Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for advanced students who are motivated., 25 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Collocations in Use: Advanced (Paperback)
I teach English as a foreign language, and I bought this book to use with advanced students. There is some very useful material in it, but for each unit there's quite a lot to take in. For highly motivated students it would be very useful, but I would say that for the majority it's a book to dip in to now and again.
I like the way that the chapters are arranged, particularly the collocations that are in topic areas. The exercises that complement each section are also well thought out.
I also bought "English Idioms in Use" (advanced), which I feel will be more useful, and which the students seem to find more accessible. Nevertheless I will be using this book from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handy, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Collocations in Use: Advanced (Paperback)
well organised and really useful for students who want to prepare the CAE exam as they have many expressions as well as idioms and collocations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formal English, 21 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Collocations in Use: Advanced (Paperback)
This book provides you with the skills to write in formal English and avoid common mistakes. It is highly recommended to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I definitely recommend it!, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: English Collocations in Use: Advanced (Paperback)
It is great! I have just read and completed a couple of exercises so far but I've already learnt a lot of useful words which are used by native speakers usually and also I'm learnt that how two different words can be used correctly together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 7 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: English Collocations in Use: Advanced (Paperback)
Did not know much about collocations, and this book introduces you to a large number of resources for learners/speakers of English.Definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Collocations in Use: Advanced (Paperback)
Good item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
By 
J. M. Fernandez Gallego (LAS PALMAS,CANARY ISLANDS,SPAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Collocations in Use: Advanced (Paperback)
EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For Advanced Students, 11 April 2014
By 
C. Cockill "CC at cable" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Collocations in Use: Advanced (Paperback)
Good challenging exercises which are very suitable for advanced students. Not suitable really for intermediate or upper intermediate....Highly recommended and a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good textbook, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Collocations in Use: Advanced (Paperback)
This textbook is exactly what its name says. I was pretty happy with it, if you need a help with collocations, get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Collocations in Use: Advanced (Paperback)
Arrived as promised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

English Collocations in Use: Advanced
English Collocations in Use: Advanced by Michael McCarthy (Paperback - 4 Sep 2008)
£16.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews