Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
39
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£26.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2008
Good book but seem's bit strange to make a book on photography in Black and White! Looking at Nebulars in black and white seems a little odd when the text is talking about colors?? But the book itself is very informative
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
Of the astrophotography books, this is deservedly popular. Layout is good and it not only reads well but is great for dipping into for information.
Michael Covington has thought about this. There is something for everyone and where his coverage runs out he refers the reader on.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
The best practical DSLR astro imaging book for amateurs on the market and it just brings out that astrophotographer in all of us.
great buy, great book, great tutorials.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
I am a keen digital photographer and have recently resumed my interest in astronomy, wishing to marry the two together. This book is an invaluable source of easily understood information towards this goal. Well worth the cost and I can recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
It's only not 5 stars because it is quite expensive but the author is a true expert in this field and you're sure to learn something useful from reading this fascinating book. JP
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
If you want a long theoretical discourse on the subject this is probably the book for you. If you're looking for practical advice on a how to basis this is going to be of less use than other books I've downloaded on Kindle that cost 1/4 of the price. I've paid the money now but I wouldn't advise anyone else to. At half the price for a digital download it might be worth it as a reference book for someone really interested in the technical aspects .. otherwise.. well I don't suppose I'll be using it much to refer back to.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
This is a useful book which covers the main points for the technical aspects of astrophotography. The author assumes you have an equatorial mount, the setting up of which he covers in an earlier book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
An excellent overview of how to take photogrpahs of the stars an planets, covering the basics, from how the camera, lens and telescope work, to image processing. Loveed the smaple projects and would have liked to see more of these.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
I bought this item on Kindle because I wanted to decide quickly what sort of camera I would need for coupling to my astronomical telescope. Well, it served that purpose and I was able to decide. But there is a great deal more information about techniques in the book, and the limited clarity of images on Kindle makes this information of less value. The Kindle facility for searching does help, but I would recommend buying the book on paper.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
A very clearly written and easily digestible summary of the value of DSLRs for astrophotography, and of the considerations that users have to take into account. Highly recommended for those who are considering taking this route to astrophotography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)