it has good information and is detailed. However, in terms of practical use, I seldom use it because it is too dry and sometimes too detailed. The main alternative is Swan - and of the two, I much prefer the Swan book. Both are reference books and both cover pretty much the same ground. I prefer the layout of Swan (it's laid out alphabetically which can be problematic but not for long). Parrott might be more academic and detailed but for me, it's just not as practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pages missing, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grammar for English Language Teachers (Paperback)
A good book and exactly what I needed for my CELTA course. However, pages 343-374 (inclusive) are missing! Thankfully I didn't need to use those specific pages for the course but I did need the rest and therefore couldn't return the product. All in all, when you buy a book you expect to be buying a whole book, not just most of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for English teachers, 28 Sept. 2012
By 
M. Hallett (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grammar for English Language Teachers (Paperback)
If you are doing a TESOL or CELTA you need this book. If you are teaching English as a foreign language then you need this book. It is the best book by a country mile when it comes to explaining grammar and giving examples to illustrate each point. I recommend it for any student learning English too. It is simply a godsend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grammar for English Language Teachers
Grammar for English Language Teachers by Martin Parrott (Paperback - 14 Jan. 2010)
£18.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews